We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollands Wood Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollands Wood Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had a short break at Hollands Wood Campsite, which was most enjoyable.Plenty of Country walks. Wild horses and cows around your tent, and deer in the woods and listening to the owls at night were amazing.
Finding a pitch to put your tent can be a little tricky,but the facilities were good.
I don't enjoy camping, but really enjoyed this :) looking forward to next year.
We took our dog, who was absolutely shattered by time we returned home. bonus !!

Room Tip: My tip is make sure you have a good torch and good lighting in the tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank cassinsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    134
    41
    24
    14
See reviews for
196
163
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Had a lovely time here for 5 days with my husband and 3 daughters (aged 7, 5 & 1) at the end of August.

Of course, the weather helped as it was sunny & dry the whole time, but the lovely facilities, good showers & friendly staff aided our enjoyment!

We found it quite tricky to get a good spot to put our tent on, but after driving round a couple of times, we found a great spot close to the shower/toilet block, away from the main road (noisy) and near a path so that the girls could scoot about in relative freedom.

It is a very popular site so I don't think I'd choose this one on a bank holiday weekend as it was apparently heaving, and I can't stand the thought of stepping outside your tent and only being the required 6 metres away from another tent (in every direction) - but at the time that we camped, it was perfect - not too full, but lots of other people around for our girls to make friends with!

Our one piece of advice though - we have a decent tent with a good zip & clasp system - and STILL we found a horse IN our tent on our last morning!! It had nudged the zip open when we were all having a lie in, and was doing it's best to help itself to our apples on the table!! Scary but very amusing - especially to those other campers around us that saw my husband chasing it out of the tent in his PJs!!

Would definitely go again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank surreymichelle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Absolutely restored all my wonderful memories of camping in the UK.

From when we first arrived and our friendly welcome by one of the site's rangers to spending our whole weekend in the rain - it was brilliant.

The site is long and thin so take your time pitching. You can role your car right up next to your tent or caravan. We situated ourselves in the middle so no traffic noise, close to the shower blocks and with a view of the new forest ponys in the adjacent field.

There is lots of room for large groups and we were not too overrun by noise or small children, which we had been concerned about. The shower blocks and toilets were perfectly clean and pretty empty despite me going at peak times. Everyone seemed to clean up after themselves and the site wardens continously do rounds on bikes to check up on facilities and campers.

Group walks and childrens events are run on site. There are well kept noticeboards and pamphlets at reception. We used Trax Cycle Hire and our 2 bikes were dropped off and collected very speedily. Full kit: maps, pump and helmets included in a reasonable price.

With easy walking distance to Brockenhurst and drive to Lyndhurst there was plenty to keep us entertained in the rain.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazcrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Very nice campsite with very good facilities. Only let down was the very noisy busy road alongside the campsite and the fact that when it rains the whole site seems to flood.
However it seems a very good place for families as the kids can freely run around. Very child friendly with ranger activities and easy access to the New Forest.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambervincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

It was the end of the school holidays when we arrived but even do it was tricky finding a pitch. The toilets and showers were very clean but the noise from the road traffic ruined the 'idyllic' setting. A few idiots kept us awake but that is just luck. Otherwise do not hire bikes from Trax - the bikes supplied needed adjusting gearwise and were not the high spec promised. Also the cycling hats were not safe.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
5.1 km away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.1 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
2.2 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
3.0 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
6.6 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollands Wood Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollands Wood Campsite

Property: Hollands Wood Campsite
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Brockenhurst
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitching your tent here will automatically connect you to nature and provide you with a camping experience you won't forget! Just a ten minute stroll away is Brockenhurst village with an abundance of pubs, banks, shops and restaurants. The campsite also has direct access to the forest via its numerous walking and cycle paths, and is within easy reach of the popular and expansive picnic site of Balmer Lawn next to the Lymington River, perfect for a dreamy lunch next to an enchanting waterway - where wildlife is abundant. This is an extremely family-friendly campsite and popular with families, groups and young people alike; it is therefore advisable to book in advance during high season to avoid disappointment. This campsite features grass pitches suitable for tents, caravans and motorhomes. There is no electricity on site, but it is fully equipped with three toilet and shower blocks, disabled facilities, baby wash and change areas, laundry facilities and a dog showe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollands Wood Campsite Hotel Brockenhurst
Hollands Wood Campsite Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing