We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome with lovely service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Warm welcome with lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Unique hotel with very friendly service and excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulusAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    58
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
171
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in a double room. The hotel is clean and pleasant but our room was very small. The en suite had a sliding door and was tiny. The room itself was clean but far too small. We were in room 5. My parents had room 5 which is more a family room with a double and a single bed and was much bigger. Had I been staying for longer than 1 night I would have looked for alternative accommodation. There are much better value for money good places to stay in Callander. The breakfast was good and evening meals very nice, good early bird budget menu.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macca28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked to stay here over a weekend in September. The room was nice, contemporay, with a good bed and a decent shower. Breakfast was also quite nice. We ate here on one of the evenings, and the food was again, quite nice, my partner had scallops and steak, I had soup and sea bass. Nothing super special, although nothing to complain about either.
I think I might have liked the owners (?) to be a tiny bit more friendly. I did feel a little like I was putting them out. But perhaps they were just busy. Certainly I felt they could have been nicer to one couple who came in late on Saturday night and asked if they might have a drink and a dessert, and rather than saying they were busy, but would do what they can, the lady owner (?) was rather rude to them.

Good to have parking outside, and well located for callander - only a short walk away.

If I return to Callander I would probably stay in one of the B&B's rather than going to Poppies again.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the one with the bay at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo6073569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in a superior room for two nights. Excellent hotel with very friendly owners and staff. Room was clean and functional. Food was excellent. Overall we found Poppies to be excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We turned up at 7/8ish without a booking for the restaurant (5 adults (1 elderly) & 2 children) and the owners couldnt have been more accomodating to fit us in and took pity on us standing out in the rain looking for somewhere to eat! Service was top class, food was amazing, even helped us with our parking arrangements as place was busy! Cant wait to dine again as 2 of us in the group are fairly local albeit new to the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
1.0 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
17.0 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.7 km away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
30.1 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing