We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by skimpy meat portions.”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #44 of 131 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I really enjoy Toby Carveries and have visited many in various areas. This visit was the least enjoyable of all Toby Carveries. The primary reason was that the chef carving the meat, although very jovial, gave each person about half of what other Toby Carveries give.
Whilst the potatoes, vegetables and everything else was on a par with other carveries (why wouldn't it be?), having such a little portion of meat skews the whole balance of the meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank grahamedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

All you needed to do was ask the carver for more meat which he would have gladly carved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Had a family meal for the grandparents 60th wedding anniversary on Thursday 5th April.
We all had the carvery, which is great value for money! the food was excellent' all hot and fresh! All of all the staff there that night was very welcoming and friendly, did a great job. Would defiantly recommend coming here great for all the family.

1  Thank aliceemariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Aliceemariee, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I like Toby Carvery because I love a Sunday roast and we had Sunday Roast on Sunday,
Easter day. it was decent stuff and you go and get more if you want of the veg. I think the meat is nice and tender and the veg is good, though I personally steam mine til it surrenders and is soft and restaurants never do that.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jetsetter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Jetsetter D, thank you so much for your positive comments about Toby Carvery Newton Abbot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I was recommended to visit for breakfast, I wasn't disappointed! Friendly polite staff, great food and outstanding value! Why go anywhere else? I'll be a regular customer!

Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Christopher W, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We called at about five in the afternoon and luckily managed to get a table,great choice of Easter menu or three course offer great service even though they were very busy,
Prawn cocktail was great and the carvery was exceptional,highly recommend this establishment to all visitors, reasonable prices even better if you have your AA discount card with you.


Anthony n

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Anthony N, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing