We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pizza Cafe

The Pizza Cafe
Ranked #3 of 127 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: Mexican, Italian, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Now in our 28th year of serving the best pizza you will ever taste.Open all day every day.Takeaway and home delivery service also available.Check us out you will love us.Now something of an institution in these parts.Taste of the West Gold Award 2015.Shortlisted for The Independent Pizza Restaurant of The Year Awards 2015(Pizza and Pasta Association)Loo of the year 2105 Gold
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Have been to this cafe many many times , they have never let us down. Would recommend for coffee, snack, or a lovely evening meal .

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank secret_agent_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    93
    27
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely treat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great for the whole family, a bit of a treat for us all.
But the staff always seem very bored.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank CJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food , good service but can't hear conversation as strange acoustics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Best jacket potatoes and coleslaw anywhere and a really good variety of pizzas, in different sizes. They also offer a 'sell-out' version which is a small pizza and jacket potato or garlic bread and the most delicious coleslaw. The ambience is cosy but there are strange acoustics which makes it really difficult to hear what your companions are saying. I am a regular visitor and wish they would put in a false ceiling or something that would absorb the noise. Everybody I go in there with says the same thing so it isn't just me. Overall though, I would recommend it for lunch or evening with friends...it's not really a romantic place to eat.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliek26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great lace for a group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Great place to go with a group of friends - nice atmosphere and good menu to choose from - well worth a visit. We were last to leave but didn't feel we were being pushed out.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExeterUKMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

i went with friends for my 50th birthday at a lunch time. The food for all of us lovely, the cafe packed ,service excellent glad we booked a table.
I frequently take my 8 year old nephews there the staff so accomodating to children the childrens menu excellent value.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alison_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pizza Cafe also viewed

Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to The Pizza Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing