We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place for a weekend break”
Review of Dome Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dome Garden
Reviewed 22 October 2017

One of my favourite places in the UK and without a doubt a paradise for kids. We've just arrived home after an amazing weekend at the Dome Gardens (even though we spent the best part of Saturday with Storm Brian!!) we stayed in the Super Dome this time round (last year we stayed in the double dome) we even dragged along our sister and her husband and Grandma (they stayed in a hobbity - Flintstone).
It was great to receive another warm welcome and our kids immediately left us to make new friends and get dirty. The rope swings and death slide are more than enough to keep them entertained for days. Although family members did go on some amazing local walks and we did visit puzzle woods (also magical) on the previous visit this time around and a year older the kids refused to leave the dome gardens camp area :).
The Domes themselves are amazing and have absolutely everything you could possibly need for a very comfortable glamping experience. Incredibly comfortable beds, great duvets and linen (especially great for this time of year) super en suites and lots of outdoor space/seating areas which are also well equipped. The super dome was amazing and had a fantastic upstairs sleeping area that easily slept 2 adults and 4 children. Downstairs were two further beds and a super central dug out seating area with a great campfire/barrel heating system and plenty of beanbags and cool seats to go around.

That all being said my absolute favourite part is surprisingly not the cool domes, facilities or great landscaped gardens but the FOOOOOD! We have stayed half board on both trips and have to say the food is out of this world. I may well have put on a stone this weekend but my goodness ive enjoyed doing so!!!

We had to leave early today as unfortunately the kids are back to school tomorrow Jonney and his amazing wife organised a late lunch for us instead and I swear we have never eaten a roast as nice as we have had today. You have killed all future roast dinners for us as non could possibly ever match it.
After such a delicious cooked breakfast this morning we didnt think we could manage it but my goodness we polished off the lot.

The entire family loved pizza night on Saturday and the children again really looked forward to it.

You are amazing and have really helped us to enjoy some quality family that we will be sure to repeat annually each time trying a different Dome.

If you haven't visited before you absolutely must! Pack up the kids and plenty of wine and enjoy a magical break.

Room Tip: Take a bath matt and some extra toilet roll
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hanathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Myself and 6 friends stayed in the Superdome to celebrate my birthday. The site is amazing and has a fire pit, tree swings, and zip wires which was excellent for big kids like us!

The dome itself was awesome, we stayed in the biggest dome which consists of a spiral staircase to the second suspended floor where we all slept. The fire inside was very easy to use and there was plenty of beanbags for everyone to be comfy. Jules was very accommodating and had put a couple of beds downstairs just incase. The outside area was lit and had a large table with plenty of room for everyone.

We went to Symonds yat and did half a day of canoeing over the weekend it was so fun and only 20 minutes away from the site definitely recommend going. We also made our own pizzas in the evening at the lodge which suited us as we didn't want to cook, good topping selection of meats, capers, mushrooms, anchovies, onions etc.

Things to look out for: the turning into the site - if you are coming at night drive slowly down the road it is very hard to see and would benefit from a sign if they were allowed one!! If you are like us and arriving late evening consider bringing extra toilet roll and washing up liquid for the next morning. We would also recommend bringing blankets if like us you are coming out of season.

We had a fantastic stay and will definitely recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pennymay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We had a company away day that was spread over two days and we stayed at the Dome Garden for that night. The staff encouraged us to make our own Pizzas which were perfectly cooked in their pizza oven and we all had a real laugh doing it. The accommodation itself was cosy and clean but still required us to build and fuel our own fires which was great fun. All the corporate presentation were done in the super dome where we all sat on bean bags around the fire and it was a really great atmosphere. I really hope we visit Dome Garden again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthow91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Me and my boyfriend visited here for our 2 year anniversary getaway and we were very impressed!

There was some confusion with our booking, and the company were unaware that we intended to stay 4 nights so had booked the tent we were meant to be camping in out to someone else. This was no problem for them, and they offered us an upgrade and put us up in the Double Dome.

We wanted to save some money by cooking for ourselves most of the time, so we did not take advantage of the breakfast/evening meals they provide. However, we did take part in the Pizza Night, which was a lot of fun, and the pizza you produce is delicious! This is also a great time to meet and chat to other people who are staying.

It gets very cold, so I would recommend to anyone staying to bring layers! And give yourself plenty of time to heat water and stuff, as it isn't a quick process.

I would definitely do it again, it was in such a beautiful area, and even though the only mode of transport we had was bikes, we got to see so much of the beautiful forest :)

Thank you to Johnny and the team at Dome Gardens for a lovely week :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phoebe_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

A great family long weekend, ie mum, dad + 6 & 10 year old "hobbits"... Children loved exploring and we were amazed by the kettles! Staff very friendly and accommodating (inc gluten free pizza) - will be coming back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coleford hotels
2.9 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
796 reviews
3 km away
Stowfield Barn
Stowfield Barn
#1 of 2 in Newland
61 reviews
1.9 km away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Coleford
120 reviews
0.8 km away
Cor-Unum Bed and Breakfast
Cor-Unum Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 11 in Coleford
24 reviews
2.2 km away
Forest House
Forest House
#2 of 11 in Coleford
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dome Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dome Garden

Address: Beeches Avenue | Mile End, Coleford GL16 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Coleford
Price Range: €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique collection of 12 geodesic domes in a beautiful garden in the heart of the beautiful Forest of Dean.The domes have en-suite facilities, wood fired hot water boilers and stoves as well as timber decks, firepits and forest kitchens. It's like the Eden Project only you can stay in it, play in it and sleep in it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dome Garden Hotel Coleford
Dome Garden Forest Of Dean/Coleford, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing