We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We had an enjoyable night!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savill Court Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Egham
fromlondon21
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We had an enjoyable night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed a Saturday night for one night and overall had a great stay.
The Spa was nice, albeit very busy. Not sure whether you would even get in if the hotel is fully booked. We loved that there were free towels and bathrobes and the treatments we had very lovely.

Our room was small but clean and nicely furnished. I asked for a room with a bath and the bathroom was very nice and modern. Shame that we only had a double bed, as we are used to super kingsize.

The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The service during dinner and breakfast was fast and efficient!

The food itself was good - not sure whether I would rate it 4 star though. The restaurant manager was full of energy and very helpful and clearly keen to make sure that everyone had a good time.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would happily come back for a night during a less busy time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath, i have heard that they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fromlondon97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Fromlondon97

Thank you for your feedback and your highly poistive comments regarding our service and quality, we will be delighted to pass this onto our team.

Please let me know when you are in the area and I will make a reservation for you personally.

Yours Sincerely,

Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    403
    213
    104
    67
See reviews for
263
421
40
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had stayed at another MacDonalds Hotel; the Randolph at Oxford and had a wonderful time when exploring that city and thought we would do the same at the Savill Court when exploring Windsor. Perhaps we should have done a bit more research for the Randolph and the Savill Court were poles apart.

One, all old world charm with a comfy drawing room, a lively bar and a wonderful restaurant whilst the Savill Court was lacking in atmosphere, had an awful restaurant and was really set up as a conference centre and probably a very good one. We knew the moment we walked into the the reception area that we had made a mistake with our hotel choice. It was reminiscent of the reception area for a large office block and walking towards the bar area one went down a totally sterile corridor with not a lounge in sight, instead there are huge empty rooms, ready to be transformed for conferences or weddings. What is termed the Great Hall is a huge conference hall, theatre style and what is termed the library is again a room ready for conference useage. The bar itself has a large imitation wooden gas fire in a mock period fireplace with chesterfields in front of it but then was surrounded by canteen like tables and a boring modern bar. Similarly the main restaurant is fine for breakfast but is completely lacking in atmosphere and in the evening is purely a functional eating place and not a place to enjoy a comfortble dinner. Equally the menu is bizarre and a typical case of a chef trying to be different and failing lamentably. The combinations we tried (and one had to as there were no classic dishes on offer) were pork belly in filo pastry and lamb shank in a chorizo cassoulet .... both were quite awful and were left unfinished (was that a first with us!!). What made things seem worse was that in the bar area one could order plainer but far more acceptable food .... so if one wanted John Ross smoked salmon as a starter one could get this at the bar but not the restaurant, which had some awful combination of salmon with squid linguine, as the only fish dish on the whole menu. So on the second night we ate in the bar and had a perfectly acceptable meal of smoked salmon, loin of tuna with salad nicoise and a shin beef casserole with fresh root vegetables instead of the bizarre and awfully tasting combinations of the main restaurant. At this point I should point out we eat out a lot in London's Michelin star resturants, so are not put off by rich food, it is just that these combinations did not work and we would strongly recommend the chef started again on his menu, as the current range of choice made one crave for simpler, good quality fare. On the plus side in the bar area, one could obtain some decent wine by the glass, such as a nice Cote de Beaune ....a nice touch and so much better than only having New World wines to choose from by the glass.

We stayed in the suite above the main entrance and this was fine and comfortable with a large bathroom but it didn't over excite in the way that the Randolph suites did. So were there any virtues about the Savill Court? Well I haven't yet mentioned the service which was splendid and provided by predominantly French and Indian staff with a superb attitude. The welcome at the reception was warm and professional and the waiters and barmen were brilliantly marshalled by the French Catering Manager, who was excellent, as was Suzanne, the French Restaurnt Manager and Dhaval, who looked after us so well at breakfast, with great enthusiasm and skill.

One other tip, try and park your car as near to security cameras as possible, as mine was broken into whilst in the vast carpark during the early evening. Not the hotels fault and they cleared the glass and patched up the smashed window with tape but it did not add to our overall experience.

In conclusion I would give it consideration if I was wanting to organise a small or even a huge conference, as they have the facilities to handle all sizes of meetings. Equally they must have a production line of weddings here, although I am not sure the atmosphere would be particularly romantic but as a comfy country hotel.....forget it and do a bit better research than we did. At least a complete disaster was averted by professional and attentive staff, to which we were very thankful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StAlbansWilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Stalbanswilbo,

Thank you for your review and your very kind comments regarding our service team.

Savill Court is a mixture of Traditional and modern with large event and conference facilities.
We are a very popular conference and wedding venue and we are also a spa and leisure destination,we would like to point out that The Randolph is a 5 star hotel and Savill Court is 4 star which is reflected in the price and facilities.

We make every effort to ensure that events do not intrude on individual guests enjoying a special occasion and most of the feedback we recieve postively reflects this. We will always advise a guest to check in advance if there is a concern about any events taking place as you would expect in hotels of this nature.

Just to clarify, The Great Hall is a conference and events room and The Forrest Bar has an original Rennaisance Fireplace.

We would not expect to be compared to a michelin star restaurant although we always appreciate constructive feedback which we will take on board and we aim to constantly improve our food offering and restaurant service. The vast majority of our guests give us excellent feedback about our food quality and presentation. We are about to launch a new menu in March this year and hope you may have the opportunity to try this.

Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding our service team we will be delighted to pass this on to the numerous individuals mentioned.

As you know we have contacted you regarding the most unusual situation with your car and we will look forward to welcoming you again soon in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here for one night; very nice check in with very pleasant and friendly staff on reception; the hotel is a bit tricky to find on sat nav as it has an exit which is different from the entrance so easy to drive by.
Had a room in the Garden wing which was a nice size and well appointed. Slighly disappointed as there was no proper air conditioning in the room - surely this is a given nowadays?? Instead the room was quite hot with a difficult to adjust radiator although there was an electric fan in the room. The Bathroom was nice with an (unusual) separate walk in shower and bath and a good size too. TV was also a bit small (for the size of the room), but the bed was comfortable. Again, whilst wi-fi was available in the public areas in the room you strangely (again for nowadays) need a cable so you won't be able to use your ipad - however the internet is free through the cable and quick too which is a bonus. Actually on the tech front the vodafone signal is strongest, O2 slightly weaker and unavailable in some parts and T-Mobile/Orange again very poor/not available - depending on where you are...the bar area seemingly the best place to get some reception.
Everything is clean an the staff are very attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mixip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Mixip,
Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding our attentive service team, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments.
You can use an Ipad in our wireless areas and we do not charge a connection fee in any part of the hotel.
We offer air cooling units in many of our bedrooms and extra heating is available in our older rooms if required. Please contact me directly if you are visiting the area in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Savill Court-sounds very elegant doesn't it! Well to be honest my weekend break there was fab, but mainly due to the company I had rather than the hotel itself. The check-in was without any issues however the room itself was a bit lack-luster, the furnishings were a bit dated and that also goes for the sauna/steam room/jacuzzi/pool-it reminded me a bit of a lesiure centre rather than a four star hotel. The changing rooms and reception area have clearly had a larger budget as they were fab. The sauna and steam room were a bit small. However i have to say that I was very very pleased with my treatments (facial and body exfoliation)-the staff and the treatments themselves were delightful!

I must say the food was exquisite, with large portions and the superb presentation of the food I was really impressed that this was part of the package. However I must say the dining area reminded me of a dated Harvester restaurant. Funnily enough the bar area was very grand with a huge fireplace and was much better than the dining area.

I would go back but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Caroline A82

Thank you for your kind comments regarding service and spa treatments and the high quality of our food, we will certainly take onboard your feedback regarding the presentation of the restaurant and amenities; we have an ongoing programme of upgrading and refurbishment.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The room we had was very small with a small side window which overlooked nice gardens. The grounds looked lovely but the corridor from the lift smelt a little damp. The walls were very thin and you could hear either side walking around in their rooms as well as the maid hoovering outside our door in the afternoon and again at 10am. We were asked to be quiet when we were only chatting didnt even have the tv on loud just listening to music on our iphone.
The spa area was the best part really, nice steam room and sauna, pool a little cold but jacuzzi nice. Plently of towels and loungers to relax.
The bar and restaurant was a little pricey and lacked atmosphere, was like a function room divided up with basic chairs and tables.
We had breakfast included with our room but it wasnt great either.
On leaving we were questioned about our room tab and asked to confim each receipt not somthing you want to do in front of others checking out, we should have just been asked to read and confirm each one rather than be read out each 3 receipts.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Lianenicole,

Thank you for your review, we are dissapointed that you did not enjoy your stay.
We do ask residents to be mindful of neighbouring guests when playing music as we aim to offer the best experience to every guest.
We do hope you will try us again in the future, please contact me directly at the hotel and I will make a reservation for you personally.

Yours Sincerely,
Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
3.1 km away
the runnymede-on-thames
12.7 km away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
3.6 km away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
1.5 km away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
38.6 km away
Grayshott Spa
Grayshott Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savill Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savill Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Bishopsgate Road | Windsor Great Park, Egham TW20 0XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Savill Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Savill Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savill Court Hotel Egham
Savill Court Hotel And Spa
Savill Court Egham
Hotel Savill Court
Court Hotel Savill
Savill Court Hotel & Spa Egham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing