We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed not what I expect from a 5 star”
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have just returned from a saturday night stay and I was really looking forward to a nice relaxing stay. I went with my sister for a spa break as my sister has fibromialgia and we thought it would be a restful break for her.
Bad points - we ate in the Loughside as the Catalina was really busy and we actually prefered the look of the menu. I was half way though my meal and couldn't get the attetion of a waiter to get another drink. We asked for a desert menu and had to wait 20 minutes for it. They did say they were sorry about the delay as they were short staffed but it wasn't that busy.
Due to my sisters health we went up to our room at 9.45 as she needed to sleep but the people in the next room were having a party. At 1am I rang the reception and complained and again they said sorry and they would sent someone up to talk to them but they didn't.
Oh and the free wifi didn't work and if you are a smoker like me bring an ashtray to take outside with you. So if like me you don't like throwing your buts on the ground more ashtrays would be nice.

Good points - lovely location and rooms. The staff on arrival were very helpful and the spa and spa staff were amazing. The breakfast was really good and there was now shortage of staff to look after us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear "Lyn G"

Thank you for staying with recently here at Lough Erne, and please accept my apologies that The Loughside did not meet your expectations in terms of the service delivery. It can be annoying when adjacent guests cause disturbance, but once we were made aware of this, we it should have been resolved.

I have passed on your comments on to the Orla and the Therapists in the Spa, it really is a magnificent facility, and I am delighted that you got to avail of it.

Your comments regarding the presence of ashtrays are noted, and actioned.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

With kind regards

Ferghal Purcell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
There are newer reviews for Lough Erne Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,235 - 1,239 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We travelled here as part of a recent wedding party. It is a beautiful location. We stayed in one of the lodges though only used the bedroom - the kitchen/living room was wasted on us! The staff were all very helpful, the food was very good and notably so for a wedding. We will go back though I'd be a touch concerned it seemed on the strong end of " pricey"!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank DublinFjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear "DublinFjk"

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us, particularly with regard to the quality of the food being offered at the wedding. I will certainly pass on your compliments to the Chef and his Brigade.

With kind regards


Ferghal Purcell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

From the greeting we received upon arrival until the morning of our departure, the staff at Lough Erne could not do enough for us! The lodge is beautiful with it's fireplaces, warm and cozy corners to enjoy a drink and inviting guest rooms. The staff is always offering to help with directions and even helped me with my iPad so that I could enjoy the FREE wifi they offer. My husband said the golf was second to none. The food and beverage service was outstanding. We were there for St. Patrick's Day and asked for a pub recommendation in Enniskillen and their suggestion was excellent! We cannot wait to return to Lough Erne!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear "fscotty"

Thank you for your very kind words, and I am delighted that both you and your husband enjoyed your visit to us here at Lough Erne.

Little things make the difference, and owning an IPad myself, I know how important it would have been to get it working and access the Wi-Fi, so I am delighted that we were able to make that happen. I too love the Lodges for the different opportunity that they offer, they are a unique accommodation option.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back with us again at some stage in the future.

With kind regards


Ferghal Purcell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I would firstly likely to comment on the setting of the Lough Erne Resort, it is a beautiful, serine country escape and would highly recommend it to all my friends. As for the staff within the Lough Erne at a family wedding, they were so helpful and attentive attending to our every need. They are a credit to your establishment, when required I asked to speak to the person in charge and was greeted by a friendly, wecloming man named Mike, he was more than helpful and it was a pleasure dealing with him. Thanks to everyone for making the wedding a success.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryB186474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear "MaryB186474"

Mike is an incredible asset to us here at Lough Erne, and between him and Noel the Head Chef they do a great job at ensuring that our weddings are the success they should be.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed the day, and I am delighted that the wedding was such a success.

With kind regards


Ferghal Purcell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

A delightful blend of cosy fires with a strong flavour of Irish hospitality combined with stunning views in the spring sunshine. I particularly recommend staying in a Lodge for the perfect setting for peace and tranquility (with a touch of luxury) My compliments to the Staff and management A thoroughly excellent experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear "lena b"

I am delighted that felt "relaxed and rejuvenated" after your stay with us here at Lough Erne, for it means that we did our jobs.

The Lodges are really ideal for this, and the blend of the individuality of the Lodge on the door step of the hotel gives the best of both worlds.

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit.

Kind regards

Ferghal Purcell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
9.0 km away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
7.5 km away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
784 reviews
7.0 km away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
9.1 km away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
323 reviews
24.0 km away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range: €116 - €393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing