We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lough Erne Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Nearly Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for 2 days at Lough Erne. Beautiful looking hotel with stunning vistas. The golf course looked amazing but the weather prevented me from playing. Staff at reception excellent as was the porter/concierge who personally walked us to our room. Spa was also very impressive and the Thai staff were excellent. Room was surprisingly spacious and well designed. Staff at main bar and sports bar were very friendly. There were some problems with the hotel which prevent a 5/5 rating. First the main bar lacks atompshere (and the tv reception was awful) as it was too big and open. A bigger fault were the 2 staff in the golf shop who didn't acknowledge me or my partner even though we were looking at items in the shop. For the cost, this lets the hotel and it's other excellent staff down.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear "Diarmaid"

Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your recent visit with us here at Lough Erne. You are clearly a golfer, so I am sorry that you did not get the opportunity to play the course.

I will be delighted to pass your comments to all the staff and especially to the Thai Ladies. I have taken note of your comments regarding the members of staff in the Golf Shop, and am extremely disappointed that you were received in that manner.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Yours sincerely

Ferghal Purcell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    262
    132
    82
    29
See reviews for
291
672
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This restaurant is in a lovely setting. It has large windows overlooking the Erne and woodland and it was a lovely sunny day when we were there for Sunday lunch. There were families with all age groups in a very busy restaurant with good atmosphere.

The food was overall good. It was a high standard Sunday roast with the necessary roast potatoes and good quality vegetables. The lamb was a little bit disappointing compared to the rest.

I would recommend it but it is not cheap. Expect to pay as much as for an evening meal in another restaurant. £100 including a bottle wine and aperitif for two, including service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear "Murray007"

Thank you for joining us on Sunday last and indeed for your positive comments regarding your lunch in The Catalina Restaurant. I will certainly liaise with The Chef regarding the lamb, constructive comments are always welcome and integral to our success.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some occasion in the future.

With kind regards

Ferghal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Six of us from three generations of our family including a fourteen month baby stayed here for two nights in February 2012. We were in one of the three bedroom lodges adjacent to the main hotel building. It was like a three bed semi-detached house with our own spacious and beautifully furnished lounge that was fully equipped with sink, refrigerator, crockery, glassware- even washing- up liquid! The bedrooms and. bathrooms were A1. The hotel itself was most spacious and the staff were welcoming and most friendly. Service was excellent with properly trained staff. We did not eat dinner in the Catalina dining room but food in the grill room and bars was very good and surprisingly quite filling This is a serious golfing hotel and although we are not golfers we enjoyed walking on the 'Collop' Walk through the golf course that gives beautiful views of Lough Erne and Lough Hume.
On our first night we noticed that a water pump was noisy However when we called reception about the matter a plumber arrived within minutes and efficiently rectified the problem There was also a small problem in one of our bathrooms and this was attended to immediately. We were very impressed with the maintenance people!
We certainly recommend Lough Erne Resort even if you are not of the golfing fraternity.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear "FandA"

It is not often that our unsung stars, the Maintenance Department are so positively mentioned, so I will be delighted to pass on your very kind words to Paul & Rory.

The lodges are really ideal for families, and especially when three generations have the opportunity to get together. The Collop walk is a great opportunity to see the course and the Loughs in all their glory, and despite not being a golfer, I am delighted that you got the opportunity to see the course.

Thank you for your very kind words and the time taken to post these, and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you all back to us at some stage in the future.

With kind regards

Ferghal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

i cannot rate this hotel enough:)
from arriving to departing all the staff was so helpful and friendly.
i would def without a doubt be back to this hotel.
had the best time.
we stayed in a lakeview room and the view was amazing.
food was fab
rooms - wow
spa- brilliant
cant wait to stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R-R89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear "R-R89"

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and indeed we too hope that you have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Yes, the views over the lake are worth the trip, and if you should ever have the time to do The Collop Walk, you will love the views and experience of the lakes even more.

With kind regards

Ferghal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Just returned from a 2 night break in one of the lodges- they are so spacious & luxurious- perfect for a family! The staff were all so friendly & attentive- we had a beautiful meal in the restaurant & were particularly impressed with our service- Patrick & Clare were looking after us. The food was 1st class - kids especially loved the buffet breakfast!! Swimming pool was brilliant & golf course & driving range on site meant there was lots to do! A real treat for all the family- we will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: 2 & 3 bedroom lodges perfect for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughErneResort, General Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear "DianeM"

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us in The Lodges. There is no doubt that the independence of the Lodges are ideal for families, never mind the fact that the kids enjoy the great choice of the breakfast buffets, all in all making for that less stressful stay.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back at some stage in the future, where you can be assured of our personal attention.

With kind regards

Ferghal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskillen
9.0 km away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
7.0 km away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
7.5 km away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
34.5 km away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
24.0 km away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Property: Lough Erne Resort
Address: 193 Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, County Fermanagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing