We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveller rating
550
171
50
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
171
50
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip wire family hotel hot tub kids club the baby listening service the main hotel buckets and spades spa treatments cinema room outdoor jacuzzi afternoon tea interconnecting rooms grown ups school holidays three children family break table tennis
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 794 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We paid £545 per night for a family room including 3 courses at dinner for 2 adults. Booked for 7 nights left after 6.

CHECK IN EXPERIENCE:

- On arrival the greeting and setup at reception was amateurish

THE ROOM

- Our 'family suite' was on the 2nd floor, tricky access with kids as no elevator.

- On entering the room we were met by the smell of festering carpet and soiled nappies.

- No standing shower. There was a handheld shower in the bathtub which had headroom for crouching only. We asked to change room to one with a shower. The proposed resolution was to swap room 4 times during the course of the stay. We decided to stay put.

- Poor cleanliness: old disposal slippers under bed, hair in the bathtub, bin bags don't fit bins.

- The room had some very low head height areas (unfit design). Hit head at least 4 times during the night when dealing with children.

- Kettle had a fault which meant it boiled forever - severe fire hazard (reported and replaced)

- The banks of draws were rickety and due to the uneven floor they presented a toppling danger to small children as did the main room lamp.

- Little in the room could be described as 'family friendly ' or 'luxury'. Room refurbishment or severe price reduction required.

- Terrible WiFi reliability which is completely unsuited for any business. Reported and no solution found. (Technical: As a quest you will need WiFi as the hotel is a 3G,E,GPRS blackspot for most networks. Your WiFi lease will be continually reset requiring login about every 10 minutes, your outbound connection flipflops between 2 different IP addresses making access to any business services problematic, furthermore the WiFi reach around the hotel is very poor.)

- Baby listening service tested and worked well.

SERVICE:

- Some staff were borderline rude while others were more friendly and attentive. Service standards were highly variable and often conducted with an air of awkwardness. While the overall service experience was negative, there were 2-3 good staff who held an otherwise poor team together.

FOOD:

When making the reservation with 'Luxury family hotels', it was encouraged to 'include dinner' and so we prepaid for 3 courses. My wife specifically asked what was to be included and were were told that all 3 courses would be. We expected to pay for drinks on top naturally.

In reality the prepayment for 3 courses was treated as a 'credit' to the food cost, with most dishes combining to slightly over the prepaid value. Clearly if you prepay for 3 courses you would not expect the hotel to squeeze you for another few pounds depending on your dish choice. Customers expect transparency and simplicity and this dinner arrangement was indicative of FoweyHall's focus on commerciality first over customer experience.

The food at dinner was generally very good albeit overpriced. Breakfast and lunch were mediocre.

ELSEWHERE IN HOTEL:

- Shabby appearance. Lack of cohesive design and branding.

- Spa / Pool was ok but accessible only down steps (no permanent ramp for push chairs)

- Poor sign posting

- FourBears Creche didn't bring the anticipated temporary relief from childcare duties. Many children, ours included, didn't last long in the creche. Perhaps unfair to draw conclusions from this, but generally our children have lasted in other hotel creches where the staff go overboard to play with the kids and distract them when missing parents.

SUMMARY:

The hotel markets itself as a luxury family hotel. I witnessed absolutely no luxury nor was the hotel more family friendly than a regular hotel.

The value as represented by cost/quality was thus extremely poor. The experience was akin to staying at someone's house.

We cut our stay short by 1 day as going home was preferable to staying despite losing £545 for the unused night. We didn't expect to be refunded for this 1 day, but on checkout the lady said "If we manage to fill the room for this vacant day we will refund the cost - we will contact you to let you know either way". Unsurprisingly we never heard anything back, even if to confirm that the room as not filled.

I strongly DO NOT recommend this hotel and for the avoidance of doubt this is the first negative review ever given in my life to date.

Room Tip: Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
14  Thank JamesJames20152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2015

Dear James

Thanks for your review, I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us, ultimately we are in the business of making our guests happy and we clearly didn't do that while you were with us, please accept my apologies. I believe that Libby (our head receptionist) has been in contact following your feedback on our guest questionnaire, I hope that you will take us up on our offer of a discount on a return visit, where we would welcome the opportunity to make amends.

Warm regards.

Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Family friendly hotel and great for couples too. We enjoyed our stay and especially the very kind and well mannered staff. The food was amazing and the spa was very clean and relaxing. The town of fowey is beautiful but the roads are very thin be careful our van wing mirror now has some battle scares ;)
Overall we love this place. Long drive here but worth it in every way.

Thank you people
Plus views to die for in rainy season ;)

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank timmayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2015

Dear Tim

Thanks for your review following your visit with us also for the photo which is of over the Fowey Estuary towards Polruan. Couples can most defiantly enjoy our family friendly atmosphere too and I'm delighted to hear that you both did. I will pass on your thanks to the team as well.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We stayed on the 3 night autumn break which included breakfast, dinner and 2 hours creche a day.
The hotel is beautiful and set in stunning grounds. The staff are very friendly.
Dinner was very nice, my husband and I found the candlelit dining area a little stuffy, but that's probably just us.
The children's early dining is great. Our toddler had his food included as he was under 2 at the time, but if they are over 2, you would have to pay for their meals.... I'm not sure this is fair especially as we paid extra for a family suite.
They have a great creche which our little man loved. And the baby listening service is marvellous, allowing adults to enjoy their meal in peace.
Would definitely consider staying here again and overall was very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madhumati M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, Deputy Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2015

Dear Maddyhaha

Thank you for your "indulgent and relaxing stay" review. We try to think of everything that we can to help mums and dads with little ones have a well deserved break, and I'm glad to hear that you loved the baby listening service which enabled you to have dinner in the restaurant after they went to bed. Your right that under twos eat free but we do charge as they get older, I'm sorry if this wasn't made clear. Lovely to also hear that you plan to come back.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in the height of the Summer holidays. The hotel and its location are breathtakingly beautiful. I found the staff to be delightful and very helpful. Our two boys aged 2 and 4 (one of whom has mild ASD) adored the kids club from the off which is unheard of! We used the babysitting service twice and this was excellent and reasonably priced. There is a baby listening service activated from your child's room and monitored by reception. We were in a separate block by the kids club not in the main hotel so not comfortable using this. We had a family suite with two bedrooms and a bathroom which suited us very well although some thought should be given to the master bedroom facilities - no wardrobe, dressing table and the tea tray and kettle were in the kids room as there was nowhere to put it in our room which made my essential morning coffee routine a bit difficult not wanting a boiling kettle in reach of the children!

The restaurant was visually incredibly special, stunning wood panelling and high ceilings. The food was good but not amazing and drinks were very expensive. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast package but l am not sure we would have eaten in the restaurant every night had we not. I was slightly surprised and annoyed that childrens food is not included and also we got charged twice the cover price for our morning paper both of which l feel should be included in what is a luxury family hotel. Another gripe was that our balcony was rotten and all l can say is thank God l have given up smoking and none of us tried to go out there! We were given a complimentary drink as an apology.

Despite my niggles we enjoyed our stay very much. Fowey Hall just needs a few tweaks to make it incredible.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank CVR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear CVR33

Thank you for your review, I was delighted to hear how much your boys enjoyed their visit, it sounds as though you and your husband did too but there were a couple of areas we let ourselves down for which I'm very sorry but I'm glad that didn't spoil your visit.

Warm regards.

Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We just recently came back from a long weekend in Fowey Hall where we and our kids had a fantastic time. It was our first time experiencing Luxury Family Hotels and we stayed in Mr Toad which was in the out building at the back, the rooms are not beautifully decorated but the family suite we were in was adequately sized and though it was very clean and well maintained, the rooms are not exactly luxurious. What were really impressive were the facilities and the staff, everything a kid could want from swimming, playgrounds, ziplines, cinemas, games, no matter the weather there is plenty for them to do. The staff did not bat an eyelid at our kids running around the place and anything they wanted to eat was made for them with zero fuss, this is really the standout feature at Fowey Hall. One small gripe is that we booked for a breakfast and dinner package but actually you are only given £30 towards your evening meal, this is pretty hard to achieve when the average starter is over £15 and the average main is £25 not even considering dessert! They should not advertise dinner included in the rate but state the £30 maximum before booking, the food and drink prices were very expensive, the cost of a cocktail, £12.50 is the same as the 5 star Mandarin Oriental in London's Hyde Park! The food itself is very rich and have HUGE portions mostly swimming in cream and butter, not very modern but when you look at all the other advantages we were willing to overlook the old fashioned food. Highly recommended for familes!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amanda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoweyHallHotel, Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Amanda

Thank you for your "fantastic family hotel" review. It sounds as though overall you had a great visit with us and your children had a wonderful time. There were a couple of niggle though, please accept my apologies for this, next time you are planning a family break please contact me at the hotel as I would like to take care of your booking personally, ensure you have a room in the main house and give you a discount on the rate. You are right that some of our dishes in the restaurant go up to £12.50 for the lobster starter and £27 for fillet steak, the average starter price is £9.50 and average main is £19.50 the package you were on was a two courses for £30 I'm sorry if we didn't make this clearer.

I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you and your family back soon.

Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews