We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
191
77
15
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
77
15
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge portions bit off the beaten track lamb shank an extensive menu sunday lunch sat nav excellent shower bit out of the way lovely hotel visiting family piping hot full english lots of choice an evening meal nice bathroom visit beamish good size
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed 8 nights at the Bowes while seeing family and friends.
We always stay as the accommodation is very good with a great breakfast. The evening menu is excellent with a great choice.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would not stay anywhere else.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

89yr old grandad loving his huge gammon steak, 87yr old gran loving her trio of lamb chops, squashy chips and a side of real onion rings, mam feeling healthy eating chicken and bacon salad (except for pinching food from everyone else plates!), Dad filling his extended belly with lamb shank and mash, son #1 gets his favourite fillet steak cooked rare, son #2 (I'm not hungry so I'll just have a starter, then eat mam's bread, everyone's chips, grandad gammon and grans lamb!!). What's not to love about a restaurant that provides all of that. Son#2 even had a special knicker bocker glory with toffee sauce instead of strawberry (yes that's the, I'm not hungry son!!) service is always good and friendly, lovely atmosphere, this is why we return time after time.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Really good room....bar area was lovely...really liked there way of ordering...food was on the board you ordered at the bar .......the Friday night we had an excellent dinner....but the cooked breakfast on the Saturday was no way near as good....not terrible but very so so.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

just returned from a one night stay at the Bowes Incline Hotel, wow! lovely food with an extensive menu, I had enchiladas and my partner had the sea bass both were really good, very impressed with the accommodation as it is very traditional in the pub but the rooms are lovely and cosy with a modern feel. we will definitely go again in the future.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 943sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Went for sunday lunch ordered standard lunch beef wife had lamb from ordering got meal in 5 mins. Fresh veg roasts good portions filled me with some left very good. Thought due to closest pub being out would be full but people where in and out without much waiting. Would return has changed as no bar in far end it appears to cater for meals high chairs available gor little ones.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank crathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews