We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On route to Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Room quality and view sets a new level of quality. In house dinning is expensive. Downtown Newcastle is only a short bus ride away. Ample car parking. Not yet at the digital level where you just drive out.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank 709beano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear 709beano ,

Many thanks for your recent review , It is great to hear you enjoyed the room and view
also fantastic to hear you found the location good

I look forward to your next visit

Kind Regards

Martin Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 3,166 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

I requested a river view if possible as it was a surprise trip for a birthday - they treated us really well all weekend and fulfilled all requests. Breakfast was quite good and the pool was also nice and not too busy. Only criticisms - no towels at the pool so you have to use your bath towel and the bar is very pricey.

Room Tip: Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank estraveller2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear estraveller2015,

I hope you are well , Many thanks for your recent review It is great to hear you enjoyed the view , thank you also for your positive feedback about the pool and breakfast

I hope it will not be to long until you return

Kind Regards

Martin Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

A nice hotel on the opposite side of the River Tyne to the main part of the city. A large Reception area which joins onto the bar and restaurant area with little divide. Lifts to the rooms are on the opposite side to the Reception Desks. The bedroom was a nice size.

The Restaurant had a good choice of food in both the evenings and for breakfast.

A few minor points which stopped me rating 5 out of 5 were no complimentary water for Silver Hilton Honors members, after being asked if I wanted tea or coffee at breakfast and answering tea I got bought coffee and the tea, coffee and biscuits weren't restocked fully in the bedroom one day.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We have stayed here numerous times. I still love the view over the bridges and covert a room looking over them. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and tidy. The executive lounge is a great facility too.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Wizz56

Thank you for staying with us recently and for posting a review, I was delighted that you choose to stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Martin Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed at the Hilton Newcastle/Gateshead for an overnight break in November 2016 and had a deluxe room with a good view overlooking the river and bridges.

The executive lounge is in a good location on two levels with views of the Tyne Bridge. Unfortunately it was very busy on a Friday evening and we only just managed to get somewhere to sit and relax.

For a large hotel, breakfast was very good with a well-managed hot and cold buffet as well as other options to order.

We arrived by train and it was an easy walk from the station (using the high level bridge) and it was easy to access the rest of city and quayside by foot.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWW's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear WWW's

Thank you for staying with us recently and for posting a review, I was delighted that you choose to stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Martin Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.6 km away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,575 reviews
0.6 km away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,447 reviews
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,286 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: €88 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing