We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A pleasant stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Our reason for visiting Grantham/Lincoln was two fold.Christmas shopping and a visit to a Ghurka Restaurant that my husabnd had been to earlier in the year. As I had been to Nepal a couple of years ago he knew I was nostaligic for Momos' (see review for the Everest Resturant) and the Nepalese hospitality.

Parking for the Ancient & Royal is very easy in a dedicated car park at the rear of the hotel and not too far to walk with bags etc. Originally the hotel had booked us into a third floor room and as there are no lifts at the hotel my husband asked if there was any chance of being moved to the first floor as he was suffering from a knee injury. Although the hotel was very busy this was achieved with the minimum of fuss and with good humour.

On arrival the first thing that struck me was the obvious history of the buildings, parts of which date back to the 12th & 13th century, some lovely Victorian features mingling happily with medieval, Georgian, Tudor and more! The second was the lovely aroma of real fires that permeat throughout the ground floor.

Our arrival meant that the lunch time service was only minutes away from closing (last orders taken at 2.15p.m.) but we were served although there seemed to be a very long wait for the few people wanting to be served and it all appeared to be a little disorganised. At the end of the meal we were scouting around for a good 15 minutes looking/waiting for someone to present us with the bill. I had ordered a roast beef and horseradish sandwich which came with salad and French fries. There was plenty on the plate - a huge doorstep of a sandwich - and it was "o.k" but the beef was very very pink and very very chewy. My husband fared better with his Ham off the bone and mustard.

Our room was spotlessly clean and we liked the layout of a small lounge, bathroom and corridor separating it from the bedroom which was furnished with a huge four poster bed and 32" flat screen tv. In the lounge there was a small two seater settee, wardrobe, kettle with tea/coffee etc and bottles of water, a small dresser and a small flat screen tv on the wall. Bed linen was pristine white and comfortable.

The bathroom was a decent size but the tiles were dated and alongside the bath a whole section of them were coming away from the wall. Otherwise it was, like the rest of the "apartment" spotlessly clean, complete with complimentary toiletries.

The small hotel bar was cosy, again with a real fire in a huge stone fireplace and some interesting features. The young lady on duty in the bar was friendly, helpful and chatty.

Our room overlooked the rear courtyard and faced the rooms on the adjacent block of the hotel. On opening our blinds in the morning we were a little taken aback to see a couple in the facing room giving a somewhat full and naked amorous display in full view of the window and with their bedroom lights hiding nothing. On hastily closing our blind we wondered if Best Western might want to consider installing some heavy net curtains in facing rooms!

Breakfast (full English) and help yourself to juice/cereal etc; was good but the tables for two are so small there really isn't room to accommodate pots of tea and all the associate plates and condiments comfortably.

All in all though - a very pleasant stay at a hotel steeped in history and atmosphere,but we could have lived without the early morning entertainment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reddragonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel and the town - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    172
    73
    27
    17
See reviews for
78
231
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Arrived at the Angel and Royal to find we were booked in "the cottage" at rear of hotel.
We were allocated a first floor room it was lovely, very modern and clean with a huge walk in shower in the ensuite bathroom.
Only gripe was we had to pull down the blind in bathroom every time we walked in because the glass in windows was plain and not privacy glass.
The staff were very helpful and friendly especially the receptionist and chamber maid.
Breakfast was delicious could not fault it at all.
To sum up a lovely friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweepSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for your lovely comment, we aim to please and are currently sorting out new sheers for all the rooms. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and i have just spent 3 nights at this hotel and found the staff really friendly, room was really clean and comfortable and food was really good. Couldnt fault this hotel in any way and will definitely stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uandiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
The team are delighted that you had a good stay - we hope you come and see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

During my recent 4 day stay I can't say enough about the quality and cleanliness of the room
and especially the attitude of all staff that I encountered from check in to check out! Each and everyone was friendly, dedicated, extremely helpful, and professional. Only place i'll stay
when visiting Grantham!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank Joe T for your fab comments - the team are delighted you had a fab stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

My daughter lives in Grantham and she was the one who suggested the place, I do not know Grantham very well.
Plenty parking, rooms cleaned to a high standard, food very good, handy for the town. I am in the hospitality business and my standards are very high. My only fault while there my bedside light blew. I should have reported it but forgot. No big deal in the bigger scheme of things.
Read some of the reviews prior to staying there, some of the negative ones are just stupid. I note most come from Nottingham say no more!!!!
Keep up that standard and the Angel and Royal have nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moonymik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for lovely comments - See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantham
3.9 km away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
2.0 km away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#3 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.7 km away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
7.4 km away
Ramada Resort Grantham
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
Address: 4-5 High Street, Grantham NG31 6PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated in the ancient market town of Grantham in the south-west corner of Lincolnshire - The Angel and Royal Hotel is an historic hotel - in fact the oldest inn in Britain - and has hosted seven Kings over 800 years - Today the Angel and Royal features an award winning restaurant - cosy fire-lit nooks and bars and modern conference facilities - The individually designed rooms feature modern interiors and colours which complement the magnificent original features of the building - They all offer the facilities required for a comfortable stay including en-suite bathrooms - Freeview TV - phone - internet access - All rooms are no smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angel And Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Grantham
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel Grantham, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing