We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lowest price we found
US$253
View deal
eDreams
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
602
70
26
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
602
70
26
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel head chef scallops beautiful hotel highland cows high standard public rooms first class self catering underfloor heating short break night stay local produce dining room perfect stay scones nothing is too much trouble
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

Amazing food, real fire, big fluffy towels, lovely staff, nice neighbours (Hamish and Dougal the highland cows)... what’s not to like! Would highly recommend this place! We thoroughly enjoyed our wintry weekend there and can’t wait to go back. Definitely book in for dinner in the evening, they have gotten themselves a pretty damn good chef! Be sure to enjoy an aperitif by the fire first. I asked for berries instead of bacon on my french toast at brekkie and this beautiful plate appeared...

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kathomso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHuntley, Manager at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review!

Sometimes Scotland is even better in the winter - especially when you can warm yourself by the fire afterwards.

I have passed your lovely comments on to our staff, especially the kitchen brigade. They do an excellent job.

Doughal and Hamish are enjoying a wee bit of sunshine today and look forward to seeing you again.

All best wishes,

Lucy and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Muckrach is a lovely place with pleasant staff, just wish they were more consistent. Some days everything is lovely, other days it is not. We ordered two cups of coffee which were tepid and had pieces of what looked like over-boiled milk floating on top. I don't think the milk had been steamed at all. Two members of staff stood chatting in reception, doing not a lot. Disappointing.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nelson7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHuntley, Manager at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I apologise that you found our standards not up to scratch on this occasion.

I am sure had realised we would have been more than happy to replace the coffee for you. All staff members have full coffee training but we do occasionally make mistakes.

I hope that you will return and give us the opportunity to make things right for you.

All best wishes,

Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

We chose to stay local. This Hotel is perfect. Location. Interiors. Food. Cleanliness. Responsiveness to queries. And most of all the nicest people. They created a very relaxed environment and nothing was too much trouble. We had a wonderful stay and will be back. Soon.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sushan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHuntley, Manager at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you for such a lovely review.

Sometimes you don't have to travel far to find the perfect escape.

I have passed your comments on to our whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

All best wishes,

Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020 via mobile

Stopped here this afternoon and was served the best coffee and scone that I've had in ages. Great service, beautifully presented scone with cream and jam and lively surroundings. Reasonably priced,will definitely stop here again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Greyhoundslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHuntley, Manager at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely comments Linda, and thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review.

Our kitchen pride themselves on their freshly baked cakes. Our coffee is from a roast house right on our doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you again. I'll keep the fire going!

All best wishes,

Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

We had a 5pm booking for Sunday roast dinner. The hotel public areas were not busy and with no one at reception, nor visible elsewhere, we found a staff member behind the bar. He barely had time to turn round and greet us as he dealt with a drinks order. We stood. We remained standing, without conversation, feeling ignored really. Eventually, we got drinks and found the table that was pointed out to us from the dining room doorway (by said solitary member of staff). Two of us having Cullen skink starters were presented cold and with a bread roll but no butter option. Returned to the kitchen, the replacement Cullen Skinks were warmer, but in cold plates and one had a sole piece of fish sitting in it! The goats cheese tartlet was also cold. The main courses were very nice, but the broccoli was pretty solid and the beef tepid. We noticed that the now 2 staff were slow to police the tables and on a couple of occasions, one of us had to stand up and find someone. The menu descriptions of the desserts included ‘steamed date pudding’ and a selection of ice cream with ‘oven roasted chocolate’ and ‘overnight meringue’. Both of these latter two descriptions raised conversation amongst us (thinking, to be honest, that these were unnecessarily fussy or a bit pretentious). I ordered the date pudding and someone else, the ice cream selection, intrigued by the oven roasted chocolate!! I received sticky toffee pudding. The ice cream selection had raspberry sauce on it, and shortbread was in place of the meringue (the overnight one!!). When asked in a light hearted sarcastic kind of a way, whether chocolate roasted in the oven came out red and tasting of raspberry and meringues cooked overnight became shortbread, the waitress apologised and said that the chef had given the customer what he thought would best go together as the pudding! So, to hell with the menu description that informed the customer’s food choice. The chef knows best and serves what he wants to, without the customer being given explanation or choice to say, no thanks! Quite astonishing attitude. As we were in light hearted mood, we ‘dined out’ on laughter generated by the whole evening’s faulty towers style experience for some hours more, coming up with comments like, “Oh no, you can’t have a cup of coffee because the chef thinks tea is better for you just now”; “The mushrooms you ordered for breakfast have been replaced by tomato because the chef thinks it goes better with the sausages”. Childish humour, yes, but in truth, the whole episode was ridiculous. For a respected 4 star country house hotel, I think the time has come to engage additional trained staff who look interested in their work and customers. Yes, the food was very tasty, but the eating experience is a wider one for a customer. Attitude, interest and the basic do’s and don’ts in hospitality are essential too.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHuntley, Manager at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the experience you had at Muckrach for Sunday lunch.

I have reviewed all of your points with our team and we have all taken on board your comments.

Ordinarily changes to any of our dishes described on the menu are checked with the customer, on this occasion it was overlooked. Again I apologise for this oversight.

We hope that you will return in the future and will give us the chance to deliver great service, and food.

All best wishes,

Lucy
House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews