We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
602
70
26
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
602
70
26
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel head chef scallops beautiful hotel highland cows high standard public rooms drawing room first class dinner menu self catering underfloor heating short break night stay local produce both nights dining room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We had previously had dinner here last year and it was very good.
This time it was a bit disappointing with my venison steak that was meant to be rare was well done and my wife’s sirloin steak was just warm. Apple crumble was also cold. Staff were nice but seemed a bit under staffed. A real shame because it is a lovely setting.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

We recently traveled to Scotland for a much needed vacation. During our stay we booked with Muckrach Country Hotel. We were originally going to spend three nights and then find accommodations daily as we explored the country. We fell in love with Muckrach as we drove in the first afternoon. Muckrach's setting is idyllic, nestled on a hilltop surrounded by even higher pastured hills. The trees were golden and just starting to lose their leaves. As we entered Muckrach we passed down a hall that led us past the library to the check in desk which faces a sitting room. Our host, Mark, gave us our keys and showed us to our room on second floor. The rooms are beautifully decorated with en suite bathrooms and plenty of space to unpack to help you feel at home. Later we met an acquaintance downstairs in front of an evening fire in the drawing room. We shared drinks from the bar before sharing a delicious dinner in the atrium. We were there on Sunday night so had the Sunday roast which was excellent! Our first few days flew by and we decided we needed to extend our stay for the full length of our vacation. The staff is wonderful! Their attention to detail and service can't be beat. Although we were in the country, we were within a short drive to the sites we had come to see-Balmoral Castle, Culloden Battlefield, distillery tours, Loch Ness, Inverness, etc. We loved the tranquil setting, the service and food, but best of all were the friends we made there. We are planning a return trip and taking our brother and his wife next summer. I am sure they will love Muckrach as well!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley67, General Manager at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear Bruce

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. It was lovely to meet you both.

Book directly with us next year and I will make sure I personally oversee your reservation.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Stayed in the Dulnain self-catering unit at Muckrach. Could not fault any aspect of our stay. The accommodation was clean, warm and well decorated. The food in the main hotel was delicious. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vixen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We stopped by on the way to Speyside for coffee and realised that wherever we were going to be staying would never be as nice as here, so we spoke with Lucy the front of house manager and she offered us 2 rooms at a great rate for our last night.

We came back 2 days later and our rooms were ready, they were beautifully prepared, clean, modern and spotless. And to make it even better they have a hotel puppy dog to take and walk, Harry the 6 month old lab. He really puts smiles on people faces.

We booked dinner for our last night and that was just fabulous, all the food was perfect. We wanted a Malbec wine, but they had sold out so Mark the manager, came with 2 glasses of alternates for us to taste and choose. Now thats personal service and great customer service.

Breakfast was absolutely first class. We had the kippers, wow are they really that big? They were beautifully prepared, so fresh too.

Have to say, we travel all over the world and this is one of the nicest, personal, boutique hotels we have ever stayed at. We want to return, it is so nice, friendly, clean and wonderful.

Pictures of Harry the hotel puppy dog we took for a walk.

Highly recommend, would suggest you call direct for best prices as direct is cheaper than comparison web sites!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank r50lts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley67, General Manager at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Dear r50lts

Sorry it has taken me so long to reply.

It was lovely to meet you all and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We did have a lot of laughs I seem to remember.

I hope you will return in the near future.

Regards

Mark & Lucy & Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

What a wonderful experience my sister and I had staying at Muckrach! From my initial telephone conversation with Mark I knew we were going to be well looked after ... and we were! We were made to feel so welcome at this beautiful Scottish country house hotel - the only room available was the bridal suite - what a treat! We could not believe our luck and had well and truly landed on our feet - it was stunning, so comfortable and with the most beautiful views across the gardens and surrounding countryside ... we did not want to leave! ... In fact one day later we returned for our second visit and this time we were treated to a stay in The Dulnain - an amazing 3 bedroomed cottage .... Wow ... we were blown away. We have every intention of returning to Muckrach with our girlfriends and family - Thank you Mark, Lucy ... and of course Rory for making us feel so welcome and providing us with amazing accommodation and food! .... You haven't got rid of us yet! LOL

Room tip: All the rooms are stunning!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schatzi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley67, General Manager at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Ladies

Thank you for leaving us a fantastic review.

We did have a great couple of days while you were here.

Come back soon.

Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews