We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“looks fantastic overall pretty decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kirriemuir
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“looks fantastic overall pretty decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

this hotel is stunning to look at and inside it is tasteful. the rooms are well proportioned, clean and functional. Meals are ok (lacking in choice and pricey for what it is) and breakfasts are ok (buffet). only real negatives are the beds are on the hard side, the tv facilities are a bit dated, the wifi is slow and the lower level north facing rooms don't have much of a view. But overall it is a perfectly reasonable hotel which I would reccomend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JockyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    157
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
73
385
73
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was our second trip to the Grant Arms Hotel and I'm sure it will not be our last. On this trip (4 nights DBB) I realised why I enjoyed my stay so much. This hotel is COMFORTABLE. What makes it so is that the staff are friendly, extremely helpful and have none of those airs and graces you can experience in some hotels, the rooms are adequately sized, clean,comfortable and warm, the food is well cooked and well proportioned. What more could I ask for. Well the hotel is situated in the Gairngorms national park, whatever your interests you should find plenty to fill your time (apart maybe from scuba diving). It is home to the Birdwatching and Wildlife club so if your interest is in either of those fields their is abundant information and well informed staff to help you make the most of your stay and this a truly dog friendly hotel. (Some hotel may claim to be dog friendly but tend to be more dog tolerent, at this hotel they even get their own welcome pack and spoiled rotten by the staff). We will be back!
Mike Sharon and Freya

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Coast
Level Contributor
291 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

What a find! A four night February break for Valentine's Day/birdwatching sourced from the RSBP magazine. Absolutely first rate. Excellent value for money for DBB; wonderful food(menu changed daily); breakfasts cooked to order; special red rose for Valentine; lovely staff; room was almost a "suite" with its own little lobby -so handy for hanging coats and storing shoes; lovely large bathroom; view of the hills and mountains from our back facing room; beautifully quiet; excellent facilities such as the bird and wild life offfce, staff, film /talk room, library; excellent talks/ escorted walks; free laundrette if you needed it; drying room; boot cleaning devices; plenty of information about possible excursions; a system to assist with car sharing; easy to meet other people; free afternoon tea in lounge -all the little touches to make things so easy and relaxing.We drove to remoter spots and saw some birds/wildlife we'd not seen before and we walked locally using a bus to return from a walk along the old railway line. Excellent location, both centrally in the lovely and interesting town and in the Highlands generally.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quiet and have views of hills; front rooms look out onto the attractive square -may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a short break (4 nights) at the Grant Arms. This was our fourth stay in eighteen months! As usual, everything was perfect - even the weather was superb! Key to the whole experience are the staff - so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The restaurant food is wonderful, and the rooms extremely comfortable. The surrounding area offers fabulous scenery, and the wildlife is amazing! The hotel is also home to the BWWC (Bird Watching and Wildlife Club) and the facilities of that club (which are free for use by all hotel guests) just get better and better! A big 'thank you' to all at the Grant Arms. We'll be booking a return visit soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardpegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Had a very pleasant two night stay in November, had a lovely room facing the square, the food was excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive. The hotel was beautifully refurbished and spotlessly cleaned. The room facilities were excellent and we will certainly return to visit this hotel in 2012. david & anne turner

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidturner335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
5.2 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
5.2 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.8 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
13.4 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
7.9 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing