We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. George Hotel
Ranked #50 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We booked a Coach holiday, checked the reviews and decided that this hotel would probably be okay. First impressions were good - reception handed out the keys quickly and efficiently and our luggage was brought in speedily from the coach. We were on the second floor so we got in the lift (limited to two people and very creaky) and went to find our rooms. Complete with luggage we had to negotiate three stiff doors and two short flights of stairs to reach our rooms. the first room we looked at was perfectly adequate - dated but with reasonable space and fitted with a modern shower. Across the corridor, my room was very cramped. There was a double bed (good bed, clean bedding and plenty of pillows) which took up most of the room. No bedside table and no space for one. The wash hand basin was in the bedroom. There was a high step up into the bathroom which was large - with a huge bath which was lovely and an old fashioned over-bath shower which dribbled rather than showered and which was very very difficult to set to a comfortable temperature. There were three steps IN the bathroom to enable me to reach the bath. The toilet seat was cheap and nasty and had a very sharp rim!!!!

The food was adequate though portions were small and there were always soggy vegetables. The waitresses were excellent and worked incredibly hard. A printed menu from which next day's food could be chosen would have been good. Coffee was excellent. Desserts choices were reasonable. Ice cream and tinned fruit were included every day.
My television was old and at first wouldn't work. The remote control was for the freeview box. (and IT kept falling off the top of the television and in so doing pulled the scart lead out of the TV.) I managed to watch the second half of a programme I wanted to see and didn't put the television on again!
The rooms were very very hot and the radiators became so hot that they would be a problem if small children were in the room. The hot water was also extremely hot - good for a bath but not for children washing their hands.
Another member of our coach party said that his lamp started fizzling and crackling during the night and he had to unplug it. Yet someone else said that their shaver socket had fallen down.

I wouldn't go back to that hotel. I feel that they are trying very hard to reach a standard that, given the condition of the building and their available budget, is impossible to achieve.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    65
    38
    17
    31
See reviews for
22
82
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Excellent hotel, very attentive staff, good food, plenty of choice and drinks at the bar at very competitive prices.
We came here as part of a coach holiday and found this hotel to be of a higher standard than we expected.
Would highly recommend this hotel which claims to be 350 yards from the prom.
Many thanks to all the staff who made this holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

If you pay 3 star, then don't expect 5 star. The hotel is a little dated, our room was strangely arranged. However, everything was clean and the room was serviced every day with clean towels every 2 days. The staff work very hard and are extremely friendly and obliging. The cooked breakfast, table served, could not be faulted. The evening meal offered good choice and was fine. The evening entertainment is always a question of choice, but in our view was fun. For what we paid for our 4 nights here, it represented remarkable value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrewjspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Was a little concerned at the reviews .we stayed b&b 4 nights mid august.Yesthe hotel is a little worn but bedroom was both spacious and spotless.The service was excellant with new towels every second day.breakfast was freshly cookedagain with excellant service.Dont worry about car parking the hotel has a private parking area at rear.Most of the guests were with coach tours and the atmosphere was really relaxed.All the staff were friendly and very efficient.We have been visiting great yarmouth for several years and I can name a few b&b's that come nowhere near this standard especially within the price range.The only negative i can say is the hotel doesn't take credit card payment but i can live with that.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

As described, functional and inexpensive. Very close to the sea front. Excellent parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsunited10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.0 km away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.0 km away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#19 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.5 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Property: St. George Hotel
Address: 7-10 Albert Square, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. George Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George Hotel is located in a wonderful position directly opposite the Wellington Pier, The "Centre of Entertainments" in Great Yarmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your St. George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing