We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2017

always a good experience, girls on reception so friendly and can't do enough to help guests any problems are delt with quickly you only need to ask.rooms are comfortable and warm and surprisingly quiet even though your right in the town centre.enclosed on sight parking available at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: brighter rooms at front of hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank daz264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your lovely 5* review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us again and that we did not disappoint. I will pass on your kind words to the staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

The first room we had was very dated and very small. The shower did not work so we were moved to another room. The room was much bigger and although still dated, it was much nicer.
The staff were excellent and could not do enough for you.
Breakfast was lovely.
Would definitely stay again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your stay with us. I am sorry to hear the first room allocated did not meet your requirements, however, pleased we managed to resolve the issue by locating you to another room. I will pass on the comments regarding the decor of the room to the owners. I will also pass on your kind words to the staff who will be delighted to hear your comments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on our first night away since becoming parents and we loved our stay from start to finish. It's a beautiful hotel in an old and distinguished building. It was spotlessly clean, well appointed and it felt very luxurious. We stayed in an executive room to spoil ourselves and it was well worth the money. It was absolutely enormous with a sitting room style area and a huge bathroom with both a shower and a bath. The bed was incredible; so soft with lovely pillows, I could have happily slept in it for days! The room was lovely and warm and it had blackout curtains so no street light came in at night. There was hardly any street noise and we had a wonderful long relaxing sleep; perfect after three months of baby-induced broken nights! I also have to compliment all the staff we spoke with; from booking our room to the duration of our stay they were friendly, polite, helpful and really lovely to talk to. They really helped make our stay so pleasant. They went out of their way to put on a small buffet for a group of our friends and family who had attended our daughter's christening with us in the morning. We were pleased with the food especially the amazing Rocky Road buns! Having the buffet at the hotel meant we could relax with our group in their lovely quiet lounge and relax after the hectic morning. So a definite massive thumbs up for this hotel; we would 100% recommend it and we really hope to return again in the near future.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gymbunny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing The White Swan to stay in and for your daughter's Christening. It was lovely to meet you all, and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope will be able to welcome you back at some point in the future. We will ensure all staff concerned see the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

I hate to give less than perfect reviews but I was surprised by the state of this hotel when we arrived after reading such good reviews. Our room was huge but very dated , definitely not one of the newly renovated rooms. The bathroom left much to be desired and clearly hadn't had any work done in about 25+ years. Though we stayed a this hotel in September and it was about 3 degrees Celsius outside, the heating was not turned on in the hotel. I am not lying when I say we had to sleep fully clothed with an additional hoodie and socks on. We left early on our last day because we couldn't be bothered freezing as we tried to take a shower and get ready. Sorry but needs much improvement.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cookie_breton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and please be rest assured we take all feedback into consideration, and will pass on your comments regarding the bathroom to the owners. Please don't ever hesitate to mention any concerns whilst here, we would have been more than happy to provide additional heating. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Not enough signs to rooms along the maze of corridors and misleading signs on fire doors. Shame the reception staff didn't escort us to our room upon arrival to avoid us getting lost. When a door says 'fitness suite' one would think it only went to the fitness suite, when in fact it took you down another corridor to the bedrooms. The bedroom and bathroom were cold, the radiators in the room were tepid at best. The room actually had a separate portable heater! Clearly an admission of the inadequacy of the central heating system! The bathroom had a wall mounted 1-bar electric heater. This apparently didn't work, and initially spoilt the beautifully tiled bathroom. The following morning I noticed an unplugged electrical lead. I followed it around the skirting of the room into the dressing room, where it connected to double plug socket. In the plug socket was an RCD adapter with another plug and lead. This lead went into the wardrobe, up the the wall and through into the bathroom to supply the wall heater. I plugged in the extension at the bedside socket, reset the RCD trip switch in the dressing room, pulled the heater switch cord and hey presto, there was heat! By the way the PAT test sticker on the extension lead was six months out of date!!! The internal handle on the bathroom door comes off in your hand. There is a grub screw missing, but someone spent more time and money trying to bodge a repair by sticking it unsuccessfully with silicone. The LED wall mounted TV looked like it had been wiped with a dirty dish cloth. Above the bed hung dusty cobwebs, I woke up wheezing. The hotel corridors were full of cobwebs. The breakfast was great and the breakfast waiting staff were great. Upon leaving to check out, a corridor was partially blocked by housekeeping staff dumping dirty linen in the middle of the corridor! I completed a feedback form rating accordingly and adding my list of defects, for the receptionist to say if I'd complained the night before we could have switched rooms! We stayed at the White Swan or 'mucky duck' as we used to refer to it because it was central to our evening out in Halifax. Who wants to be moving rooms at 10pm? There was no offer of a discussion with any manager and no offer of any refund in whole or part. It was a shame, being a Halifax local I had always wanted to stay at the White Swan. Our stay was more of a special treat as part of a night out. I was left feeling very disappointed with the property and the customer service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the in room feedback form and for the feedback via Trip Advisor. This type of details does help. Please be rest assured we will look in to all points raised. We will add signage to that set of rooms and provide a notice as to where the bathroom radiator switch is. With regards to the PAT testing, this was done for the whole hotel in March 2017, this item must have been missed, but we will not use this item until next PAT tested. We will inform maintenance of the bathroom handle and housekeeping of the other issues. It is great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and the service during breakfast. Please don't ever hesitate to mention any of these items whilst here, we would have been more than happy to sort these out during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.4 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.4 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
462 reviews
3.9 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
2.1 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
395 reviews
0.5 km away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: €48 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. We also serve a small lunch menu and Afternoon Tea is pre-bookable. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel By Compass Hospitality Halifax, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing