We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Butchers Arms(Halifax)
US$67
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Kirk Lea Guest House(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$51
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Savings alert! 11% below average rates

    The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$57/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$73
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (484)
    Filter reviews
    484 results
    Traveller rating
    228
    196
    40
    17
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    228
    196
    40
    17
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsone way systemhotel garagereception stafftown centrecentral locationstreet parkingan italian restaurantsecure parkinglarge bedroomcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellentfull englishtrouser pressnight portercomfortable bedsuperior roomcar park
    Filter
    Updating list...
    57 - 62 of 484 reviews
    Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

    The first room we had was very dated and very small. The shower did not work so we were moved to another room. The room was much bigger and although still dated, it was much nicer.
    The staff were excellent and could not do enough for you.
    Breakfast was lovely.
    Would definitely stay again

    Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Lisa G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your stay with us. I am sorry to hear the first room allocated did not meet your requirements, however, pleased we managed to resolve the issue by locating you to another room. I will pass on the comments regarding the decor of the room to the owners. I will also pass on your kind words to the staff who will be delighted to hear your comments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

    My partner and I stayed here on our first night away since becoming parents and we loved our stay from start to finish. It's a beautiful hotel in an old and distinguished building. It was spotlessly clean, well appointed and it felt very luxurious. We stayed in an executive room to spoil ourselves and it was well worth the money. It was absolutely enormous with a sitting room style area and a huge bathroom with both a shower and a bath. The bed was incredible; so soft with lovely pillows, I could have happily slept in it for days! The room was lovely and warm and it had blackout curtains so no street light came in at night. There was hardly any street noise and we had a wonderful long relaxing sleep; perfect after three months of baby-induced broken nights! I also have to compliment all the staff we spoke with; from booking our room to the duration of our stay they were friendly, polite, helpful and really lovely to talk to. They really helped make our stay so pleasant. They went out of their way to put on a small buffet for a group of our friends and family who had attended our daughter's christening with us in the morning. We were pleased with the food especially the amazing Rocky Road buns! Having the buffet at the hotel meant we could relax with our group in their lovely quiet lounge and relax after the hectic morning. So a definite massive thumbs up for this hotel; we would 100% recommend it and we really hope to return again in the near future.

    Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank gymbunny86
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

    Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing The White Swan to stay in and for your daughter's Christening. It was lovely to meet you all, and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope will be able to welcome you back at some point in the future. We will ensure all staff concerned see the review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 October 2017

    I hate to give less than perfect reviews but I was surprised by the state of this hotel when we arrived after reading such good reviews. Our room was huge but very dated , definitely not one of the newly renovated rooms. The bathroom left much to be desired and clearly hadn't had any work done in about 25+ years. Though we stayed a this hotel in September and it was about 3 degrees Celsius outside, the heating was not turned on in the hotel. I am not lying when I say we had to sleep fully clothed with an additional hoodie and socks on. We left early on our last day because we couldn't be bothered freezing as we tried to take a shower and get ready. Sorry but needs much improvement.

    • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank cookie_breton
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and please be rest assured we take all feedback into consideration, and will pass on your comments regarding the bathroom to the owners. Please don't ever hesitate to mention any concerns whilst here, we would have been more than happy to provide additional heating. Thank you again for your review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

    Not enough signs to rooms along the maze of corridors and misleading signs on fire doors. Shame the reception staff didn't escort us to our room upon arrival to avoid us getting lost. When a door says 'fitness suite' one would think it only went to the fitness suite, when in fact it took you down another corridor to the bedrooms. The bedroom and bathroom were cold, the radiators in the room were tepid at best. The room actually had a separate portable heater! Clearly an admission of the inadequacy of the central heating system! The bathroom had a wall mounted 1-bar electric heater. This apparently didn't work, and initially spoilt the beautifully tiled bathroom. The following morning I noticed an unplugged electrical lead. I followed it around the skirting of the room into the dressing room, where it connected to double plug socket. In the plug socket was an RCD adapter with another plug and lead. This lead went into the wardrobe, up the the wall and through into the bathroom to supply the wall heater. I plugged in the extension at the bedside socket, reset the RCD trip switch in the dressing room, pulled the heater switch cord and hey presto, there was heat! By the way the PAT test sticker on the extension lead was six months out of date!!! The internal handle on the bathroom door comes off in your hand. There is a grub screw missing, but someone spent more time and money trying to bodge a repair by sticking it unsuccessfully with silicone. The LED wall mounted TV looked like it had been wiped with a dirty dish cloth. Above the bed hung dusty cobwebs, I woke up wheezing. The hotel corridors were full of cobwebs. The breakfast was great and the breakfast waiting staff were great. Upon leaving to check out, a corridor was partially blocked by housekeeping staff dumping dirty linen in the middle of the corridor! I completed a feedback form rating accordingly and adding my list of defects, for the receptionist to say if I'd complained the night before we could have switched rooms! We stayed at the White Swan or 'mucky duck' as we used to refer to it because it was central to our evening out in Halifax. Who wants to be moving rooms at 10pm? There was no offer of a discussion with any manager and no offer of any refund in whole or part. It was a shame, being a Halifax local I had always wanted to stay at the White Swan. Our stay was more of a special treat as part of a night out. I was left feeling very disappointed with the property and the customer service.

    Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Andy C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

    Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the in room feedback form and for the feedback via Trip Advisor. This type of details does help. Please be rest assured we will look in to all points raised. We will add signage to that set of rooms and provide a notice as to where the bathroom radiator switch is. With regards to the PAT testing, this was done for the whole hotel in March 2017, this item must have been missed, but we will not use this item until next PAT tested. We will inform maintenance of the bathroom handle and housekeeping of the other issues. It is great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and the service during breakfast. Please don't ever hesitate to mention any of these items whilst here, we would have been more than happy to sort these out during your stay.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 October 2017

    We had a great weekend and can thoroughly recommend the White Swan. The rooms were nicely done out and the lovely public rooms downstairs are now beautifully decorated. Compass appear to have done a lot of work on the decor since I first visited the hotel a year ago. It is a splendid Victorian building with lots of character. The staff could not have been more helpful and we had a lovely afternoon tea on arrival with scrumptious cake. It was very quiet and we had a great night's sleep. There is lots to see in Halifax including the splendidly refurbished Piece Hall. All in all a great time was had by all.

    • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Angela R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

    Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the White Swan for your reunion and for writing a five star review afterwards. It was lovely to meet you all and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We will make sure all the staff see your lovely review. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews