We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Perfect Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

My wife and I stayed the night here as we were visiting Halifax for a concert at the Victoria Theatre. We received a warm welcome from the reception staff and our room was delightful, spotlessly clean and very spacious with every facility you could reasonably ask for. It was also very comfortable. Breakfast the following day was excellent with a wide choice of dishes including a very nice traditional English Breakfast, tastily cooked to order. Service in the breakfast room was speedy, attentive and extremely cheerful. Our whole visit was an unexpected delight. Please thank all the staff for their hard work.

Room Tip: Believe it or not - room 101 - was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Giuseppe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest, We are absolutely delighted with another 5* review! Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear you found the staff welcoming, the room spacious and clean, and that you enjoyed the breakfast service. We will certainly ensure the staff see your review. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Parking on site is available at an extra charge - but is convenient so do it.

Check in was a breeze and the ladies were very friendly.

The room was superb, with loads of space, a separate lounge area and a great sized bed. The only think i would have expected in a room this size was a bath.

The Italian restaurant on site is number 1 on trip advisor for local restaurants - so i'd recommend booking if you want to get in. I didnt and had to go off in search, but actually found the Turkish restaurant across from the hotel was really good and not expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 * review. It is great to hear you found the parking convenient and that you were welcome in a friendly manner. It is wonderful to hear you liked the room, thank you for the pictures! We hope to welcome you back if you are in Halifax in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Nice old Victorian hotel, with the most friendly staff we have ever met! The hotel probably needs a bit of TLC in corridors and rooms but quite acceptable due to the price and location. Our room was nice and clean however the bed was too soft and the curtains did let outside lights in but nothing to crumble about!!! the breakfast was grand with a good selection of hot and cold items and again served by efficient and smiling staff! we will probably see you a third time soon!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ericgleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a second time and for writing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is lovely to hear you found us good value for money and found the staff friendly. I will pass on your comments to the staff including the breakfast team. We hope to welcome you back for a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Lovely Hotel, with wounder full staff, that could not have been more friendly or helpful.
From the moment we walked through the door to the time we left, everyone was so friendly and could not do enough to help. We where in Halifax for a family wedding and being made to feel at home made our stay. Thank you to all the staff for being wonderful

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyce602014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5* review, it was an absolute pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay whilst here for the wedding. We will ensure all the staff see the comments. We hope to welcome you back if in Halifax in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

The room was clean, large and very spacious. Every member of staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel was a little dated in some places (i.e. staircases) but the rooms, lounge and dining area were great!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laydeeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your 4/5 review score. It is great to hear you found the room clean and spacious, and rated the lounge and dining area well. I will certainly ensure the staff see the comments that you found them friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.4 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.4 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
462 reviews
3.9 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
2.1 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
395 reviews
0.5 km away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: €48 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. We also serve a small lunch menu and Afternoon Tea is pre-bookable. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel By Compass Hospitality Halifax, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing