We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
236
200
43
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
200
43
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one way system hotel garage reception staff street parking town centre central location an italian restaurant secure parking cooked breakfast large bedroom superior room breakfast was excellent full english trouser press night porter comfortable bed car park
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The White Swan is situated in the centre of Halifax, within easy walking distance of the market, shops and attractions, including the Piece Hall and Eureka.

I visited with my two sisters, and we shared a large family room - king-size bed and double bed settee, both supremely comfortable. We arrived by car, which was valet parked and returned to the front of the hotel for us to pick up after checking out. Parking is limited, and there is an additional charge (well worth it).

This is a historic hotel with old-fashioned values and modern facilities, including free wifi. The staff were excellent, friendly and welcoming and the breakfast set us up for the day.

A word of warning: the tiled floor in our en-suite shower room was very slippery, and I came a cropper when the shower mat slid out from under me as I stepped out of the cubicle. No lasting harm done, luckily, but maybe non-slip bath mats could be considered?

It certainly won't stop me going back - we're already planning our next visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely 5* review. I am delighted to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us finding the location of good use and the room being spacious. I am also pleased you found use of our parking facilities and the staff to be friendly and welcoming. We hope to welcome you all back to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Visited on a Saturday night and were extremely happy with the experience. On arrival at lunchtime we were greeted by smiley faces and a fantastic welcome. We were told to just leave the car outside and it would be safely stored for the night behind locked gates. Check in was friendly and informative with offers to help with the luggage. OK so the rooms are dated and a bit creaky but it was very clean with plenty of space. Everything worked, the bed was comfortable and there was ample tea, coffee and milk available. Breakfast was a treat with a perfectly cooked "Full English" choice and again friendly and attentive service. Overall super value for money in a good location for staying in town!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pompey666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you received a warm welcome, and was happy with the information and services provided. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and found us to be good value for money and in a good location. We hope to welcome you back if you are in Halifax in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

On Bank holiday Monday enjoyed lovely day in Halifax at Piece Hall, Interesting time. Plenty of places to eat, gift shops and things for children to do. Wonderful sunny weather added to the experience. Walked around in the evening and the lighting in Piece Hall was beautiful a warm pleasant evening after enjoyable meal at local restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynneneal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your trip to the Piece Hall whilst you were with us. It is a fantastic attraction for the town and I'm sure the shops and events will increase constantly. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

The hotel is very good but the staff are excellent. The building is interesting and our room (222) was roomy with lots of storage space. Lots of shampoo/body wash in bathroom and the tea/ coffee/buiscuits were supplied very generously. All staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful especially the lady looking after us at breakfast (Jackie). The breakfast was plentiful and cooked to order - nice and fresh. We had our evening meal in the Italian Restaurant in the basement and was excellent. We enjoyed our stay and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Just go - you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Whoami138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you found the hotel to be in a good location, and found the room to be of a good size with ample supplies. It is also great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and your meal in Julio's. I will certainly ensure the staff hear you found them to be friendly and helpful, and we will pass on your kind words to Jackie. We hope to welcome you back if you are in Halifax in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last night and enjoyed my stay. Nice big room which was clean. Didn't eat in hotel but easily reached from station and worth staying in for an overnight stay. Staff friendly and liked the fact all our info was prepped amd ready for us arriving

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your recent visit. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be spacious and clean. As well as finding the staff to be friendly and organised. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews