We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Break in Halifax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The White Swan is a great hotel in a fantastic location. The building is old and characterful and the rooms are modern and very comfortable. Ella and Stacey on reception were very welcoming, and let us chose a room that suited us. We chose a room on the front of the hotel which was light and airy. Breakfast was bountiful and set us up for the day. This again was made extra special by the very friendly helpful staff who all seemed to go the extra mile. Top tip check out the offers on the hotel web site before using booking web sites.

Room Tip: we chose a room on the 2nd floor on the front of the hotel which was light and looked over the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely 5/5 review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us here at The White Swan Hotel and will inform all staff of your kind words. We hope to welcome you back when you next visit Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The White Swan is situated in the centre of Halifax, within easy walking distance of the market, shops and attractions, including the Piece Hall and Eureka.

I visited with my two sisters, and we shared a large family room - king-size bed and double bed settee, both supremely comfortable. We arrived by car, which was valet parked and returned to the front of the hotel for us to pick up after checking out. Parking is limited, and there is an additional charge (well worth it).

This is a historic hotel with old-fashioned values and modern facilities, including free wifi. The staff were excellent, friendly and welcoming and the breakfast set us up for the day.

A word of warning: the tiled floor in our en-suite shower room was very slippery, and I came a cropper when the shower mat slid out from under me as I stepped out of the cubicle. No lasting harm done, luckily, but maybe non-slip bath mats could be considered?

It certainly won't stop me going back - we're already planning our next visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely 5* review. I am delighted to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us finding the location of good use and the room being spacious. I am also pleased you found use of our parking facilities and the staff to be friendly and welcoming. We hope to welcome you all back to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Visited on a Saturday night and were extremely happy with the experience. On arrival at lunchtime we were greeted by smiley faces and a fantastic welcome. We were told to just leave the car outside and it would be safely stored for the night behind locked gates. Check in was friendly and informative with offers to help with the luggage. OK so the rooms are dated and a bit creaky but it was very clean with plenty of space. Everything worked, the bed was comfortable and there was ample tea, coffee and milk available. Breakfast was a treat with a perfectly cooked "Full English" choice and again friendly and attentive service. Overall super value for money in a good location for staying in town!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pompey666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you received a warm welcome, and was happy with the information and services provided. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and found us to be good value for money and in a good location. We hope to welcome you back if you are in Halifax in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

On Bank holiday Monday enjoyed lovely day in Halifax at Piece Hall, Interesting time. Plenty of places to eat, gift shops and things for children to do. Wonderful sunny weather added to the experience. Walked around in the evening and the lighting in Piece Hall was beautiful a warm pleasant evening after enjoyable meal at local restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynneneal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your trip to the Piece Hall whilst you were with us. It is a fantastic attraction for the town and I'm sure the shops and events will increase constantly. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

The hotel is very good but the staff are excellent. The building is interesting and our room (222) was roomy with lots of storage space. Lots of shampoo/body wash in bathroom and the tea/ coffee/buiscuits were supplied very generously. All staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful especially the lady looking after us at breakfast (Jackie). The breakfast was plentiful and cooked to order - nice and fresh. We had our evening meal in the Italian Restaurant in the basement and was excellent. We enjoyed our stay and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Just go - you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Whoami138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you found the hotel to be in a good location, and found the room to be of a good size with ample supplies. It is also great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and your meal in Julio's. I will certainly ensure the staff hear you found them to be friendly and helpful, and we will pass on your kind words to Jackie. We hope to welcome you back if you are in Halifax in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.4 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
0.4 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 km away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
238 reviews
2.1 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: €42 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. We also serve a small lunch menu and Afternoon Tea is pre-bookable. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel By Compass Hospitality Halifax, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing