We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$65
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirk Lea Guest House(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (477)
    Filter reviews
    477 results
    Traveller rating
    225
    194
    38
    17
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    225
    194
    38
    17
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsone way systemsuperior roomhotel garagevictorian buildingreception staffan italian restaurantlarge bedroomtown centrestreet parkingcentral locationcooked breakfastsecure parkingbreakfast was excellentfull englishtrouser pressgreat night's sleepwalk in shower
    Filter
    Updating list...
    110 - 115 of 477 reviews
    Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

    Had a lovely weekend break at the White Swan. The car was parked for us whilst we checked in. 3rd floor room(304) that was both clean and very spacious. Nothing was too much trouble for the welcoming staff.
    Breakfast was delicious, a full cooked breakfast, toast, cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruits all available.
    The location is fantastic for central access to Halifax.
    The only downside was noisy revellers in the street below

    Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    2  Thank Sarah P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the room 304. I will pass on your kind words to all our staff. We hope to welcome you all back to us in the near future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 October 2016

    Wonderful welcome! The staff at reception made us feel like valued customers and provided excellent service with a smile. The room was comfortable and the bed was cosy. Plenty of tea and coffee and biscuits! The breakfast was superb and again the staff were very attentive. Excellent value overall.

    • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Steve G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your stay with us. It's always nice to hear when guests enjoy their stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

    The staff really make this hotel, they are fantastic. You can feel their passion and enthusiasm. They really go the extra mile to help and make each guest feel special

    Would recommend it just because of them

    Rooms are good to and for the town is best option

    Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    2  Thank andrewsmith764
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely 5* review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As we do pride ourselves on our customer service I am pleased to hear that this did not disappoint. I will pass on you kind words to the staff who will be delighted with comments. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 October 2016

    Great city centre location, easy to drive too and well positioned for all amenities which were within walking distance. Good service from friendly staff, lovely rooms in an old well kept building with lots of character. Good breakfast choice and good value for a short stay.

    • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank clairecF5196XS
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

    Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your 5* review on the Hotel. I am delighted to hear your thoughts and will pass on your kind words to each department. As we pride ourselves on our customer service and our breakfast I am pleased these did not disappoint. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 October 2016

    A lovely old style building in the center of Halifax ,ideal for victoria theatre stay just five minutes away. The staff are very welcoming. The rooms are clean and provide all the essentials .
    The breakfast is outstanding ,one of the best I've had . Great service throughout our stay . Even a small fitness room .

    • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank Julie S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

    Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear your stay, in particular the building, the location, the staff, the rooms, the breakfast and the fitness room. I will certainly make sure the staff see your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews