We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great room, but good value and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Convenient location in the centre of Halifax, easy walking distance of shops, theatres, bars, etc. Lovely old building from the outside, but less lovely old inside. Our room had a new-ish bathroom (already showing signs of wear and tear) but the room itself had quite a tired decor, low-ish quality furniture and a nasty stained carpet. We paid about £45 per night for a double room (without breakfast), so it was a fair price for what we got. Reception staff were super-nice, though the housekeeping team didn't do our room on the middle day of our stay.
Parking is an issue - we would happily have paid the £7 per night fee for the hotel car park if it had guaranteed us a place to come and go as we wanted during the day, but apparently the car park is some sort of 'cage' and you have to say in advance when you want your car out and there's no guarantee of a place later that evening. On street parking spaces aren't so easy to find, though larger public car parks are available once you know where to look.
A perfectly adequate hotel - but I wouldn't book it for a special event or a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Audavian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your stay with us. I am pleased you found the location of use, as well as the service from the reception team. I am sorry to hear you did not feel the room to be adequate, we will certainly take your comments on board. With regards to the car park, we have a garage which holds nine spaces, therefore, this is offered on a first come first serve basis. However our team are always happy to help guests find alternative parking if the garage is full. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend break at the White Swan. The car was parked for us whilst we checked in. 3rd floor room(304) that was both clean and very spacious. Nothing was too much trouble for the welcoming staff.
Breakfast was delicious, a full cooked breakfast, toast, cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruits all available.
The location is fantastic for central access to Halifax.
The only downside was noisy revellers in the street below

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the room 304. I will pass on your kind words to all our staff. We hope to welcome you all back to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Wonderful welcome! The staff at reception made us feel like valued customers and provided excellent service with a smile. The room was comfortable and the bed was cosy. Plenty of tea and coffee and biscuits! The breakfast was superb and again the staff were very attentive. Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your stay with us. It's always nice to hear when guests enjoy their stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

The staff really make this hotel, they are fantastic. You can feel their passion and enthusiasm. They really go the extra mile to help and make each guest feel special

Would recommend it just because of them

Rooms are good to and for the town is best option

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank andrewsmith764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely 5* review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As we do pride ourselves on our customer service I am pleased to hear that this did not disappoint. I will pass on you kind words to the staff who will be delighted with comments. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Great city centre location, easy to drive too and well positioned for all amenities which were within walking distance. Good service from friendly staff, lovely rooms in an old well kept building with lots of character. Good breakfast choice and good value for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clairecF5196XS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your 5* review on the Hotel. I am delighted to hear your thoughts and will pass on your kind words to each department. As we pride ourselves on our customer service and our breakfast I am pleased these did not disappoint. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.4 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.4 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
465 reviews
3.9 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
2.1 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
395 reviews
0.5 km away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: €48 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. We also serve a small lunch menu and Afternoon Tea is pre-bookable. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel By Compass Hospitality Halifax, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing