We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
236
200
43
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
200
43
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one way system hotel garage reception staff street parking town centre central location an italian restaurant secure parking cooked breakfast large bedroom superior room breakfast was excellent full english trouser press night porter comfortable bed car park
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend break at the White Swan. The car was parked for us whilst we checked in. 3rd floor room(304) that was both clean and very spacious. Nothing was too much trouble for the welcoming staff.
Breakfast was delicious, a full cooked breakfast, toast, cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruits all available.
The location is fantastic for central access to Halifax.
The only downside was noisy revellers in the street below

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the room 304. I will pass on your kind words to all our staff. We hope to welcome you all back to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Wonderful welcome! The staff at reception made us feel like valued customers and provided excellent service with a smile. The room was comfortable and the bed was cosy. Plenty of tea and coffee and biscuits! The breakfast was superb and again the staff were very attentive. Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your stay with us. It's always nice to hear when guests enjoy their stay with us. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

The staff really make this hotel, they are fantastic. You can feel their passion and enthusiasm. They really go the extra mile to help and make each guest feel special

Would recommend it just because of them

Rooms are good to and for the town is best option

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank andrewsmith764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely 5* review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As we do pride ourselves on our customer service I am pleased to hear that this did not disappoint. I will pass on you kind words to the staff who will be delighted with comments. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Great city centre location, easy to drive too and well positioned for all amenities which were within walking distance. Good service from friendly staff, lovely rooms in an old well kept building with lots of character. Good breakfast choice and good value for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clairecF5196XS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your 5* review on the Hotel. I am delighted to hear your thoughts and will pass on your kind words to each department. As we pride ourselves on our customer service and our breakfast I am pleased these did not disappoint. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

A lovely old style building in the center of Halifax ,ideal for victoria theatre stay just five minutes away. The staff are very welcoming. The rooms are clean and provide all the essentials .
The breakfast is outstanding ,one of the best I've had . Great service throughout our stay . Even a small fitness room .

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear your stay, in particular the building, the location, the staff, the rooms, the breakfast and the fitness room. I will certainly make sure the staff see your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews