We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
676
208
87
36
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
208
87
36
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary glass of wine afternoon tea wedding guests scones beautiful hotel gardens are beautiful old house stuart room mullioned windows split level suite on arrival wedding venue open fire public rooms scallops wedding reception four poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Lovely place to stay and the staff were very accommodating as we had to change our room as I needed a walk in shower, eventually had room 37 which was ideal. Really comfortable bed and pillows!
Had a great meal in the restaurant and there was a nice ambiance and was really cosy.
Breakfast was perfect and so were the staff too!
Would highly recommend for a short break to visit the surrounding area. The Piece Hall in Halifax definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks Jennifer D for your feedback and your five star rating of our hotel. We're so pleased you visited The Piece Hall during your stay at Holdsworth House, we tell lots of people about it as it's worth spending a few hours meandering it's boutiques.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We were at this hotel last weekend for our daughter's wedding.

All the staff could not have done any more for ourselves and the guests. We would like to mention, in particular, Tracey who organised the day for the happy couple and guests. Her arrangements seemed to go smoothly with no apparent problems.

The hotel is in a lovely setting, with gardens that have been lovingly cared for. The ambience of the public rooms wraps around you as soon as step into them perfect if anyone wished for some quiet time, especially in the evening.

We were in a very comfortable room, with everything we needed. We spent some time examining the old hotel invoices hung on the walls which gave an insight into businesses in the Halifax area.

There was plenty of choice at breakfast. If you preferred something else not on the menu, they would do their best to meet your request. Everyone seemed to enjoy the wedding meal which was well cooked with four options for each course. The team of young waiting staff served everyone very proficiently.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clermistonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Clermistonlad, it is so lovely to read comments from guests after the event – which we're delighted was a magical day for you all. We hope that you have many happy memories to cherish and look forward to seeing you at the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely small hotel, parts of which are Jacobean. A feeling of relaxed luxury; our rooms were beautifully furnished and decorated, clean and comfortable. A new chef in the retaurant delivered beautifully cooked and presented meals - the scallops melted in the mouth, and requests to make slight changes to the meals presented no problems at all. The staff were on the whole polite, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful; there was one noteable exception, but the manager dealt with this swiftly and efficiently and really made us feel like prized guests. We fully intend to stay again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Barrow-Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Bill and Andrew, we really appreciate your comments and five-out-of-five rating. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Spent one night here on a Travelzoo deal and would thoroughly recommend. Beautiful old house with spotless, modernised rooms. Good food too. Service was terrific - unfailingly warm, friendly and helpful. Ozzy, our mini schnauzer, was treated like royalty with bowl and blanket ready for him in the room and a smile, pat and doggy treats wherever he went. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

It's fabulous to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really hope you'll return again soon. From all the team at Holdsworth House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful period building that has been extended over time. Warm friendly environment with warm friendly staff. Room was good with a rainfall shower head over the bath. Bottled water and hot drinks were provided in the room. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank waringontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

That's the best feedback we can have! So pleased you're already considering returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews