We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay, the best we have stayed...”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge. Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge.
Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Dining kitchen with double oven, gas hob, fridge, freezer and dishwasher.  Leading to lounge.
Dining kitchen leading to lounge.
Complimentary welcome pack of products provided for guests staying 4 nights or more.
Lounge with dual aspect sea views, TV with integrated DVD.
Lounge with oak, open tread staircase leading to bedrooms and bathroom.
Unrestricted sea views over lawned garden from the lounge window.
South Bedroom - king sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Large king sized bedroom with wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Bathroom with toilet, sink, corner bath and large separate shower. With sea views.
North bedroom, pictured configured as super king.  Room size 5.4m x 3.0m.
North bedroom, pictured configured as twin, with the option of another full sized single. Sea views.
View from private parking.  Guests have use of large lawned garden during their stay.
Private picnic area outside Brekka Lodge with unrestricted sea views.  Beach only 2 minute walk.
Steps and bridge to lime kilns and beach at the bottom of the garden.
Lovely, peaceful beach and lime kiln ruins below Brekka Lodge.  Just a two minute walk away.
Northern Lights from above Brekka Lodge.
Spring view from Brekka Lodge.
Wintery view from Brekka Lodge.
Seals are regular visitors to the beach.
Killer whales have become regular visitors to the shores of Shetland. Seen from Brekka Lodge lounge.
Inside Mousa Broch.  Ferry jetty to this Islands is only 5 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Scalloway Castle.  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Shetland Museum and Archives (incorporated Hays Dock Restaurant).  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
St Ninians Isle and lovely tombolo beach.  Under 10 miles from Brekka Lodge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah M
Haworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay, the best we have stayed in, in Shetland.”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed at Brekka Lodge for one week in May and had a wonderful time. We have visited Shetland many times, always self catering, and we would have to say that this is the best we have stayed in. It was comfortable and immaculate! We were in fact shocked to learn that it had been running for several years as it looked like new. Brekka Lodge is close to the owners home, but they never intruded on our privacy, it was as if we were totally on our own. The location is super, very close to the sea and within easy reach to the main road for visiting Sumburgh, St Ninians Isle and Lerwick. The fact that we have booked again for May 2014 I think says it all. We highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again at Brekka Lodge next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannicUk
UK
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - hope to return”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We treated ourselves to a fortnight here - and what a great trip we had. We felt welcomed from the first emails from Sheila, and arrived to find both owners just as friendly 'in the flesh' and a lovely pack of local food treats waiting for us.
The accommodation is furnished with good quality and well maintained fittings and kept spotlessly clean. The owners have tried to anticipate every need and it was the best kitted out rental we have ever had - and we have had a lot!
There is a short walk down to a sheltered wee bay where we twice saw an otter and we saw seals every time. We lost hours watching the antics of the lambs in the adjoining field! Lots of info on things to do has been provided. We easily filled our fortnight and would love to return to see still more of the islands. The rental is excellently placed for access south and north - and only 15 mins from Lerwick, where there are plenty of places to eat out, takeaways and a large Tesco and also a Co-op for the self catering supplies.
We were initially disappointed to arrive and find that it is not clear from the advertising photos that it is behind and over the garage (separate to the owners house), but we were quickly won over by the fantastic facilities and were never bothered by any noise from the garage being used while we were there.
We cannot think of any problems except perhaps needing blackout blinds behind the bedroom curtains for those longer days in summer. We really want to return here and cannot praise it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, seeing otters in the bay, excellent quality of fittings/furniture
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2013
We hope to have you back at Brekka Lodge in the future. Thank you for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia R
Suffolk
1 review
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Brekka for 4 nights. We had a very warm welcome from Sheila when we arrived and were also greeted with a welcome pack which was quickly enjoyed. Sheila had sent on ahead directions which were very clear and so it was easy to find. The property is ideally located, close to Lerwick but just remote enough for complete privacy. The house is beautiful, immaculate, warm, very well equipped (there really is everything you can possibly need in a self catering) and is in a beautiful setting with wild rabbits and birds always within sight. The living room afforded views of wonderful sunsets and sunrises. The little beach is an easy walk down the hill where we saw seals (their heads anyway) on a couple of occasions. It was a little sad to leave after so short a stay but when we return to Shetland, it will certainly be a return to Brekka also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property in equally beautiful location.
Liked least: Cant fault it in anyway, except having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillausti...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top class house, stunning location!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in February 2012

My friend was visiting from New Zealand and wanted to see the Northern Lights...... So I figured we should go as far north as possible and we were not disappointed :-)
We saw the northern lights and also loads of birds and animals- and that was just from Brekka Lodge! Within a short drive there are nature reserves, archaeological sites and the bustle of Lerwik.
It was very stormy when we stayed but we were warm and cosy in the evenings with everything we could possibly wish for in the house. The welcome pack of Shetland produce was much appreciated.
If you want to get away from it all I couldn't recommend Brekka Lodge highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had such a brilliant holiday at Brekka Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie W
Abergavenny
1 review
“A fantastic place to relax and an excellent base to see the Island.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Brekka Lodge provided us with every comfort we could have wished for. The location was ideal for touring but also for walking along the coast line. It was such a luxury having the beach only a couple of hundred yards from the lodge and we were able to see an otter swimming in the bay and Arctic terns and Oystercatchers guarding their nests.
The lodge itself is immaculately presented and welcoming and contained everything you could ask for. In particular, the bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable with king/queen sized beds.
There is easy access into Lerwick or surrounding area if you wanted to eat out or for travelling to see the rest of the island.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: Cant think of anything!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Brekka Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing