We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Me and my wife had been bought this as a wedding present and we picked Mere Court as our preferred choice of venue and we are so pleased we did, set in beautiful surroundings and so peaceful, the room we stayed in was the Windsor suite which had loads of character and a lovely 4 poster bed, the room was lovely and clean and the bathroom was very nice with a large double ended roll top bath which easily fitted 2 people in.
The A La Carte food was absolutely beautiful and highly recommended for anyone wanting to treat themselves.
The breakfast was also very nice.
The staff were all pleasant and very helpful also.
A fantastic place which we will visit again someday

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Dear Neil B

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us have your feedback.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us especially as it was wedding present.

Thank you also for your recommendation, we think our Arboreum Restaurant is perfect for special occasions!

I will pass your kind words on to my team and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

John Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2015

We stayed here for my Niece's wedding and what a fantastic event the hotel put on, the service of all the staff was superb, the grounds around the hotel were well maintained, loads of on-site parking and plenty of areas to stand and sit in the outside areas. The organisation throughout the day was handled with the minimum of fuss ensuring that everything ran seamlessly and added to a brilliant day i am sure for all the guests and in particular my niece and her new husband....

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Dear David H

Thanks very much for your much-appreciated feedback.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your Niece and her husband had a brilliant day.

I will pass your kind words on to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

John Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed at Mere Court the evening before my friends wedding, which was held at the hotel. The staff were all great, the food was excellent and the wedding itself went without a hitch. Despite a few of us being up very late, the night porter was very accomodating. The room we stayed in was large and we'll presented, the shower was fantastic.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank TheWall22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2015

Dear TheWall2

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us have your feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us on the occasion of your friends’ wedding and that we were helpful and accommodating.

I will pass your kind words on to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards

John Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015 via mobile

What a complete waste of money! I stayed here for the night for a friends wedding and although the wedding was lovely I cannot say the same for the hotel itself. I was told I had one of the best rooms but it looked in desperate need of redecorating and modernisation. The room did not have any running hot water, the lights were flickering and the shower did not work properly, the safe didn't work and there was no fridge in the room. Disabled facilities are abysmal which a friend of mine who was also staying at the hotel encountered problems with. I complained to the manager and although he was accommodating at first telling me that he would look into the issues, nothing was sorted. I followed up my complaint upon checking out of the hotel however the manager failed to return my calls or emails. I would not stay here again.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank HappyTraveller12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2015

Dear HappyTraveller12000

I am pleased to hear that your friends’ wedding was lovely but very sorry to learn that your experience with us was not a reflection of our usual high standards of care and service.

We have a 24 hour reception for dealing with any problems that arise so I am sorry that we didn’t resolve your issue or respond to your complaint to your satisfaction.

We take on board all feedback from our customers and review our procedures accordingly to ensure that we continue to meet and exceed our customer expectations.

There is a planned schedule of refurbishment in place for all the bedrooms so we would appreciate another opportunity to welcome you back to Mere Court at some point in the future.

Kind regards

John Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Stayed one night dinner bed and breakfast in a very nice large room. Staff are very good and friendly. Food was excellent. Hotel and grounds are very nice. Would benefit from a little more attention to detail. One lampshade in bathroom was missing is an example.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2015

Dear Charles Lesley Smith

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your much-appreciated feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I have passed your kind words on to my team.

As I hope you can appreciate, we do from time to time have problems with things like the lampshade in your bathroom but we have a 24 hours concierge available to take care of these issues.

We also have a planned program of refurbishment in place for all our bedrooms in 2015.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

John Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
3.7 km away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,051 reviews
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
5.4 km away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
114 reviews
14 km away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range: €72 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing