We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My partner and I enjoyed a midweek leisure-break at Mere Court recently and will definitely return in the future.
On arrival, the hotel and grounds look very attractive, and the surrounding gardens are well maintained and perfect for a peaceful stroll.
Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and well equiped. The bathroom had a decent shower too, (not found in many older hotels).
Dinner in the restaurant was very good indeed. A well balanced menu is complimented by a decent wine list. The beakfast was good all week, and the staff polite, friendly, courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the original house are better than those in the newer extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear John M,
thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review, I was glad to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

The Team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 436 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here, the first 2 years ago. This time we had a cheaper option in a lakeside room. This is some way off the main body of he hotel, and rather badly signposted. However the room was fine, indeed quite spacious, and well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast, which cost extra to our room rate, was excellent, with a good range of food and good rapid service.
The only problem was that they did not service our room at all on the second night.
This might have been a one off and my wife complained to the manager who deducted the cost of the room for that night [though he did not send anyone to fix it!].
However our experience of the restaurant on the first night was dreadful. The last time we stayed we vowed not to return because of the restaurant. Rather foolishly we thought they might have improved. Not a bit of it - if anything it was worse.
It is difficult to rate the restaurant in this hotel badly enough. We stayed here 2 years ago and did not return because of the restaurant. We thought they must have improved in the meantime but not a bit of it. The food is OK, though definitely not brilliant and the portions adequate but the service is truly abominable.
We booked a table for 19.30 and arrived at 19.25. Their system is to sit one in the lounge [presumably in the hope one will buy drinks] but we refused to do that, and after some persuasion we were reluctantly permitted to sit in the restaurant. We finally got the menu, after complaining quite vigorously, at 20.00. Half an hour. The staff were clearly following their routine and were not to be moved no matter what we said. And no, they were not apologetic.
It took about another half an hour before we got any food – an hour after we had sat down and after more complaints – and the main course eventually arrived at 2100 – one and a half hours after we had booked our table.
The restaurant was not busy – by any normal standards – and there were a number of other guests who were quite clearly annoyed by the delays. So it was not that they were overworked or overwhelmed, but they do have absolutely no apparent awareness of the guests’ feelings or requirements and even if they did they have absolutely no intention of changing their routine to suit anyone but themselves.
We ate out for the second night at a Loch Fyne which was everything this restaurant is not – and with much much better food into the bargain - and nothing would induce us to return to this restaurant again which we think is truly dreadful.
My wife had aired this with the manager who promised to meet us at breakfast the day we checked out. Needless to say he did not appear.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teaselshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

I am sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience on your recent stay and I have taken all your comments on board. Such constructive comments are most helpful and give us direction as to where we need to focus our service delivery. Kind regards.

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We had booked what looked like a bargain dinner bed and breafast deal here for a Saturday night in early September. It was £85, but you do become sceptical about bargains, and so we were waiting for evidence of why the price was so reasonable. In truth though we didn't find it anywhere. The hotel is right out on it's own, it is a lovely old building and the gardens are beautiful. We had a really big ensuite double room with a view over the fields. It was spotless, and apart from the fact that the shower head had a mind of it's own, it was really well maintained. The bed was a king size and very comfortable, we had reasonable wardrobe space and a decent sized flat screen TV. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We had no idea what to expect and we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, clean and had a lovely big bed in it. The staff were all very helpful, efficient and courteous - made us feel very welcome. Dinner was in a lovely old room and the food was excellent - the best dinner we have had for a long time. Breakfast was excellent too with a delicious kipper and a well presented 'full English'. A most enjoyable short break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Peter D,
Fantastic review!! thank you very much for your kind words.

Regards

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stopped at Mere Court Hotel for one night whilst visiting reloations. There. Our room was in the main house and although numbered 308, had Osbourne on the door. The bedroom and bathroom were both rather spacious are no disabled car parking spaces close to the hotel, although valet parking is available. The bedroom had two easy chairs, which is always a bonus. The bed was comfy and there was tea and coffee making facilities as ell as one bottle of mineral water. In addition there was a very small decanter of sherry and two glasses. Free Wifi was available and worked without the need to search for and enter a password.

Before we ate, we ordered drinks from a barman who did not have much of a clue what he was doing. He seemed unsure if Glenmorangie or Jamiesons were whisky and when I established that for him, was unsure what what glass to use! He charged for Gordons Gin instead of Jamiesons and when I pointed that out to him said that as the gin was cheaper he would leave it as it was.

We order from what was described as Light Bites. The Fish and Chips, Beef Sandwiches and Omelette were all of adequate sizes. However the beef burger was rather large as it contained two burgers. Overall the food was very good.

The breakfast consisted of a cold buffet of fruit, cereals, bread, croissants etc as well as hot bacon, sausages, mushrooms, beans etc in a steamer. Eggs are cooked fresh to order. Toast like the majority of hotels looked like bread that had been thrown through a flame as it was very pale brown/white! I asked the waitress to cook my poached egg on toast like she would have her toast at home. I got toast that was hot and brown, just like toast cooked at home!!

All in all this was an enjoyable stay and if visiting relations in the area in the future, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. following your review we have now done some much needed staff training on bar service and on whiskey knowledge.
The team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
3.7 km away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,051 reviews
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
3.4 km away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
114 reviews
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
17.4 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range: €72 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing