We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
405
25
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
405
25
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mark and morag warm welcome excellent hosts evening meal smoked salmon little gem high standard very comfortable room local produce old friends place to stay pudding quiet village sat nav wonderful food off the beaten track great stopover
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

An amazing welcome from Mark; and the accommodation and food did not disappoint either.
Mark's wife, Morag, was a really cheery soul, whose cooking delighted us both at breakfast and in the evening. Nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was clean, cosy, and comfortable, and the en-suite was equally praiseworthy.
This will be a top choice if we revisit this part of the world.
Thank you to Mark and Morag, who made our half-way stopover a real pleasure.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will be fine.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkAndMorag, Owner at The Hightae Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It was great to meet you John and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here in Hightae. It'd be fab to see you again - maybe spend a couple of days exploring Dumfries & Galloway next time ? We can prepare a personalised itinerary for you.
Kind regards, M&M, The Hightae Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We, my wife with two friends stayed on stopovers on our way from the Gloucestershire to Glenelg, and on our return.
What a find! The High Tae makes me want to explore the area as an excuse to go and stay there again. Mark and Morag are the friendliest of hosts. Welcoming, knowledgeable, helpful, a joy to be with.
The room was immaculate, all that you could ever expect or want, plus a very comfortable bed.
Morag’s cooking was absolutely delicious, refined yet not pretentious, yummy. If I were local I would be there every week. Breakfasts were absolutely excellent and lasted us many miles away on our journeys. We mustn’t forget Thomas of course, a very special Welsh Terrier with a penchant for toast.
The other reviewers may have a better way with words than I, but we all seem to have the same train of thought. Want to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cranberryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkAndMorag, Owner at The Hightae Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

It was wonderful to meet you all and we're chuffed to bits you like what we do here in Hightae. We're really fortunate to have some fantastic locally sourced produce - Dumfries & Galloway's got a lot of great stuff. Some rather expensive therapy may be required to forget about your meeting with our Welsh Terrier - he's some lad. Thanks for your patience with him. We'd love to have you back - just give us a call/drop us an email. Warmest regards, M&M, The Hightae Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Lovely stylish room with cosy comfortable bed and good ensuite shower. Morag is a star cook with a wonderful light touch- dinner was fabulous, and I could manage 3 courses. Wine is well thought out and Mark is informative and opinionated on Gin and Whiskies. Breakfast- perfect. Not far from the M6.
Fresh milk with tea in the room, and Mark helping visitors with places to go, weather reports etc. A great place to stay and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Closed on Mondays I think, and may be closed over the winter- check before going.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkAndMorag, Owner at The Hightae Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us Sandra - huge thanks for your very kind comments. Let us know if you'd like to come back at some point in the future - hope we can continue to get it right. Cheers, M&M, The Hightae Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We stayed at Hightae on our way back south from further north in Scotland. We received a warm welcome, the room was very comfortable and we had a delicious evening meal. A pity we didn’t have time to explore the surrounding area. Thank you.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kitch512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkAndMorag, Owner at The Hightae Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us for your return leg back home. So glad you enjoyed our place & food and hope to see you again. Cheers, M&M, The Hightae Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We stayed here only one night on our way up to the north of Scotland.
Located In the centre of a delightful little village.
The building and the room were modern and pristine.
The bed was very comfortable, the heating controllable and more than adequate and the en suite immaculate with a nice roomy shower.
Wi-fi, super fast.
Breakfast was just fantastic.
The hosts, a very nice couple indeed
What a shame we only had one night!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkAndMorag, Owner at The Hightae Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Many thanks for staying with us Peter - chuffed you liked our wee place.
We hope your NorthCoast500 trip went well - give us a call if you'd like to come back and do the SouthWest400 this time - we can plan an itinerary for you.
Warmest regards
M&M, The Hightae Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews