We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely b&b, great breakfast & friendly host!”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Katie G
1 review
“Lovely b&b, great breakfast & friendly host!”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner and I stayed here with our baby in July. We received a friendly welcome from Vanessa, complete with tea and homemade biscuits! The accommodation was clean and tidy, the small kitchenette had everything we needed (fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster) and a gorgeous cooked or continental breakfast was bought over each morning at an agreed time by Vanessa. She also provided a travel cot for our baby so we didn't need to bring one. The accommodation is situated next to the owners house but it was still quiet and private. You can walk from the accommodation to tracks within the forest and local towns e.g. Lymington are a short drive away. We had a great time at Defoe House and would definitely recommend this B&B to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pemberton...
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend get away”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thank you Vanessa for your hospitality. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and it was great having the extra touches in the small kitchen. Breakfast was delicious and the location of the property was a "real get away from it all". For people who lead very busy lives it was lovely to just RELAX. Thanks also to the lovely Alfie dog. Our daughter adored him and has declared meeting him the highlight of her weekend!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonM...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelled with my wife and 1 yr old son.
Friendly and welcoming owners, who did as much as they could to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.
Accommodation was clean and well presented. Breakfasts were fantastic!
Fantastic base to explore the New Forest!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B J
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful B&B”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thank you Vanessa for being so obliging and for having a clean retreat for those of us who love a peaceful stay. There wasn't anything we required that you didn't already have! The cakes you left on arrival were beautiful!! We had a very pleasant stay and you are in a great position for visiting so many places of interest in the area. If I hear of anyone visiting the New Forest I will definitely recommend you............Thanks again!
Bev and S

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnco623...
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from a 4 night stay at defoe house, and what a perfect little retreat it was. It has everything you need with the added advantage of a cooked breakfast being delivered to your table. Vanessa is a diamond, very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and nothing is too much trouble. There is so much to see and do in this area and we plan a return visit in the very near future. I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing