We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our second stay in Autumn Cottage was as...”
other travellers have booked this property
Autumn Cottage - Luxury Thatched Cottage near Oakham / Uppingham, Rutland and Stamford.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn Cottage - Luxury Thatched Cottage near Oakham / Uppingham, Rutland and Stamford.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Autumn Cottage - Luxury Thatched Cottage near Oakham / Uppingham, Rutland and Stamford.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oakham, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sifran
Edinburgh,Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Our second stay in Autumn Cottage was as wonderful as the first”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Autumn Cottage, situated in the idyllic village of Preston, is perfect for a relaxed break. The cottage is picture perfect and Martin and Julia have furnished and equipped it to an incredibly high standard.
Rutland is a hidden gem and one of the nicest places in England to stay. Rutland Water is 5 minutes drive and we loved walking through the woods on the north shore where the vast displays of bluebells were stunning. I also fished for a couple of days, Rutland Water being one of the UK's premier trout fishing and bird watching destinations. A trip to see the Ospreys on their nest in Manton Bay was a particular highlight, particularly as the first chick hatched on our last day.
Preston is surrounded by interesting towns like Oakham and Uppingham and smaller villages, all of them have great pubs and eateries. The cottage has loads of recommendations on the best ones to visit. Oakham is a real foodie heaven with Hambleton Foods and Bakery being 'must visits'. The butchers on the High Street in Oakham produces a prize winning Melton Mowbray pork pie which is simply the best we have ever tasted.
We are 'hard to please' seasoned travellers but it is impossible to fault Autumn Cottage which is testament to the hard work, care and attention to detail that Martin and Julia have applied. We will definitely return and would recommend unreservedly to anyone looking for a self catering holiday in one of the nicest unspoilt areas of England.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Than you for posting another excellent review of both Autumn Cottage and the local area! Much appreciated and it makes all the hard work worthwhile. Look forward to seeing you both again next year.
Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sifran
Edinburgh,Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“well equipped picture box cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Autumn cottage is the best self catering we have stayed in for equipment and comfort (and we have stayed in a good few). It is obvious that the owners have taken a great deal of care and thought to furnish it to this high standard. I have passed Preston many times but never appreciated how lovely it is. The BBQ was particularly welcome as we enjoyed the fine weather in the lovely sheltered courtyard. We could have been in the Dordogne!
Rutland is such a lovely area for a break, walking, fishing or just enjoying a meal in the superb pubs. Stamford is a lovely town to visit.
Our stay was made all the more special by our time in Autumn Cottage. Many thanks to the owners Martin and Julia.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Autumn Cottage and re-visiting the Rutland & Stamford area. Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasing review. Hope to welcome you both back before too long.
Haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Chippenham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A superb blend of old world tranquility with excellent modern facilities.”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Autumn Cottage in the hamlet of Preston between Oakham and Uppingham with its delightful thatched cottages and views over open countryside is a peaceful retreat.
The owners have achieved a blend of the old and the new with superb attention to detail which made our stay so memorable. Top quality accommodation in an area of outstanding natural beauty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review, as well as leaving the cottage so immaculately clean and tidy. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward hopefully to welcoming you back next Spring. Warm regards, Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
1 review
“Picture postcard cottage of the highest standard”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Situated in a very peaceful village but close enough to larger towns to be very convenient. On arrival at Autumn cottage one is struck by the picture postcard appearance. This is continued inside the cottage with the beamed ceilings and low traditional latch doors. The cottage is very traditional in appearance but lacks none of the modern conveniences that we all now take for granted. The area is excellent for walkers and cyclists and for anyone on a cycling holiday the cottage has an adjoining garage for bike storage. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at this cottage and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for very high standard self catering accommodation in the county of Rutland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Thanks for looking after the cottage so well and for your excellent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed Autumn Cottage and the Rutland & Stamford area. Hope to be able to welcome you back to one of thatched cottages again before too long. Kind regards, Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo V
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Quintessential Cottage”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A gem of a cottage set in the heart of Rutland countryside. Every amenity was provided. The welcome pack was a warm welcome. The location is excellent for our stay visiting family. We would certainly stay at Autumn Cottage again and totally recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Many thanks for your very kind words & taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you both enjoyed tour stay and look forward to welcoming you back before too long.
Kind regards, Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing