We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$81
View deal
Agoda.com
US$81
US$63
View deal
SAVE US$18
Hotels.comUS$71
FindHotel
eDreamsUS$81
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
226
260
123
76
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
226
260
123
76
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building market place night porter coaching inn chicken curry rutland water large room centre of town one night stay full english short break lovely room breakfast was excellent courtyard character rear paul
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

We chose this hotel due to its central location and olde charm . It didn’t disappoint. Large car park ( though you can’t get into the hotel from the car park.. you have to walk along the street ) .. good WiFi.. excellent food .. friendly staff ...
We stayed in the cottesmo room... large room with huge bed, sofa and tv.
The radiator didn’t work but they provided us with a fan heater . There were no tea bags but they were offered with apologies at reception .. the bathroom was dirty .. the shower curtain was so dirty I thought it might get up and walk .. the sink taps were also dirty .. I expected more, especially because of the heightened cleanliness issues during covid 19.
Individually the waiters were very very friendly but I heard them arguing constantly during dinner , after dinner ( I heard them from my bedroom ) and again in the morning during breakfast .. very unprofessional.
Breakfast was tasty and well cooked but I would have enjoyed a pot of tea rather than just one cup , I would have enjoyed jam with my toast and I would have enjoyed condiments...
We paid £97 for the night but I didn’t feel it was worth it . Beautiful hotel with friendly staff and so so much potential.. we travel some where different every month .. some places are worth returning to, sadly we won’t be returning to the Brook whipper- in Hotel. We complained about some issues but felt embarrassed about the long list of concerns .. it just wasn’t upto scratch .. sorry .

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 528lyndab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise Ummat, Owner at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Dear 528lyndab

We appreciate your feedback today which I have already discussed with the GM and the on duty team. it is always disappointing for us to read that avoidable issues have had a negative impact on what would have been an otherwise enjoyable and memorable stay.
Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment and if you do change your mind in the future, please feel free to contact us so that we can ensure that you have a much more positive experience.
Kind regards
Denise Ummat
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020

Old style hotel in the centre of town - but even with a market right outside it was quiet enough. Fabulously large rooms with everything you'd need - Tv, coffee, even a trouser press (does anyone use those?). Plenty of hot water for a bath.. plenty of care over physical distancing and precautions over covid-19 and a comfy bed. Excellent food in the evening, although my first choices were off the menu - perhaps a penalty of these Covid times. And a decent tasty fresh breakfast in the morning. What really made my stay was the attitude of the staff. Friendly, accommodating, cheerful, welcoming. Can't go wrong.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheRevTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise Ummat, Owner at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Dear The RevTim

it was a great pleasure for all the team to welcome you to The Brook Whipper-In Hotel and we are delighted to read that you found your room ideal for your time with us. Thank you for your kind words which I will pass on to all the staff. Meanwhile , stay safe and well and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you visit the area.

Kind regards,
Denise Ummat,
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was quaint and old fashioned but nice and the bed was comfy. Great location in the centre of town. Now for the issues - the radiators in our room were stone cold and we reported it but nothing was done to rectify this except we were offered a small electric fan heater. The bathroom did not smell fresh and the shower gel was cheap and horrid. Breakfast was small but ok, although we were not offered toast and there is no juice included. Would not stay again. Saving grace was the comfy bed and nice staff.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DaveS2860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise Ummat, Owner at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Dear DaveS2860

Thank you for your comments and feedback today and, of course, once again we apologise for the problems with the central heating in your room. This is not usually the case and has since been rectified by the maintenance team and we areas sorry for the inconvenience and that the portable heater supplied was not sufficient.
With regard to the toiletries , these are supplied by Taylors of London which is quite well known within the industry however , many guests often prefer to bring their own and again we can only apologise that this brand was not appreciated.

The breakfast team should have offered you toast and juice and would have been more than happy to rectify this at the time had you spoken to any one of the team. I have passed your comments on to the GM and once again apologise for your disappointment.

Kind regards, Denise Ummat, Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2020 via mobile

6 of us arrived late for breakfast but early for lunch and were made very welcome and served a wonderful socially distanced breakfast by Lamin who was a delight, extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Elmswood-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise Ummat, Owner at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Dear Elmswood-Dave

Thank your for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent Brunch with us at The Brook Whipper-In. It was a great pleasure for Lamin and all the team to welcome you on this occasion and we hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Denise Ummat
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020

In a rather dismal town, with few independent restaurants, this was a good treat. The food was average, may have come from a can, whatever. the serving staff certainly didn't - exemplary and so welcoming. Would definitely go back, were I ever to go to Oakham again.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise Ummat, Owner at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Dear Michael J

Thank you for letting us know ho much you enjoyed dining with us whilst visiting Oakham and for your kind words regarding the service you received. We are sorry that you did not find Oakham itself very inspiring but we are obviously delighted that the Whipper-In was a welcome change. Chef does usually prepare his dishes from scratch and would love to cook for you again to impress you a little more should you choose to revisit us in the future.

Kind regards
Denise Ummat
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews