We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
92
53
25
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
53
25
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park the pub birthday meal would stay again triple cooked chips ciabatta food looked amazing romantic getaway saturday afternoon fabulous stay floors creak ensuite room closing time tea coffee facilities bar area whole evening ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We stayed at the horn blower for 1 night.
The place is located within easy reach of the main road and lovely atmosphere .
The service was great and staff very helpful and polite.
The evening meal was made to our choice and was of high standards,.
Extremely busy place as it was Friday evening but it was worth a wait for a wonderful meal which was cooked freshly with the seasonal vegetables .
Breakfast was served in traditional English breakfast with tea and coffee.
Will definitely visit the place again in near future.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank ranjanam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M, Front Office Manager at The Admiral Hornblower, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5* review it was very kind of you to take the time. I will pass our comments on to all members of the team they will be much appreciated.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely food, wonderful service! Highly recommended! It's a really good example of a proper old pub! Beautiful decoration I would say that it's a romantic place! Big open fireplaces, dog friendly, nice selection of wines, large garden and lovely homemade cakes!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank 961inesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M, Front Office Manager at The Admiral Hornblower, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments, they are much appreciated. I will pass your comments on to all members of the team and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Great room and surprisingly quiet de spite hotel being really busy. Friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast.Small hard to find carpark but there is plenty of other parking nearby.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dionlindskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M, Front Office Manager at The Admiral Hornblower, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review it was very kind of you to take the time and much appreciated by all members of the team. I will pass your comments on to the team.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Have used the Hornblower in the past, it was good. This weekend went there for a birthday meal with friends. Very wide joice of food, two of us had the plaise which was very good. Our more hungry friend had fish of the day in batter, talk about a large helping, huge, the lamb dish was enjoyed too.
Staff very friendly, warm and amusing. A smashing evening well enjoyed,will be back.
Very good service.

Room Tip: Can only comment on the food.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Thestoneards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M, Front Office Manager at The Admiral Hornblower, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for your 5* review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Admiral Hornblower. we appreciate the you taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. i will pass you comments on to the rest of the team, they will be much appreciated.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

While visiting the Rutland town of Oakham and the castle, I decided to have a meal here and was most impressed.
The welcoming was nice and the menu was good so I settled down to have a drink and a meal as well as relax after a long journey and a lot of looking around Oakham.
The meal was good and my meal and drink was at a relaxed pace with a comfortable environment overall. I could have stayed longer but had to move on.
A nice meal in a nice environment in a nice town with good friendly service.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank J2R2R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The M, Front Office Manager at The Admiral Hornblower, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for your 5* review and for your visit to The Admiral Hornblower. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us and Oakham We hope to see you again soon.

I will pass your comments on to the rest of the staff they will be much appreciated.

Kind regards

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews