We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”
Review of The White Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Lion
Ranked #21 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Had heard good reviews about this place through friends and family so decided to give it a go for my birthday meal.
Whilst the service was good we found the portions small and quite expensive. Not much of a pub grub choice for a Sunday either, but luckily we were a roast and burger type of crowd. What we had was nice but expected a lot more for the price. Would I recommend it? Would I go again? No...probably not.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 June 2017

Hi Andy
Thank you for your thoughts. Please call in to see me as I'm most surprised about your comments. In the meantime, let me know who you make your comments known too whist you were in the pub? Kind Rgds John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We chose the White Lion in Ross as a convenient mid-way meeting point for lunch and to enjoy its river views. The couple running the White Lion were charming and took good care of us (and our friends' little toddler!)

The menu is reasonably priced pub-type food, with a wide range of choices, which we enjoyed from our table at the window overlooking the Wye. It must be fantastic in the summer out in the garden!

We could have stayed a lot longer to linger over coffee, but sadly we all had other places to get to in the afternoon. Next time...

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RuffledParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We (myself, my wife, my seven year old son and three year old daughter) were traveling back from Hereford on a Sunday afternoon when we stopped off at the White Lion. From the very moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome.. we were seated quickly and waited on like kings and queens. The children were given Christmas selection boxes for free which was a very nice touch. The beer I had was Butty - well kept indeed. The food was your traditional pub fayre... I can not rate this place enough, the food was really good and the service was first class.... thanks guys

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tomxxy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Found this small pub on the banks of the river Wye and while in need of a bit of tender care and refurb their pub lunches were both excellent value and quality. The fish pie and Lansagne were our choice and were really good.
Service was very friendly,South African's running the place which probably explains the good food!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

My mum, daughter and myself visited the pub yesterday for a lovely evening meal. Very helpful and friendly staff in a lovely old traditional pub. The food was lovely and plenty of and not over priced and glad I found this place via TripAdvisor

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank HazelD150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,158 reviews
0.9 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
0.7 km away
The White House Guest House
The White House Guest House
#16 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#5 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
227 reviews
7.1 km away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
4.8 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion

Address: Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The White Lion Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing