We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
110
43
22
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
43
22
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub canoe trip camping area the river facilities provided hearty meal beer garden served by friendly staff sunny day steak recommend staying here sunday lunch lovely atmosphere wilton castle bank holiday stunning location well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We chose the White Lion in Ross as a convenient mid-way meeting point for lunch and to enjoy its river views. The couple running the White Lion were charming and took good care of us (and our friends' little toddler!)

The menu is reasonably priced pub-type food, with a wide range of choices, which we enjoyed from our table at the window overlooking the Wye. It must be fantastic in the summer out in the garden!

We could have stayed a lot longer to linger over coffee, but sadly we all had other places to get to in the afternoon. Next time...

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RuffledParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We (myself, my wife, my seven year old son and three year old daughter) were traveling back from Hereford on a Sunday afternoon when we stopped off at the White Lion. From the very moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome.. we were seated quickly and waited on like kings and queens. The children were given Christmas selection boxes for free which was a very nice touch. The beer I had was Butty - well kept indeed. The food was your traditional pub fayre... I can not rate this place enough, the food was really good and the service was first class.... thanks guys

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tomxxy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Found this small pub on the banks of the river Wye and while in need of a bit of tender care and refurb their pub lunches were both excellent value and quality. The fish pie and Lansagne were our choice and were really good.
Service was very friendly,South African's running the place which probably explains the good food!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

My mum, daughter and myself visited the pub yesterday for a lovely evening meal. Very helpful and friendly staff in a lovely old traditional pub. The food was lovely and plenty of and not over priced and glad I found this place via TripAdvisor

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank HazelD150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Met some friends here for a meal.....think it was in the middle of changing hands so new landlord I suspect. Food was good, good portions, too much salad though. Not many people in this usual buzzing pub but the service was good and it wasn't too expensive, the beer is excellent. The only think I would say is get some cushions for those terribly hard dining chairs, when you eat out you need to be comfortable.

Room Tip: We didn't stay we only had a meal so can't comment on your questions.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews