We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
112
43
22
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
43
22
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub the river canoe trip camping area beer garden hearty meal served by friendly staff would highly recommend a visit fantastic setting sunny day steak the sticky toffee pudding sunday lunch wilton castle bank holiday well worth a visit lovely place
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We (myself, my wife, my seven year old son and three year old daughter) were traveling back from Hereford on a Sunday afternoon when we stopped off at the White Lion. From the very moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome.. we were seated quickly and waited on like kings and queens. The children were given Christmas selection boxes for free which was a very nice touch. The beer I had was Butty - well kept indeed. The food was your traditional pub fayre... I can not rate this place enough, the food was really good and the service was first class.... thanks guys

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tomxxy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Found this small pub on the banks of the river Wye and while in need of a bit of tender care and refurb their pub lunches were both excellent value and quality. The fish pie and Lansagne were our choice and were really good.
Service was very friendly,South African's running the place which probably explains the good food!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

My mum, daughter and myself visited the pub yesterday for a lovely evening meal. Very helpful and friendly staff in a lovely old traditional pub. The food was lovely and plenty of and not over priced and glad I found this place via TripAdvisor

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HazelD150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Met some friends here for a meal.....think it was in the middle of changing hands so new landlord I suspect. Food was good, good portions, too much salad though. Not many people in this usual buzzing pub but the service was good and it wasn't too expensive, the beer is excellent. The only think I would say is get some cushions for those terribly hard dining chairs, when you eat out you need to be comfortable.

Room tip: We didn't stay we only had a meal so can't comment on your questions.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We have been to this pub for lunch a few times now. It is in a wonderful position right on the River Wye and we were blessed with a lovely day. The service was very efficient and very friendly. The food was very good and copious. My husband had the some cooked ham egg and chips but couldn't finish it. The ham and eggs were excellent but too many chips. I had a lovely baked potato which I enjoyed.

My only reservation about this facility is that the wooden chairs indoors are very hard and get uncomfortable pretty quickly.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews