We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
106
43
22
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
43
22
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcanoe tripcamping areathe riverfacilities providedbeer gardenserved by friendly staffsteaksunday lunchrecommend staying herelovely atmospherewilton castlesunny dayan evening mealbank holidaystunning locationwell worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We (myself, my wife, my seven year old son and three year old daughter) were traveling back from Hereford on a Sunday afternoon when we stopped off at the White Lion. From the very moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome.. we were seated quickly and waited on like kings and queens. The children were given Christmas selection boxes for free which was a very nice touch. The beer I had was Butty - well kept indeed. The food was your traditional pub fayre... I can not rate this place enough, the food was really good and the service was first class.... thanks guys

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tomxxy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Found this small pub on the banks of the river Wye and while in need of a bit of tender care and refurb their pub lunches were both excellent value and quality. The fish pie and Lansagne were our choice and were really good.
Service was very friendly,South African's running the place which probably explains the good food!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

My mum, daughter and myself visited the pub yesterday for a lovely evening meal. Very helpful and friendly staff in a lovely old traditional pub. The food was lovely and plenty of and not over priced and glad I found this place via TripAdvisor

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank HazelD150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Met some friends here for a meal.....think it was in the middle of changing hands so new landlord I suspect. Food was good, good portions, too much salad though. Not many people in this usual buzzing pub but the service was good and it wasn't too expensive, the beer is excellent. The only think I would say is get some cushions for those terribly hard dining chairs, when you eat out you need to be comfortable.

Room Tip: We didn't stay we only had a meal so can't comment on your questions.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We have been to this pub for lunch a few times now. It is in a wonderful position right on the River Wye and we were blessed with a lovely day. The service was very efficient and very friendly. The food was very good and copious. My husband had the some cooked ham egg and chips but couldn't finish it. The ham and eggs were excellent but too many chips. I had a lovely baked potato which I enjoyed.

My only reservation about this facility is that the wooden chairs indoors are very hard and get uncomfortable pretty quickly.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews