We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riverside pub - fantastic welcome”
Review of The White Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Lion
Ranked #20 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We chose the White Lion in Ross as a convenient mid-way meeting point for lunch and to enjoy its river views. The couple running the White Lion were charming and took good care of us (and our friends' little toddler!)

The menu is reasonably priced pub-type food, with a wide range of choices, which we enjoyed from our table at the window overlooking the Wye. It must be fantastic in the summer out in the garden!

We could have stayed a lot longer to linger over coffee, but sadly we all had other places to get to in the afternoon. Next time...

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RuffledParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We (myself, my wife, my seven year old son and three year old daughter) were traveling back from Hereford on a Sunday afternoon when we stopped off at the White Lion. From the very moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome.. we were seated quickly and waited on like kings and queens. The children were given Christmas selection boxes for free which was a very nice touch. The beer I had was Butty - well kept indeed. The food was your traditional pub fayre... I can not rate this place enough, the food was really good and the service was first class.... thanks guys

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tomxxy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Found this small pub on the banks of the river Wye and while in need of a bit of tender care and refurb their pub lunches were both excellent value and quality. The fish pie and Lansagne were our choice and were really good.
Service was very friendly,South African's running the place which probably explains the good food!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

My mum, daughter and myself visited the pub yesterday for a lovely evening meal. Very helpful and friendly staff in a lovely old traditional pub. The food was lovely and plenty of and not over priced and glad I found this place via TripAdvisor

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank HazelD150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Met some friends here for a meal.....think it was in the middle of changing hands so new landlord I suspect. Food was good, good portions, too much salad though. Not many people in this usual buzzing pub but the service was good and it wasn't too expensive, the beer is excellent. The only think I would say is get some cushions for those terribly hard dining chairs, when you eat out you need to be comfortable.

Room Tip: We didn't stay we only had a meal so can't comment on your questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.9 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
431 reviews
7.1 km away
Thatch Close Farm
Thatch Close Farm
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
33 reviews
4.8 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
528 reviews
7.7 km away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
3.9 km away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion

Address: Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The White Lion Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing