We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queen's Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night lovely twin room very spacious fantastic modern bathroom. Staff were excellent would definitely stay here again. They had an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe which was good and you get a bottle of still and sparkling water. There are loads of plug sockets, there are 2 either side of the bed and several by the mirrors which is great for drying your hair.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager j, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Tavistock and hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Absolutly love Tavistock and was so pleased when I heard Wetherspoons were opening an Hotel in here. Not that I expected to be but wasn't disappointed at all. As always Wetherspoons have done an excellent job, room was very pleasant and very clean. Love seeing the local artwork around. There was a little noise from the pub though thats to be expected, I can't believe people complain about this, it's an hotel above s pub, it's going to happen, get some ear plugs, there's a chemist next door. It's not often I score excellent though I have to here. Well done Wethetspoons, looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank TIMBROWN031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager j, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you from the team at the Queens Head for your lovely review. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Having read the reviews prior, I went straight to the side entrance to check in and although it was half term, the lady at the desk managed to change my room for a bigger one, which was much appreciated. The location was great for the town centre (although having grown up here, I hadn't desired to go into town). Overall I had a nice time, the room was nice (it was warm also which is something I find rare in hotels) and I was able to bring food and drinks up away from the noise. The only issue was with the food in the restaurant itself and that got sorted there and then.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager j, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you Sharon for your feedback this will be fed back to the team. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and hope you may visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Just returned from 2 night stay at this hotel which is very reasonably priced. Rooms are modern, comfortable and very clean. On our second night the fire in the lounge area had gone out when we returned from a day trip. However, we had a word with the manager and he agreed to have it re-lit for us! Special mention must go to Sheila who never stops and is a great fire monitor! Will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager j, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you Philip for taking the time to post your review. We hope your experience was up to your expectations and we will pass on your comments to Sheila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

very clean,super comfortable bed,no noise in the night,from the bar or traffic.no car park but after 5.pm parked outside pub until 10a.m following morning for free,though I don't know how easy this would be in the summer.pub relaxed and civilised to have a drink in[no spoonatics]

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank apd1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager j, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and had an undisturbed night. The team hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.4 km away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
230 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
530 reviews
0.4 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
307 reviews
4 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
678 reviews
27.3 km away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Head Hotel

Address: 79-80 West Street, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range: €42 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen’s Head Hotel is a former 17th-century coaching inn which has been lovingly restored into a hotel. J D Wetherspoon is proud to open the doors to the new adapted hotel which offers 12 unique en suite rooms. All our rooms boast Freeview flat-screen televisions, unlimited free Wi-Fi and digital temperature control. A warm and inviting pub forms part of the hotel, making The Queen’s Head Hotel a perfect stay for families, leisure or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen's Head Hotel Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing