We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local pub with good food”

The Royal Inn Pub Horsebridge
Ranked #1 of 3 Nightlife in Tavistock
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This may not be the most glamorous pub but it has a very jolly atmosphere and it serves decent pub grub. We ate here twice. The spare ribs were great and plentiful, the beef strogonoff very nice. The scallop starters were amazing. It has a selection of specials and it tries to use fresh local ingredients such as venison and fish. Its regular pub menu is full of classics such as scampi and chips.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Pipsmum999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"venison"
in 3 reviews
"off the beaten track"
in 3 reviews
"grumpy landlord"
in 2 reviews
"lasagna"
in 2 reviews
"warm welcome"
in 2 reviews
"menu"
in 4 reviews
"hamlet"
in 2 reviews
"tamar"
in 4 reviews
"choice"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch on a Saturday, great menu, really good quality home cooked food and friendly locals and staff. The landlord was really chatty and friendly and it’s in a beautiful setting- would highly recommend eating here!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Bristolfoodie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

A very unexpected surprise at this tiny village/hamlet pub. Ordered pan fried scallops with vegetables. Plentiful and huge scallops the best I've ever tasted! Served with fresh (as if just pulled out of the garden) French beans and samphire. Mouth is watering just thinking about it! Served on crushed baby potatoes. Beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. Brilliant service, will definitely go back soon. Well done!!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank scuberdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

As we were staying in an adjacent holiday cottage (The Old Forge, Horsebridge - also reviewed on here) for a week, it was only natural that we should try out the local pub on our first night. What a delight it was! Super friendly staff (all family I believe), good choice of drinks and a varied menu (not too much choice that you cant make up your mind, but certainly enough to cater for any palate) of essentially "pub-grub". I would certainly say this is a cut-above the normal pub-grub though - superb meal. In fact, we enjoyed it that much, we ate there 5 nights out of 7 (with a pudding only on a 6th night!) and every single meal was a delight. Excellent value for such good food. A real treat! Word of warning though - it does get busy most nights (I can see why!!), so probably worth booking a table in advance, though you can eat in the both sides of the pub and there are benches outside too. We will return!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017

After a pretty walk along the Tamar valley we stopped at the Royal Inn for lunch; what a pretty setting, the old horsebridge itself is worth the visit. The pub is great, traditional and friendly; Paul the landlord made time to come out and chat with us. Our meals were excellent; tasty and good value. I can highly recommend the venison burger which Paul informed us is made on site from local venison.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank LadyG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Inn Pub Horsebridge also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Gulworthy, Tavistock
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Royal Inn Pub Horsebridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing