We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional old fashioned hotel”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stayed for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. The staff are lovely and can't do enough for you. We paid to upgrade the bedroom and it was comfortable, but the bathroom needed serious updating. It would have been nice to have actual glasses for our complimentary water, not plastic cups. Dinner was excellent and breakfast was also very good, but I do think this hotel is rather overpriced.

Room Tip: Can't really comment, but our room was overlooking the car park, so away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Stayed here with my elderly mum for a weekend break and couldn't of been more pleased with everything. The lift from the car park to reception was great as she struggles a little with steps and we had a ground floor room with walk in shower which was also a bonus.
So glad we found this hotel. Lovely central location, relaxed atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff and amazing food. Fantastic value, especially if you book the Dartmoor Leisure break and stay 2 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank d0c64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbedfordhotel, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

I am delighted you enjoyed your weekend break with your Mum on our "' Two night Dartmoor Leisure break'. This offer includes Dinner, bed and breakfast for two nights and indeed is excellent value with lots of choice on the dinner menu so you definitely won't be short of courses!

I am pleased that the ground floor rooms and lift to the ground floor was suitable your needs.

I look forward to seeing you again.

Warm wishes,

Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Very friendly staff, a little disappointed with the breakfast quite slow with the service perticulary the second morning, quite busy couldn't keep up with orders, got ours wrong. On the whole a very clean and comfortable hotel.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Greenway92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We called in for coffee and were at first pleasantly surprised - it seemed a nice hotel. We ordered and paid, then sat waiting for our coffee. After 20 minutes, there was still no coffee but I noticed that two groups who'd ordered after us had already received their coffee. After being blanked by the server, I eventually got her attention and asked if we'd been forgotten? She said the till had gone down and so the coffee was now being made in the kitchens. What the till going down had to do with the two coffee machines behind the bar not working was anyone's guess. So I said these two groups had already received their coffee and had ordered after us. She shrugged and said 'It all depends on what order the tabs are taken in.' What they were now doing was hand writing the orders and putting them on the end of the bar, from where another waitress would collect them and take them to the kitchen. This was obviously a ludicrously haphazard process. She just shrugged again and said ours would be next - they weren't so we walked out. I have no problem with the tills (or indeed the bar coffee machines) not working but a hotel of this size should have in place a system which still provides order fulfilment in the order the orders are taken. At the very least, the servers should be more helpful and apologetic - not shrug us off as if we're making a fuss about nothing. Won't be revisitng.

Room Tip: Didn't stay so can't help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tashasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Went to tavistock for Goose fair, and called in to the Bedford Hotel for Coffee and a Bacon roll. Good Value for money at £5 per person, and the bacon was really tasty. We have visited this hotel in the past for a cream tea, and the seating area is really relaxed and comfortable. Look forward to visiting again some time.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
4.1 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
678 reviews
0.5 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
351 reviews
26.9 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
230 reviews
12.7 km away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,106 reviews
11.9 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range: €134 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing