We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your usual B&B!”
Review of Rockmount

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rockmount
Ranked #3 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We haven't stayed in a B&B in years, but liked the look of this place so booked in for a two night stay. The room is gorgeous. Hard to remember we were not in a hotel. Great shower, big TV and the little fridge proved really handy. Self serve continental breakfast suited us, but may not work for everyone if they are used to a full English. Tony was really friendly and helpful, carrying our bags to the room on arrival. Parking on site useful too. We were central for everything in Tavistock and would stay there again happily if we are in the area. B&Bs have definitely moved on and that suits us!

Room Tip: We stayed in a king superior ensuing and recommended it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moggy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend booked to visit Devon for our anniversary and we feel so lucky we chose the Rockmount to stay at. The owner is very friendly and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable and give us tips for our weekend. The B&B's decor is beautiful and our room was spotless. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beckyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

A really lovely place to stay, with lovely rooms, exceptional bathroom and the grounds are beautiful. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and they made us feel very welcome. I would highly recommend and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Tavistock is a beautiful place to visit , shops are very nice, plenty of things to enjoy and do, some good places to eat and visit, dartmoor nearby with some lovely walks and scenery, short break would of been great if we had stayed at a professional establishment ... I guarantee to return to Tavistock but never to the rockmount !

Stayed: September 2016
3  Thank stevebatch54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

if the owner could have some lessons in manners it would be a better place to stay.
Very full of himself would not stay again, Tavistock is a lovely town and there are a lot of other places to stay thank goodness

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockmount, Owner at Rockmount, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Having never met me, never stayed here and never had any interaction with me, I'm amazed you manage to point out all of my qualities. I can forgive you for venting on a public platform because it's likely you know no better but I'm struggling to understand why TripAdvisor deems any review valid simply because someone has an opinion. We all have them but don't you have to have some basic interaction or experience before the review? It really is quite sad that people feel the need to vent in such a way, fortunately for me, having been a hotelier for my entire adult life, i'm accustomed to this type of unreasonable whining and the brighter folk out there can manage to weed out the reviewers that take themselves perhaps a little too seriously. After being notified of your review, I decided to have a read of your other reviews. I think you should make an appointment with someone, sooner rather than later to help you see the brighter side of life.

Best of luck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.5 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
351 reviews
0.5 km away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
230 reviews
4.1 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
530 reviews
0.1 km away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
176 reviews
0.6 km away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Tavistock
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount

Address: Rockmount Drake Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range: €101 - €113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockmount 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation in the heart of Tavistock. Pocket sprung mattresses and high quality linens in tastefully decorated en-suite rooms overlooking the town. Great, locally sourced breakfast meats and an extensive breakfast menu. Very well located for country walks or business trips. Tavistock also has many great restaurants to choose from. Rockmount offers accommodation just yards from the historic town centre. All of our bedrooms have their own en-suite bathrooms fitted with great showers and some with the addition of a bath. We have king-size beds as a minimum, with AppleTv, iPads, digital TV, WiFi, Nespresso machines and a desk in each of our rooms, we're sure you'll find it a great place to stay for work or pleasure. We also have free off road parking and porter service. Please note that some of our rooms are small but perfectly formed and great for a short stay. Our Apartment and Super king are much more generous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Rockmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockmount Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing