We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice of lunch”

The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A contemporary restaurant in the centre of Tavistock idyllically situated next to the river. The restaurant is light and modern inside and has outside seating on the riverside terrace. Open all day, everyday serving the full menu all day.
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Sat outside by the river in the sun at the end of October ! Nice choice on the menu lasagne was lovely staff friendly and checked back which was good.
Just a shame that they allow smoking on the outside decking - this really should be stopped. Would have given 4-5 if we hadn’t had to put up with smoking.
Come on it’s the 21st century people
Do not want to eat good food along with a face full of second hand smoke.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank CORNISHGIRLXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear CORNISHGIRLXX,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your lasagna and found our staff to be friendly.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with our smoking policy on our outside terrace. We do keep our outside smoking policy under review and have recently banned smoking on the tables closest to the door. However, we are mindful that we also have customers who visit us because they can smoke outside and we are keen that they should feel welcome at Eastgate too. We try hard to ensure we balance the needs of all our customers.

Thank you once again for your review
Eastgate Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018

This attractive little cafe offers seating inside, or alternatively you can enjoy a table in the sunny outside courtyard overlooking the river. We opted to enjoy brunch on an inside table as it was a fairly cold November morning but by the time we left (around midday) the courtyard was buzzing with patrons.
Delightful staff, particularly the girls who were always smiling and seemed to really enjoy their work - we felt genuinely welcomed. Brunch was delicious and there is a wide variety of options for all palates, including vegetarians. I was glad that we had booked a table for 4, as it was very busy, both inside and out, on a Friday morning.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank car0line2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your Brunch with us and acknowledge our friendly team in your review. They are always very grateful for your positive comments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We visited this cafe twice whilst we were staying in Tavistock. The first time we sat outside with the dogs and Isobella (I think her name was) was very accommodating. It started raining so she put all the umbrellas up around us. My tea went cold so she fetched me a new pot of tea. She gave the dogs some attention and gave them each a treat (despite one of the dogs barking at her). All with a friendly smile. We visited again without the dogs, and sat inside. She remembered us from a few days before and quickly got us seated. The food was lovely, very reasonably priced and the service was fab each time. Thanks again!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen854, Owner at The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review Natasha G. We were so pleased to read that you had enjoyed both your visits to Eastgate and thank you for highlighting the excellent service you received from Isobella. We will pass your comments onto her also. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your positive review and it really does make a big difference to our small family restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

called in here late afternoon and were amazed that they were still serving hot food my partner and i had the grilled plaice with cheese and pesto topping and the quality what what you would expect from a 5 star restaurant .it was a jewel of a find down a side street we ever go that way again we will be heading straight for it

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen854, Owner at The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review Samantha C. We are really pleased to read that you and your partner enjoyed our daily fish special and that you found it to be high quality. Your recommendation makes a real difference to our business so thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

This cafe is usually very good and i was very disappointed today to get a poor meal and slack service. It wasn't just my meal either but my partners was sub standard as well.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steve1gunnislake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen854, Owner at The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Steve1gunnislake,

We were very disappointed and sorry to read that you had a poor experience with us recently. Hopefully you will understand, having been before, that we try to ensure every customer leaves us happy and would look to rectify any problems that may arise. I have had made some initial inquiries based on your review but I would be very grateful if you could let me know personally in more detail why you were unhappy with your meal and service so that we can look into this further. Our email address is info@eastgatetavistock.co.uk.
Once again we are very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards
Eastgate Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The East Gate Cafe & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing