We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hand & Spear Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Oatlands Park Hotel(Weybridge)
US$126
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brooklands Hotel(Weybridge)
US$180
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Anchor Hotel(Shepperton)(Great Value!)
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Walton-On-Thames(Walton-On-Thames)
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Chertsey)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
63
14
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
14
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary portrocky roadsky tvcopper bathlittle touchesthe pubnespresso coffee machinefabulous roomdozen roomsdaughter's wedding receptionbig tvlots of nice touchesmodern facilitiestrain stationexcellent showerbeer gardenlovely break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous room, very quant and old fashioned. Absolutely fabulous first impressions which has the wow factor. Had a ploughmans lunch which was more then enough to share. The staff were very attentive so all in all would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank pinckney52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Front Office Manager at Hand & Spear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Devine,

Many thanks for your amazing review and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our second stay so we were in a different room which was equally as good huge bath lovely quirky furnishings. Evening meal fabulous breakfast top notch, lovely staff a great stop would recommend

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Front Office Manager at Hand & Spear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Darren,

Many thanks for your amazing review glad you had a lovely stay and dinner with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed on a Friday night and had been upgraded to an amazing room with freestanding copper bath. Lots of individual touches including the eat me / drink me complimentary port and rocky road. Met friends for dinner in the restaurant. Food and wine list very good with excellent service. The bar area was very popular and noisy but restaurant noise level was fine. Breakfast the next morning was also delicious. Would highly recommend and look forward to staying again soon.

Room Tip: Car park fills up quickly but the public car park across the road is only £6 for 24 hours.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank k8bt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Front Office Manager at Hand & Spear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your amazing review of our hotel and restaurant and glad you liked the upgrade to our fabulous room 12 with the copper bath.

We hope to see you back very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Good looking bar but average everything else. Food wise average we had burgers breakfast and nothing was special enough. There was no table service and severe lack of stock variety behind the bar. It took changing my drink choice three times before they had what I required in stock. Not really good enough.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Trishap6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Front Office Manager at Hand & Spear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to send your concerns with regards to your visit at the Hand and Spear. I can assure you comments such as yours are taken very seriously and are fully investigated.

We will be reviewing your comments over the following days.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Really liked this small boutique hotel
It’s a bit quirky in some ways - some really nice touches and only a couple of negatives.
Stayed on a Friday night and the bar was heaving - near the Station so great location and obviously will be busy.
Car park was full - perhaps should prioritise for residents - but is a pay car park next door £3 from 6-10pm and then need to pay again at 8am...by which time hotel car park was empty - hence suggestion re saving places for residents.

A colleague stayed the night before and did say the bedroom was v noisy as a tribute band playing

Room v comfortable - nice touch like port on arrival and big TV with sky.
Tastefully decorated and appointed

Enjoyed evening meal and wine - would recommend for food.
Breakfast cooked to order and really nicely presented.

Bar and waiting staff v helpful and friendly.

I thought the security was overly officious at getting us to leave the dining room at midnight
There isn’t a residents lounge so when asked for somewhere to have a last drink it it was suggested we went to a club or used mini bar in room - not very hotel and more B and B
Think they should think this through as to how to create residents area.

Not complaining - just a suggestion - and would happily stay again

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Front Office Manager at Hand & Spear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Ian,

Many thanks for your positive comments on the hotel and restaurant and we hope to welcome you back very soon. We will review your comments regarding a residents area and see if this is something we can accomodate in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews