We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
72
21
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
21
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary portrocky roadsky tvcopper bathnespresso coffee machinelittle touchesthe pubfabulous roomshort walk to the train stationbig tvdaughter's wedding receptionwonderful hotelcomfy bedcooked breakfastexcellent showerbeer gardencar park
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Really liked this small boutique hotel
It’s a bit quirky in some ways - some really nice touches and only a couple of negatives.
Stayed on a Friday night and the bar was heaving - near the Station so great location and obviously will be busy.
Car park was full - perhaps should prioritise for residents - but is a pay car park next door £3 from 6-10pm and then need to pay again at 8am...by which time hotel car park was empty - hence suggestion re saving places for residents.

A colleague stayed the night before and did say the bedroom was v noisy as a tribute band playing

Room v comfortable - nice touch like port on arrival and big TV with sky.
Tastefully decorated and appointed

Enjoyed evening meal and wine - would recommend for food.
Breakfast cooked to order and really nicely presented.

Bar and waiting staff v helpful and friendly.

I thought the security was overly officious at getting us to leave the dining room at midnight
There isn’t a residents lounge so when asked for somewhere to have a last drink it it was suggested we went to a club or used mini bar in room - not very hotel and more B and B
Think they should think this through as to how to create residents area.

Not complaining - just a suggestion - and would happily stay again

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Front Office Manager at Hand & Spear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Ian,

Many thanks for your positive comments on the hotel and restaurant and we hope to welcome you back very soon. We will review your comments regarding a residents area and see if this is something we can accomodate in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Room was nice enough, Pub and restaurant look nice enough but.......................

At 18:00 they turned on the music in the bar & restaurant so all I heard was boom boom boom !
Ventured to the restaurant but the dinner was not cooked so sent it back, second attempt still not hot enough so ended up leaving it.
Back in the bedroom accepting the boom, boom, boom would happen but then it changed to 'Quiz Night' interspersed with boom boom boom.
So I have a deep bass quiz master voice for 2 hours along with boom boom boom.
Just what you need after a day of work /travel/work......

To be honest the music when I was int the restaurnt was pleasant enough but why is there not consdieration of the bass resonance that transmits through the floor boards to the bedrooms.

Previous experience of Youngs establishments has been OK but this has made me think about the next time.

Oh and fnally the wi-fi is garbage.
Using the 4G connection on my iPhone tethered to my laptop to write this.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teamdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Front Office Manager at Hand & Spear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to send your concerns with regards to your visit at the Hand and Spear. I can assure you comments such as yours are taken very seriously and are fully investigated.

Tuesday evening is our very popular quiz evening which we have been running for the last 10 years and unfortunately 2 of our rooms are directly above where the quiz master hosts the quiz which is why you may of been able to hear the bass from the speakers. We will be addressing this issue in our next managers meeting along with the music volume's to see if improvements can be made. We will also be reviewing with the kitchen team regarding your meal and why we feel short in this area.

If you could please email Dale our General Manager at man.handandspear@youngs.co.uk to discuss in more detail.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

A very well furnished hotel. An abundance of character and thought put in to the design of the rooms.

Feel the service let’s down the charm of this hotel. That’s not to say it is bad, it’s just border line good standard and it just doesn’t match. Examples of this are small things like, there was only one towel in the room (this was resolved when requested), we sat down for dinner having made a reservation, were acknowledged as a hotel guest and then forgotten about. We had to ask someone to order, 25 minutes after sitting down. After that not really any issues, got the impression they could have had another member of staff in the restaurant area. Maybe they were short staffed. The same was for breakfast. Maybe everyone came down for breakfast at the same time?

Nonetheless I would recommend this hotel, little touches like a small bottle of port and cake in the room free of charge. This stuff is thoughtful. Would suggest getting your staff to put in as much love and care in their approach as you have done with the physical elements you’ve thought about.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Voyager524942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Front Office Manager at Hand & Spear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi,

Many thanks for your lovely comments on our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay very soon.

Your comments on service will be feedback to our General manager and restaurant team for discussion.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

It was amazing entering our room no 12. It was a lovely unusual set up, with a roll top copper bath, and many beautiful things all over the room, including colourfull cushions, things of interest on the walls. It was furnished playfully with many colours all around. The complimentary port & home made brownies were lovely. There was pretty much everything you might want for in the room, including good quality coffee maker, bluetooth player, mini fridge. The bedding and mattress were fresh and new. It is amazing that someone has really put love and thought into furnishing these rooms. And apparently every room is different, but just as special. The restaurant and bar were just as interestingly furnished and very popular. The breakfast was very good with a lot of fancy and traditional choice. The evening meal was also very good with lovely presentation. I would definitely like to spend a few days there to be able to enjoy and savour it all.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maskohel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Front Office Manager at Hand & Spear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi,

Many thanks for your lovely comments on our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We found this hotel to be a bit of a mixed bag. I think some of the problems were bad luck on our part and others were a bit of bad management. On arrival, we were checked in by a friendly (if a little vague) member of staff on reception and were shown to a lovely room (12). It's the one featured on this page and had a lovely separate bath area with a deep, copper bath, small en-suite shower room and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. It was a little on the snug side as various items had to be moved to close the curtains, but complimentary Port and Brownies were a nice touch. Decor is great and has a nice Edwardian ambience. However, things started to go 'the way of the pear' afterwards. Firstly, the heated towel-rail , the only source of heat for the bath area didn't work making the bath unusable as it was so cold. Then, the pop-up plug in the en-suite got stuck. We alerted reception who were very helpful. The towel rail never worked and, although the pop-up was fixed, water leaked onto the floor from then on. We were going out in Cobham and cabs are easily available a short walk over the road next to the station. Prior to getting a cab, we had a beer in the bar which was beautifully decorated but a bit nippy. Several tables were also stacked with dirty plates and glasses. First pint was great – then the barrel went off...
On our return at about 9.30 the bar was deserted which was a shame as we fancied a nightcap. Anyway, after a reasonable night's sleep, we got up to find that the kettle tripped all the lights and electrics in our room! So we went down to breakfast very early. Sadly, the breakfast chef was on holiday, but management did a great job of cooking a decent breakfast. Coffee was cold, but was instantly replaced by a very friendly and efficient member of staff. I don't feel that there's anything fundamentally wrong with the hotel and all staff were very amiable. It's not really bad at all, but our niggles left us feeling a bit deflated. Ideally it's three and a half stars, but I made it up to four as it's very good value.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank ChesterLeStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Guest Relations Manager at Hand & Spear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear ChesterLeeStreet,

Firstly i would like to thank you for leaving such a detailed review, we take all reviews seriously and respond to them all good and not so good. I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel team for the issues you experienced during your stay. I can assure you these issues are not the norm here at the Hand and Spear. I would like to let you know that all issues with regards to the room were rectified the very next day as a matter of urgency, however i am glad we ere able to assist you on the night in question. On the night of your stay we did in fact have a large group join us unplanned for dinner and drinks which did cause a slight delay in service, however the issue regarding the plates and glasses has been discussed in our team meeting this afternoon and job roles will be adapted to suit the needs of the daily business.
With regards to the breakfast chef being on holiday, this is very confusing as our breakfast chef has not taken or due to take any holiday in the near future. I will be contacting you directly to discuss this directly so that i can get to the bottom of this comment and further discuss your stay. Once again, thank you for leaving your review and also for the positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews