We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Hotel(Worthing)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$112
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bex Rooms(Worthing)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
US$126
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Glenhill Guest House(Worthing)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Enclave(Worthing)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
High Beach Guest House(Worthing)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
206
144
60
20
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
144
60
20
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnooty foxterrace restaurantquiet villagefour poster bedsuperior roomevening buffetfamily funeralsunday lunchlovely hotelwalk in showersouth downslovely gardenlovely roomwedding breakfastwedding receptioncooked breakfastexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Located in a very nice village with easy reach of local tourist attractions. During 4 day visit it was not possible to have lunch as there were numerous funeral parties taking over the place. Hotel is close to local cemetery.Saving grace was one of the local pubs. Room was adequate but with the en suite shower was impossible to get a constant temperature. Room temperature was controlled at some point in the hotel and when room heating was needed, someone decided not switch on the heating system. Major benefit for this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I booked 3 rooms in this hotel in January for 21st September as my son got married 2 days ago at the Cissbury Barns (Great Venue by the way)

We required 2 family rooms for our two daughters and families and 1 for ourselves. I asked on telephone booking if we could have at least one room at midday as we would need to change for the wedding and I was assured this could be arranged.

We arrived at the hotel slightly after midday and spoke to the gentleman who was in the small office behind the reception desk ,possibly the manager or owner of the hotel. I informed him of our arrival and he bluntly said well you can't book in now.
I told him of the arrangement made at the time of booking.

He told me that he was too busy, they had a wedding the next day, accused me of shouting at him but eventually begrudgingly went to check if there was a room available. All we had done was inform him of what we'd been told at the time of booking not making ridiculous requests.
His attitude was appalling and totally unnecessary! He could have politely said that the message had not be written down and he would see what he could do but he just seemed to think it was our fault and was just really, really unpleasant. Within about 5 minutes he came back and said a room was ready which puzzled us more as there was obviously absolutely no need for his negativity and attitude.
Just before he returned a lady asked if we needed any help,I was explaining the situation to her as he entered the room he told me to stop going on about it!! I tried to explain that I was only informing the member of staff who'd asked but he wasn't going listen.
Just after our arrival another of the guests of our wedding party arrived and he asked if he could leave his belongings at reception and have them transferred to his room when it was available was received in exactly the same manner and after quite a bit of dialogue begrudgingly agreed.

So we went to the room and all ten of went to change with the assurance of the rooms being available on our return later after the wedding. The room had a double bed and a put-me-up bed and no room for a 2nd put-me up.

On our return after the wedding we found that the two 'family rooms' were not family rooms at all. They were the room we'd got ready in,which now had a single mattress squeezed in between the end of the double bed and the bathroom door leaving no other standing space. The other 'family room' had a massive super king bed and two single mattresses on the floor with barely standing room left. Why take bookings for families if you don't have family rooms.

At breakfast the following day the same gentleman blanked us at breakfast and on our departure he again seemed very irritated at us being there.

I'm sure if you book your wedding there and and were guests this gentleman's attitude would be completely different, but we were still paying guests and should be treated as such
We have stayed in a pub and a travel lodge this week traveling to the wedding and we found the hospitality first rate .
This gentleman attitude upset us and also the booking being taken for family rooms when they obviously don't have suitable rooms really spoilt our stay .

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank sherog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findon M, Owner at Findon Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

There is always two sides. Our check out time is by 11.00 am and check in time is from 2.00pm. We do try to make rooms available earlier, however we were full the previous night. We do not have family rooms and do not display that we do. On the booking note there is a request for 1 room to have an extra bed and another for 2. We only have a limited number of bedrooms that will accommodate extra beds. On arrival at about 11.45am you seemed be agitated and when i said that the rooms were not available you immediately started to say that you had been promised that a room would be available , the notes say by 12.30pm . I went to check with housekeeping and returned to explain. During this conversation another lady within your group came up and in an aggressive and angry manner started to shout. I asked her who i was meant to talk to as i could not conduct two conversations at once . She retreated some 6-8 ft where she proceeded to shout about staying at the Travelodge and writing on Tripadvisor . I asked if she would like to go there to which she said would we pay for this. At this stage the early room was available, at at around 12.30. There were no issues around putting bags in a room once ready and this was done. Shortly after this event the husband of the person that was talking about going to the Travelodge came back and apologised to me saying that things had got a little heated. The party got changed and left the hotel at i think between 1.00pm-1.30 and that was the last i saw of the writer but did have a brief conversation with another member of her party and did not in her words blank her. We will in all our dealings from now on with guests that are attending weddings else where reiterate our letting policy and suggest that a room is booked the prior night to avoid this situation although we will continue to try where possible to help. On a happier note i am glad that you found the hotel to be nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Findon Manor Hotel is found in the pretty Sussex village of Findon, just off the A24. It is in a perfect location for walking the South Downs Way, it even has a few dog friendly rooms so you can be accompanied by your four legged friend.

It is a true country hotel, with small intimate lounge, excellent dining and modern well appointed rooms.

I went there for a reception following my Mother's funeral at Worthing Crematorium. It is less than five miles away and was the most perfect venue for friends young and not so young to congregate. A warm welcome afforded by Wendy, the Manager, an excellent array of sandwiches and home made cakes, a convivial, private room and as it was a beautiful day, access onto the terrace and lovely garden.

It was a perfect place to celebrate and commemorate a special life.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank PennWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Spent two nights here - slept like a log in the comfy bed. Bedroom small but very well appointed. Ate both nights in the Snooty Fox. Nice menu and well kept beer. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Plenty of parking. Recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank stagman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at this venue and it was absolutely perfect. The venue itself is stunning and set the scene perfectly for our special day. We had the marquee package which meant the entire venue was ours for the day and night and was worth every penny! The marquee was done up beautifully, the staff were amazing, very professional but also very friendly and even though they have weddings most weekends they still all make you feel like yours is special which gave a great atmosphere to our day. The food was outstanding, all our guests were very impressed and not one plate went back to the kitchen unfinished, amazing chef! Great variety of welcome drinks and nice selection of wines with our sit down meal, as well as the choice to buy your own drinks at the bar which was not badly priced at all. A huge thank you to Wendy who was amazing from the get go! From the first day we went to look at the venue all the way through to the day after our wedding, nothing was ever to much trouble for Wendy, she was absolutely brilliant, very professional and extremely good at her job but also so friendly and easy to get along with. The day ran so smoothly, the staff worked brilliantly together and without them all our day wouldn't have been so special. A huge thank you to all of the team at Findon Manor. Would definitely recommend to future bride and grooms.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Zena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews