We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Yeovil” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Stoke on Trent, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Yeovil”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in the stables - very quiet. In room 52, we couldn't even hear the sound of cars.
The welcome was good. The receptionist was very nice and helpful.
The room was fine, with a very soft bed. Not ideal if you've got back trouble but it was fine for us.
The shower was good and the towels were thick, soft and changed daily.
Clothes storage was fine if you're staying for a few days.
Breakfast was very good and the evening meals were good value. Not the best food, but for the price we couldn't complain.
A big plus for me was real ale at the hotel bar. A rarity in hotels.
The bad points - the service at meal times could be better and I don't like to see waitresses chewing gum while they're working.
All in all, everything was good, but not great, hence the 4 out of 5.
I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here, simply because Yeovil is a place to visit just the once, but if you need to stay in Yeovil, this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Manor, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    193
    114
    38
    38
See reviews for
74
224
19
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I booked 2 rooms for family members joining me for a big family gathering. Both parties thoroughly enjoyed their stay at The Manor Hotel. Lovely comfy rooms and a very good breakfast. Considering I booked the rooms on a non-refundable basis, the cost of the rooms made this only slightly more expensive per night than larger budget hotel chains in the area, so all in all great value for money. I recommend this hotel to anyone. I have used the restaurant and function facilities in the past and they are also of a high standard, the only downer on this would be the slightly high bar prices and very expensive wine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rattler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Manor, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I arrived at 9pm - long business day - was worried i might have missed last order for dinner and was greeted by Laura (I believe that's her name). It was the warmest of welcomes. She immediate reassured me dinner would be fine and on her advice i went and settled into my rather comfy room rather than just dump my stuff and race back down the restaurant. To say my spirits were lifted is an understatement. Food was not up to standard in my opinion - I know I was late, the last guest - and I felt the waitress rushed me rather - but the breakfast was not much better. Shame. Not inedible by any means just not good enough.

Room Tip: I did see a review which advised "avoid room 18" well I didn't need to as I was given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJB2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just got back from 2 night stay at The Manor in the main building. It has had a make over since our last visit and we would go back again if in the area. The Sunday roasts are very good value. The breakfasts are good; the only complaint being that the chef doesn't think you should have porridge and eggs and bacon etc. I can't eat wheat so don't have toast etc. It would be good if they catered for people with allergies etc. (They couldn't manage a gravy without wheat either)

Room Tip: When you book through central reservations you don't know which room you are getting until you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksHoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Manor, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We always take your comments on board to deliver the best service and value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at The Manor whilst working in Yeovil.
Stayed in the Stable block and in the main building.
I preffered the main building although my colleague preffered the Stables.
Bit of noise from the next room extractor fan during the night, but apart from that i enjoyed my stay.
Had a very early early breakfast, which was nice, tea, toast, fruit juice and cereal.
I only ate in the restaurant a couple of times but my colleague went through the menu.
All the staff were very proffesional.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgerlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Manor, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
4.3 km away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 km away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.6 km away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: 26 Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished three years ago The Manor is located in the Somerset town of Yeovil with easy access via the A303. An Ideal base if visiting Yeovilton, Sherborne. Built in 1735 by local glover and merchant banker John Daniel, the house was known as Hendford House. After he passed away the house was rented out until 1927 when it became The Manor Hotel. A manor it may not be, but it is certainly elegant enough to be one. Its classical facade and porch are of warm, mellow stone, and to its long single wing, also of stone. It has a cheerful modern bar with scrubbed floorboards and pale beechwood furniture and fittings. Today the hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality. Yeovil is the ideal spot from which to explore Hardy's Wessex. Nearby attractions include Glastonbury Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, HRS, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing