We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John H”
Review of Hanwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanwell House
Ranked #1 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Warm welcome. Great room. Good breakfast. I would stay at Hanwell House again the next time work brings me to Banbury.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 345 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed at Hanwell House roughly once a week for the last few years so I really should have got around to writing a review before this. There are several B&Bs and hotels in Banbury, but the only reason I'd ever go anywhere else is because Hanwell House is full: it's that good. Jan does a frankly remarkable job in making Hanwell House stand out from the rest: it's just genuinely a nice place to stay, whether you're on business or on holiday. She really has an eye for detail, from the nice toiletries in the bathrooms (I've had worse in five star hotels) to the fantastic cooked breakfasts (cooked to order) to the little touches like the DVD library, biscuits in your room, the loan of an umbrella when it's raining... the list goes on and on. Best place to stay in Banbury, bar none.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great: the only room that doesn't have en-suite has its own private full-size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed one night at Hanwell House and thought it was excellent. Everything you would want - welcoming and friendly hosts, clean room, excellent bed and the feeling that they have put a lot of thought into ensuring we had a relaxing time. The breakfast was excellent with a complete range of cereals followed by a full english. The breakfast room contained some nice maps and talking points about local history and they have even written a guided walking tour of Banbury which made very interesting reading - even if we didn't have time to do the walk. Next time we will allow more time and do the walk

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Another return visit to Hanwell House. As usual we were made to feel very welcome by Jan & Nigel. You know as soon as you arrive that the standard of excellence is just as you remember from the last time. Having made previous visits in summer we were happy to find the room cosy and warm for our November stay. On all fronts this place never disappoints. We will be back again in the New Year. We Wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Thanks again, can't wait!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pats369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I stayed here with my husband for one night, we have stayed in lots of B&B's and this one was really nice not just because the bed was comfy and the bathroom also had a nice shower but because of the little extras that Jan provided such as a hair dryer, sewing kit ,shower cap etc. bottled water, the fresh fruit salad at breakfast and her helpful knowledge of the surrounding area including giving us a printed walking tour of nearby Stratford-on-Avon which her husband had created with his knowledge of local history She also offered light snacks and was very helpful to the other guest who was elderly, in helping park her car and carrying her suitcase for her.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
3.3 km away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
11.1 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
544 reviews
7.5 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.7 km away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
2.8 km away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanwell House

Address: 2 Lapsley Drive, Banbury OX16 1EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range: €94 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanwell House is a modern three-story bed and breakfast boasting character and charm, quietly situated to the north of Banbury, yet only minutes from the M40 (Jct 11). Jan and Nigel offer three attractive first floor rooms with private facilities, central heating, colour television, radio/alarm, hospitality tray and hairdryer. A varied breakfast menu is available from traditional full English to a light continental breakfast. Off-road parking is provided. Sorry, no pets or children under 11. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hanwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanwell House Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing