We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family lunch”

White Horse Banbury
Ranked #31 of 217 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: British
Description: A true real ale pub, we carry a great variety of ever changing beers. Our food is reasonably priced, traditional and varied with an excellent Sunday lunch and a take away lunch menu as well. In the evening, we have a varied menu on Friday evening and the rest of the week, you are welcome to bring in a takeaway. Open 7 days a week (from 2.00pm on Mondays).
Restaurant details
Description: A true real ale pub, we carry a great variety of ever changing beers. Our food is reasonably priced, traditional and varied with an excellent Sunday lunch and a take away lunch menu as well. In the evening, we have a varied menu on Friday evening and the rest of the week, you are welcome to bring in a takeaway. Open 7 days a week (from 2.00pm on Mondays).
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Family friendly pub for a group of 8, including 3 children. Enjoyed good value lunch, with all ages catered for. Warm welcome from the staff.

Thank LynnS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigkt59, Owner at White Horse Banbury, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Lynn. Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure to welcome your family gathering. Hope you can pop in the next time you are in Banbury. Ken, Eileen and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

Had a very nice lunch and an excellent pint of beer. Tried the beer before buying as the staff were only to pleased to help. Food was served hot and very tasty and there was a large choice on the menu.

1  Thank mmg671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Called here last year on a quiet Sunday evening and we decided to return this year when we next stopped in Banbury . We visited last night Saturday night and had a great time again .
Welcome and service from the two ladies behind the bar sets the tone for the place . The range of beers and cider is good and the self-selection vinyl LP idea is really good fun , mainly as you don't know what's coming next . My wife just managed to stop me putting on Lonnie Donegan's greatest hits ; what was wrong with that ?!
It's a hugely comfortable pub in all respects ; my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed again and we look forward to our next visit .

1  Thank Huwbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigkt59, Owner at White Horse Banbury, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your supportive review and very pleased you took the time to pop in again whilst in the area.
Where has the year gone since your last visit. Pleased the staff looked after you and you again enjoyed your stay. Sorry Eileen and I missed you but we were covering the late shift so hopefully can greet you next time you are in Banbury. Thanks again Ken Eileen and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We visited this pub for the first time while staying in Banbury recently. This is the ideal pub: historic, characterful, very welcoming landlord and landlady, clean, excellent menu, and most importantly, a superb range of beers, including delightful local ales, kept and served beautifully. I have been to many pubs in this country, and the White Horse should be in any top ten list.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank clive236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigkt59, Owner at White Horse Banbury, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Clive: Thank you for spending time to leave a very positive review. As discussed we are currently the only Banbury entry in The Good Beer Guide 2018 and pride ourselves in both our beer quality and ever changing range (Everard's Tiger being our House Ale).
Thank you again and I hope that you had a good Bank Holiday in Banbury and look forward to welcoming you if you pass this way again. Ken Eileen and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Firstly, the pub is barely recognisable from its former days as The Buck & Bell, much improved. Great staff. I hired the back bar for a school reunion, Ken and Eileen couldn’t have been more accommodating, even offering to buy extra drinks so as not to run out. Perfect venue be it for a private event or just drinks.

1  Thank 37gaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigkt59, Owner at White Horse Banbury, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Gail thanks for taking the time to place a review. It was a great success and to have people travel so far to support you, you should be very pleased. You now also hold the record for the tidiest party. See you soon Ken, Eileen and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Horse Banbury also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to White Horse Banbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing