We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed ”
Review of Sheesh Mahal

Sheesh Mahal
Ranked #28 of 219 Restaurants in Banbury
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Sheesh Mahal is an award-winning Indian restaurant set in the heart of Banbury, Oxfordshire.Offering a memorable and sophisticated dining experience, our chefs are inspired by traditional Indian recipes dating back centuries. We pride ourselves on creating dishes to tempt and reward the taste buds.Led by proprietor Mohammad Khalid, our mission is to provide you with an experience that makes a meal in the Sheesh Mahal an extraordinarily special occasion.Using only the freshest and most authentic ingredients, each meal is an individual work of gastronomic art, capturing the wonderfully vibrant and exquisite flavours of Asia.There is ample free parking available for Sheesh Mahal customers at the back of the restaurant (Crouch Street).
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After many years of feeding me and my family we are sad to see Mr Khalid closing shop . We wish you all the best sir , hope to see you at the Rugby club . Take care now !
The Reid’s

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank zarf0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018

Went out with a friend and his family (total 8) in October 2017 to celebrate a birthday. I recommended this place as I have been there before, they are helpful and take care of you, so the service is nice but the food is very average. The place itself has a nice ambiance and good service! 3 out of 5 stars, if they improve the food and not everything tastes the same then they can become one of Banbury's best like they were in 2013-14.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Zebedee-Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Really beautiful restaurant and nice food. Probably the best Indian restaurant in the area and really nice service.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank adamwA1958EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Didn’t realise that this would be my last take away from the Sheesh Mahal, my favourite curry restaurant in Banbury for years - did not realise it was closing - what a loss.
All the best Khalid in your retirement.

Date of visit: May 2018
5  Thank BO88INS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

I have eaten Mr Khalid’s food for over 30 years and it’s all been so tasty and spicy. Fond memories of the old Bridge Street restaurant and more recently in South Bar.

So many thanks Mohammed....and yes I will come round to your house!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Rumbalagrinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheesh Mahal also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Sheesh Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing