We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
502
66
16
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
502
66
16
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the lake guest house pavilion gardens host gerard opera house bay window peak district lovely location local area town centre excellent hosts visiting buxton great attention to detail beautiful park set us up for the day breakfast was excellent comfortable bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2020

We had a lovely few days here. We opted for a lake view room which was worth every penny - it was spacious and it was restful to sit in the comfy armchairs looking over the park. Every part of the guest house was spotlessly clean and very well organised to comply with COVID regulations. The service at breakfast service was very efficient and the breakfast itself was delicious - so much choice and perfectly cooked. Gerard was a mine of information about the area and gave lots of suggestions for places to visit. They also have laminated sheets of local walks to borrow. Bakewell, Castleton, Eyam and Derwent Valley dams were in east striking distance, as was Chatsworth (on our list for a future visit). All in all, a great stay and we hope to return.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bristoltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard Heelan, Owner at Roseleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2020

Dear Bristoltraveller

Thank you for your effusive review of your stay at the Roseleigh we are happy that you had such a positive experience. Thank you also for highlighting the efficient service which we must thank all our staff for, who are integral to the maintenance and servicing of the Roseleigh.

With best regards
Gerard, Maggi, and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

Very peaceful with a wonderful view. Beautiful room with period features. Fantastic range for breakfast, and we sampled most of it. We felt welcomed and safe. Looking forward to returning in the summer.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lorrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard Heelan, Owner at Roseleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear LSteels

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your experience at the Roseleigh , and we are really glad that you found our location peaceful and scenic.

We look forward to your return to sunny Buxton.

With best regards
Gerard, Maggi and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Stopped for 1 night. House is beautiful set opposite the lake/park. Very clean but our room was very small. The window led onto the fire escape, so we couldn’t leave the window open. Slightly over priced fora room with no view.

Room tip: Avoid room 12
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RICKO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard Heelan, General Manager at Roseleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2020

Dear Kerry

We are aware that the room was booked upon your behalf by a family member , we did approach the person who booked the room at the very beginning as in our response below -

"You were asking for something special - we would encourage a lake view room to be selected for something special"

but received no response , thus the original booking was retained as requested.

The Roseleigh was built in 1871 and we work within the remit of a Grade 2 Listed Status building. In some rooms the en suite facilities are compact, but we have tried to maximise every aspect of what we offer in the bedrooms and en suites. We also believe that all clients are always offered a professional level of customer service by all members of our staff.

Being an historic building the Roseleigh offers an insight and connection back to a fascinating timeline in Buxton and its association with Chatsworth House (and beyond to Mary Queen of Scots who regularly took the Buxton Waters). The architects of the Roseleigh applied their planning of the room dimensions to the 19th century and therefore hopefully people will recognise this when they decide to stay with us and allow for its historic nature.

To maximise the experience for our guests we continually invest in the Roseleigh every year. We have made a major capital investment to offer a comprehensive Free Ruckus Wi-Fi system, 43 inch flat screen TVs, and all en suite facilities were renewed in 2019.

We always provide complete information to our clients of what the rooms entail by means of our virtual room tours - all our rooms can be viewed via the Virtual Tour facility on our website

We are assessed by the AA every year. Their assessors provide a methodical system to all establishments – this year they awarded The Roseleigh 4 Stars’ Gold Award category, whilst we have retained for our 3rd year running our listing in the Good Hotel Guide 2019/2020/2021.

Yours sincerely
Gerard & Maggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

We took friends here to celebrate their retirement and as per our visit previously, we were not disappointed. Excellent friendly service, all the measures in place for covid, make you feel safe. The rooms and breakfast are exceptional. The weather may not have been great, but the time spent here a success. Thank you again all who made the visit to Rosleigh so special. We will be back again if you'll have us x

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 300evelinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard Heelan, General Manager at Roseleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2020

Dear Eveline

Firstly thank you for returning to stay again at the Roseleigh , and also for planning the celebration with your friends.
We are really happy that you found your return stay to be a positive experience , and that you felt safe with our Covid 19 safety policy.

We would love to see you all again, hopefully the next time it will be in a "Sunny" Buxton.

With best regards
Gerard, Maggi and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

Stayed here with friends who had previously been here. We were in room 5, it was on first floor, with a bay window overlooking the lake.
Room was comfy with tea/coffee/ hot chocolate and biscuits provided.
Breakfast was very good, with excellent variety and choice, also catering for dietary requirements with the host Gerard checking if we needed any more toast, drinks and that everything was OK.
Gerard and the staff were very busy under the constant Covid restrictions, but by timing the breakfast slots and using another room, had it under perfect control.
He also had time to ask how our stay was going and our plans for the day, offering good advice on the local area, with the town of Buxton within walking distance.

Room tip: Lake view room
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1958bobc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard Heelan, General Manager at Roseleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2020

Dear Bob

Many thanks for such an effusive review which is very much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including your room, breakfast and location.

Also we are happy that you found our provision for Covid 19 saftey comprehensive - with our double breakfast sittings and converting the public lounge into an extra dining space.

We are aware that your friends wanted to introduce you to Buxton and The Peak District - and thus hope that you may return again after your first experience.

With best regards
Gerard, Maggi and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews