We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
81
126
58
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
126
58
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barpavilion gardensgreat locationopera housebroad walksmall hotela lake view roomsmall tvlovely viewfull englishcooked to orderlarge ensuitetown centreshower cubiclepleasant place to staygood sizestayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We stayed for one night only in May as we were going to the Opera House, the location was perfect, a five minute walk there through the beautiful park, which is literally on the doorstep. Parking was free. Rooms were fairly comfortable, clean and warm, and the breakfast was amazing. I would recommend this hotel as you really couldn't get much better value for your money.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jowild50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

This ia one of those old style B&Bs (didn't actually think they still existed!). Very basic rooms, usual sort of cooked breakfast. One might say you get what you pay for. The location is good and parking is on-site, so that is a plus. However, one of us had a knee injury and had asked if there was a possibility of a walk-in-shower. It would seem not, and the shower was over the bath - a pet hate, and recipe for disaster, particularly with older guests with mobility problems. We were placed at the very top of the stairs, and there's no lift. No aircon, no hairdryer and not even a box of tissues. The Broad Walk at the front of the property is just waiting for a lovely classy hotel - the outlook on the park really goes to waste.

Room Tip: We wouldn't recommend this hotel at all.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFoleysAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Booked for 2 nights and I would echo some of the other reviews. Room is in need of some TLC and most certainly the mattress, it had no support at all and you could feel the frame below. The linen was good quality and so were the towels. We were in room t which overlooked the park, when we arrived the room was stifling hot, as the sun was strong and no window had been opened or curtains drawn, be warned if you go in the summer as only one window opens.

The lounge area and honesty bar was not inviting at all and the sofas looked well worn, on our last morning, the cleaners children were seen to be jumping on them! And the smell of fried food hits you whenever you are in the hallway.

Breakfast wasn’t brilliant as others have said not the best products and my poached egg, was hard boiled

The male owner greeted us on arrival and gave us the key and instructions about breakfast, and when we left we were given the opportunity to leave our car, which was very kind; however no mention of how we enjoyed our stay and was everything ok. Would I stay again, afraid I wouldn’t.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We have just enjoyed an excellent stay here with friends, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the hotel is in a lovely location on the edge of The Pavilion Park and also within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. Yes, I agree with some reviewers that the furnishings are dated but the rooms are clean and comfortable, the quality of breakfast was excellent. We all agreed we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have excellent views
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LMS570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Having read previous reviews i was a little nervous about my stay. However we had no complaints. Yes as previous reviewers have said it could do with a refurb and the decor is not to everyones taste but it is clean and safe and as a base we could not fault it. It must be said the hotels main atribute has to be its location. 10 min walk from the centre of buxton, the bars, restaurants and shops plus the pavillion gardens and the opera house.
Also parking is free!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews