We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
68
121
58
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
121
58
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealevening mealtown centrepavilion gardenswet roomfamily run hotelbackground musicopera houselovely walkminute walkdated decorpoole's cavernmeal timesrecommend this hotelvery nice hotelvisiting buxtoncountry park
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Had a very nice one night stay in a nice clean room (112) which is a double room with a bath. Lovely cooked breakfast! Good location which was within easy walking distance of the main Buxton attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sommervillerelative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

The Alison is not new but is well cared for and our three night stay was really faultless. Our room was compact had an ensuite and was warm. The dinner menu was varied, we chose Roast Beef and Sea Bass. Both were excellent. Breakfast was cooked to order, and served hot so much better than the buffet styled self service offered elsewhere. Situated just a 5 minute walk into Buxton town centre and 5 minutes walk to Buxton country park, and from there a lovely walk up to Solomon's Temple the Alison is a great base for a Peak based holiday. Shall we return ? For sure, we will be back. Thanks for 3 great days,

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChevyCaptiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you so much, I am really happy you enjoyed your stay,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

I would liken this hotel to an old, comfy armchair - when you sit in it you are enveloped by its comfort and feel really relaxed. We had a one-night Groupon offer in room 107 - it was large, comfortable and clean with a super en-suite, overlooking on end of the Pavilion Gardens. The manager and his partner could not have been nicer - going out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly for that relaxing short stay, with some superb food both at dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Aww thank you I like that! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

The room was clean if a bit dated. Staff were lovely and helpful. Only reason we didn't give it a 5 was the limited menu for the evening meal. Lot's of choice for breakfast though. Great location, near the town and the Peaks, overall a lovely stay and we would stay in the here again.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank rachel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

A lovely hotel with friendly and welcoming staff. Rooms are very clean and cosy, bed was very comfortable. The dinner was great, lamb was the best i've had and the full english breakfasts are spot on. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Aww thank you, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and you can't beat our locally produced lamb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews