We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable and rude.... horrid”
Review of The Queens Arms

The Queens Arms
Ranked #55 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 June 2021

The way you are treated at this place is not good. Taking the money of customers whilst looking in disdain, no common courtesy just rudeness and kurtness.

They are only friendly with close family and friends. The rest of the village don't patronise the place and it is easy to see why. The landlady isn't unfriendly, thats an understatement, she is unpleasant in her manner. As you can see from the plethora of similar reviews it is ALWAYS someone elses fault. These people will never change and would be better suited running a pub in a skip on the edge of an estate in grimsby or on some of the rougher parts of salford, just a thought for their retirement plan. What a waste of a nice pub. Awful, simpy awful..

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank territibbs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2021

Five of us for Sunday lunch which was excellent and very filling.
Went for lunch at 1pm and had a good table. Service was very good and w all enjoyed our meal and to meet up with friends. Covid-19 precautions were adhered to.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

So rare to find a proper local pub that still exists. Well worth a detour off the A6 if you are passing and a must if you are staying nearby. The food is simple but the best pub food I’ve had for a while.

If we want places like the Queens Arms to survive post-COVID then it’s important to support them while they still exist.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020

We as a family were staying at the nearby Moor Grange Farm and would just like to thank all at the Queens Arms for accommodating us and providing us with an absolutely excellent Sunday Roast! Everyone of our group thoroughly enjoyed the food in a cosy, but Covid safe atmosphere. Nice friendly service in wonderful rural surroundings! If we find ourselves in the area again, we know where to come, thanks again x

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BonnyColne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2020

I have had Sunday lunch in the Queens on quite a number of occasions. The food has been excellent. The staff have been more than welcoming and have at times entertained my Springer Spaniel while we had lunch. Would recommend this for food, warm welcome and dog friendly. Planty

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank NeilP657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Arms also viewed

 
Flagg, Peak District National Park
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.