We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service in wonderful rural location.”
Review of The Queens Arms

The Queens Arms
Ranked #53 of 109 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 October 2020

We as a family were staying at the nearby Moor Grange Farm and would just like to thank all at the Queens Arms for accommodating us and providing us with an absolutely excellent Sunday Roast! Everyone of our group thoroughly enjoyed the food in a cosy, but Covid safe atmosphere. Nice friendly service in wonderful rural surroundings! If we find ourselves in the area again, we know where to come, thanks again x

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BonnyColne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2020

I have had Sunday lunch in the Queens on quite a number of occasions. The food has been excellent. The staff have been more than welcoming and have at times entertained my Springer Spaniel while we had lunch. Would recommend this for food, warm welcome and dog friendly. Planty

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank NeilP657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020 via mobile

Firstly I would like to thank the landlords Steve & Jane, and staff for their hospitality and the local drinkers who make the atmosphere within the Queens Arms such a friendly pleasant place to be. The food was really nice home cooked and plentiful, would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of a night out. We had three great nights but sadly our planned 4th night was stopped due to the COVID19 government actions to close pubs. Since we still had another night to go in the village, they provided an excellent takeaway meal for us to heat up the following night. When all pubs reopen in the future, I would strongly urge people to visit the Queens Arms and support them during this difficult period to keep the community lifeline going. I'll be back and can't wait. Thank you all.

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank neil777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

We spent a lovely evening in this quaint pub. It is a long time since I walked into a pub where everyone said hello. The owners were great hosts, in fact Steve came and collected us from our campsite! The food was delicious, our dogs were made very welcome. A great evening for us. Steve also dropped us back. There are not many little pubs like this left. Friendly and full of character

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank Abigael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

If you want a fantastic homemade pie (not the usual microwave rubbish) or roast dinner then this is the place. Had a lot of these in various pubs and never bettered when it comes to these two. With the roast dinner you don't even have to decide which meat you want as you can have all three.
Everything including the deserts are homemade - the Bakewell sponge pudding (unusual spin on the normal one) is to die for. Fully & Highly recommended for those looking for a hearty meal.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scoobz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Arms also viewed

 
Flagg, Peak District National Park
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.