We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
165
23
8
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
23
8
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages wedding venue lower lodge monsal head high spy top spot the main house peak district wonderful venue wedding reception beautiful house cooked breakfast chatsworth house monsal trail double room full english bobby
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018

We have returned several times to this beautiful place, We've stayed in the main house and two of the cottages, and found every one to be excellent. We love the charm of the old houses of England. We found the cottage we stayed for 3 nights in this past visit in March (during the visit of "the beast from the East" storm), to be warm and very comfortable. We arrived safely on the snowy, icy roads, and found the staff and our cottage warm and welcoming. Breakfast is served in the beautiful dining room in the main house. One of the reviews I read seemed very detailed and critical of every technical aspect of Cressbrook, and we feel like those who expect a motel environment with a characterless feeling should probably book a modern, stereo-typed motel. We love the charming atmosphere, personality, and quaintness of little villages and the old homes...that is why we love Cressbrook...it is a warm and friendly 'home' we love coming back to. We find it comfortable and enjoyable in every way.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yosemiteblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much Ron and Liz for your kind comments. We enjoy what we do and your appreciation makes it worth while.

Kind regards.

Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

This property is a converted coach house and not really a cottage which leads to a few issues relating to unproportioned rooms. I suspect that the original conversion was to provide the nearby hotel with a wheel chair accessible facility. Conversion must have been done in the 1980s, with décor and fittings of that era. There is no central fire in this accommodation which might have helped give the building a cottage feel. All the windows are of a single glazed wooden type and many were in need of attention. All heating is of the electrical type, including storage heaters; plug in radiators and a fan heater in one of the bathrooms. With no central heating or fire, or wood burner etc, we found the accommodation cold. Hot water was provided from an immersion heater, but the tank volume and timer settings were inadequate for the number of people who required showers. There was one proper shower and one bath attachment for this purpose.

The main entrance was wheel chair friendly, but led straight into the kitchen with no hallway or porch area. Every time the door was opened we lost any warmth from the kitchen. The first bedrooms were above the kitchen area with access to the twin through the single on the landing area.

Both the kitchen and the main room had large single glazed windows/patio doors. Again, this made the accommodation cold and both became heavily covered in condensation during our stay. What this property really needed was some secondary glazing. Off the main room is a small single bedroom and a wheel chair accessible toilet/shower suite. As I said before, this was all very early 1980s and brought back childhood memories!

The main bathroom was between the two remaining bedrooms and cold, hence the need for an “above door” mounted fan heater. It was also without a lock, so no privacy. The smaller of the two double rooms was too narrow for the double bed that occupied the room, creating a very squashed environment. Some reviews mention a problem with Carriage Cottage before Christmas 2017. I suspect this was a water leak in the roof above this room, as the ceiling around a roof door was slightly damaged. The duvet cover provided was also water marked which for a small cost could have been replaced. The mattress in this room was quite thin. The whole of the bottom wall of this room was a single glazed double door, so again, cold, covered in condensation and very light.

In conclusion we found the cottage quite cold for a winter visit and felt it was a bit dated and needing some TLC to provide real value for money. We had no phone signals on any of our networks and no accessible wifi.

The Cressbrook area is interesting and good for walking. We enjoyed walks along the Monsal Trail with spectacular views in beautiful countryside and Carriage Cottage provided an acceptable base for a group of friends to spend a great weekend together. The local pubs that we visited were very good and Bakewell was with easy reach by car.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dunkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Many thanks for your constructive criticism which is welcome and will be acted upon as necessary. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment in Carriage Cottage.

WiFi and 'phone signals in this very hilly area are unreliable and unpredictable we have done our best to overcome and improve these services. As with everything else you mention had we known of your dissatisfaction at the time we would have offered alternative accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in September with our small dog and it’s a lovely place. The views and surrounding area are beautiful.

The lodge is the perfect size for a couple, was clean and had everything we needed (pots, pans etc). I was really pleased to find a folder of suggested local walks with details of difficulty and how long each one will take. We used these throughout the weekend.

We’d definitely stay here again and I’d highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I'll be honest, the first thing I do is look at the poor comments. I did before booking a night here. We live nearby in Buxton but wanted a night off from the kids to celebrate my wife's 40th. we had booked a nice restaurant in Tideswell and wanted a lie-in somewhere romantic. With the help of an inlaw we had childcare! I'm glad we went for it.
This isn't some hotel chain, it's a family run period home/b&b. But WOW!! It was just lovely. The room was clean! Romantic! and full of charming touches!
Beautiful period properties like this are difficult to maintain, but this house was stunningly loved.
Thanks to Bobby and her team, we had a lovely night and a great breakfast.
We don't normally write reviews, but felt compelled on this occasion.

Thank you Cressbrook Hall.

Room Tip: romantic, great views, period features, warm, friendly.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percelina, Owner at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you Ben. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are very grateful for your appreciative comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Did a short B and B break and stayed in the main house. Although it feels really remote it's only actually 4 miles or so from the metropolis that is Bakewell.

The house is stunning and in a beautiful setting. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our expansive room that afforded us the most stunning views. Asked what time would we like breakfast and replied 'what time does it start'? 8 was the answer so opted for a convenient and comfortable 9am on the Saturday morning.

Had a nice evening in Bakewell and then returned for an excellent night's sleep. Breakfast at 9 was classy; a really plentiful spread with a full cooked breakfast. Although we were a little surprised to just get presented with a full cooked breakfast rather than actually get asked what would we like? Unusual in my experience and for those of you with any dislikes or allergies make sure you advise them that you don't want the full cooked.

Anyway, that morning as we finished breakfast we were told that there was a wedding at the venue that day and that it wouldn't bother us at all! Alarm bells! Surely when we booked, it would have been courteous to let us know that a wedding was taking place and that it would include the stereotypical loud disco and live music.

Anyway, went out for the day and returned early to be asked if we would take breakfast at 8:30 the next (Sunday) morning! There goes the lay in then! Also, never been told before in a hotel or B and B to be at breakfast at a specific and dedicated time, you usually get some sort of window of opportunity; right? A little disappointing but we agreed to be there at the requested hour.

Had an early evening and then the live music and disco kicked in. In all honesty, it finished relatively early (certainly by midnight) but to be told that it wouldn't bother us or interfere with our relaxation was like being told that watching a 4 hour NFL non-event would be really exciting! Of course it was loud and did interfere with a peaceful evening. No problem whatsoever but have the courtesy to advise of the wedding when we make the booking so we can choose another location.

So, breakfast, day 2, Sunday morning. As requested we attended just before 08:30, curtailing any form of Sunday morning lay in. Breakfast was once again very pleasant but to our amazement, at 0900 a group of 6 came in for breakfast! They clearly were not under strict orders to make an early entry.

Anyway, this is a beautiful house in a stunning location but it could be so much better! Just a little more consideration for the paying clientele would work a treat. Would I return, no, probably not. At £120+ a night for a B and B it's just lacking that real personal touch.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazjonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_Hull-Bailey, Front of house at Cressbrook Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for the review bazjonster, we're sorry you felt certain things weren't up to scratch and we listen to and try to respond to all feedback.
With regards to your stay there seems to have been a little confusion. On arrival you were asked if you were vegetarian and with the answer "no" I asked if a full cooked was in order then, which is why I made a full cooked.
With regards to the wedding, that is certainly an oversight, normally all guests are made aware of this upon booking and we can only apologise for not giving you forewarning.
Regarding the early Sunday breakfast we asked if 0830 was alright, this was because the group of 6 you noted, were in at 9am and we prefer to stagger breakfasts to retain that "personal touch" and give each set of guests our full attention. Clearly we didn't make it clear that an alternative (later) time was an option, for which we apologise and will be mindful of in future.

We're truly sorry for your inconvenience and our miscommunication particularly as we enjoyed having you stay with is very much. Thanks for your feedback and rest assured we will take it on board.

All the best

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews