We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat in a lovely setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buxton's Victorian Guest House
Ranked #27 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Located overlooking the Pavilion gardens and only minutes away from the Opera House in the centre of Buxton, Buxton's Victorian Guest House offers quality accommodation in a lovely setting, and with the added convenience of adjacent private parking.

With a lovely warm welcome from one's hosts - Barbara & Alan - an initial cup of tea is a precursor to a very relaxed and pleasant stay in one of four very well appointed and comfortable rooms, all located on the first floor and accessed by stairs - no lift.One of the front rooms features a 'four poster' if that appeals to you

The beds are comfortable, linens first class, and the rooms well fitted out, complete with a small complimentary carafe of sherry as a really pleasant touch. The full English breakfasts are superb whilst Barbara is a mine of information about the area, what to do, and where to eat, and will ring to make bookings if required.

A real treat in a lovely setting, welcoming and helpful and certainly one to go back to again, and again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are lighter and airier than those at the back although, the view is restricted by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2015

We stayed for two nights over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend. Barbara was extremely welcoming (sadly we didn't meet Alan) and made us coffee as soon as we arrived. She then immediately suggested places that we could eat that evening and rang to book us a table early so that we were in time for the show we were watching that evening. Our room and bathroom were immaculate, the bed extremely comfortable! We slept really well. The breakfasts are amazing! The guesthouse is extremely well placed and very convenient for Buxton,overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Also has it's own parking which is a huge help!
We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We had the Haddon Room which looked over Pavilion Gardens, two of the hotel's four rooms overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepinkstuff6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Our second visit to Buxton, both at the Buxton Victorian. This B and B cannot be faulted. In a super central position within just minutes of everything! The full English breakfasts are absolutely lovely, and set you up for a busy day walking or visiting. We have still not seen all we want to in the Dales, so will be back again.......to stay at the Buxton Victorian!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 on both our visits, at the front, overlooking gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank carole a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We stayed at the Victorian Guest House for two nights in March as a stop-over while visiting the Opera House for two shows. We had chosen the guest house on a previous visit to the spa town purely on the appearance and we must say it didn't disappoint!
Barbara and Alan were extremely welcoming and the rooms and linens first class. They were also very helpful in making sure we had any info we needed to make the most of our visit to Buxton. We opted for Full English on both mornings which was fabulous and a real treat to eat it in a delightful bay window overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Should we visit Buxton again we will definitely make this our first choice.
Rob and Pat :-)

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

This is one for the best B&B that we have stayed in we were welcomed by Barbara and Alan and asked if we would like tea with biscuits and they stayed and chatted to us. The room was lovely and overlooked the Pavilion Gardens, the room and en-suite were lovely and warm and the water was always hot. We were in Buxton for a wedding and Barbara offered to take me to have my hair and makeup done if it was raining, luckily my husband drove me. The breakfast was out of this world and we deifintely did not go hungry, Barbara and Alan recommended places to eat for a evening meal, we will definitely go back and stay again if we are in the area, perfect hosts they could not get any better

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.1 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,274 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,998 reviews
0.6 km away
Compton Guest House
Compton Guest House
#13 of 39 in Buxton
56 reviews
0.5 km away
The Old Manse Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxton's Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxton's Victorian Guest House

Address: 3A Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: €82 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Buxton's Victorian Guest House Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing